Samsung Galaxy S22 Ultra 5G
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy S22 Ultra 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • H
  • HNP30
  • 2A3
  • 18 Apr 2022

Kris17, 18 Apr 2022So you are saying Samsung does not have the capability to w... moreTry reading my previous post again. Every Android OEM usually takes time to be able to optimize their software. Google itself gives out buggy OS to Android OEMs which makes it almost impossible to optimize in just a few months. Google couldn't even fix bugs of the Pixels so how much more the OEMs? Again, it is much easier for Apple because they're using the software and hardware which they both designed/developed and their small phone lineup makes it easier for them to make optimizations. Never said Samsung can't do it but it really takes time so does other Android manufacturers. Just try to compare the battery life of the S22U with other Android flagships and the S22U is still better despite the lack of optimizations. Plus, the WQHD screen is massive with a power hungry SD Gen 1 so what do you expect? Most if not all phones with SD Gen 1 wouldn't do better than the S22U and that is a fact. Just being realistic mate.

Just look at this comparison:

https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=11251&idPhone2=11236&idPhone3=11234

    HNP30, 18 Apr 2022Its a worthless exercise. Google develops Android while Sam... moreSo you are saying Samsung does not have the capability to work with Google to optimize their software for their SOC? Apple works with ARM to design their chip set and that worked out just swell. I know it is a great challenge, but it is an expectation, after all, it is a $1,200 phone. Regardless of what you say, this SOC optimization problem will exist for Android unless confronted.
    No worries, I will stick with the S22U, it is far from a bad phone (but I can't say it lives up to its predecessors). However, if improvements are not made, clearly the better value for money is switching to iOS.

      • H
      • HNP30
      • 2A3
      • 18 Apr 2022

      Kris17, 17 Apr 2022As a long-time Note user, I haven't once concerned mys... moreIts a worthless exercise. Google develops Android while Samsung puts their own skin on top of whatever OS Google has developed. Apple designs their own chips and bakes their own OS. Big difference mate. It takes a while to optimize your hardware if the software was developed by another company which is not the case with Apple. Apple has less than 5 models a year with the same OS and normally with the same SOC while Samsung and other Android OEMs has to optimize models 4 to 5 times that of Apple's. I am not saying that they couldn't it just takes a bit of time and that is reality. Your more than one year old phone has already been optimized via firmware updates so comparing it to a yet to be optimized newly-released phone is a waste of time.

      If you're so bothered with the lack of optimizations from Samsung then by all means you should shift to iOS.

        • H
        • HNP30
        • 2A3
        • 18 Apr 2022

        Seems like a user problem to me not a phone problem. Almost all modern Android phones have battery-drain issues as well by it will be optimized after some time. I don't find comparing previous versions or other phone comparisons they're just worthless exercise. They have different OS versions, chipsets, modems, etc so making comparisons will just cause stress so why bother? Let your phone adjust to your usage patterns first after a few weeks/months and just enjoy your phone.

          As a long-time Note user, I haven't once concerned myself over the battery life until recently. In fact, I still posses the Note 4 (a legendary phone) which still runs to this day. What concerns me is the battery discharge rate of the S22U is comparable to that of my old Note (but the battery is 7 years old). The old phone is worse of course, but comparable. Not a good direction we're heading in terms of endurance.

          I speak about Android in general. To point out the problem, comparing with the Apple's A15 is not a useless exercise. If you realize that BOTH SOC are ARM-based so should deliver similar specs. The A15 optimized for iOS, while Android tends to use stock SOC configuration which is less optimized for its OS and leads to overheating/battery drain. Speed is not an issue in today's market, rather optimization. Improve, or I will have to move eco-systems (as much as it pains me). I rest my case.

            • j
            • junelost
            • tZj
            • 17 Apr 2022

            After the last update, i realised theres something wrong with my s22ultra. The keyboard became too sensitive, and the ghost touch (even without keyboard) is anyone else experiencing the same? And is there any solution to these problem.

              • F
              • Furkan
              • pT4
              • 17 Apr 2022

              77, 17 Apr 2022So what, what's the big deal. You can go through cold ... morei have pre order Xiaomi 12 ;)
              Lei Jun is hero

                HNP30, 17 Apr 2022How much better is the S21 Ultra's battery life over t... moreI'm comparing s22u to s21u , that's not an Mac to PC comparison, my God, you're terrible at comparing things.
                I've already mentioned the difference, it's big.
                Plus, the 100-90% and 5-0% drop is far quicker on s22u than on s21u. 5%-0% drop is hapenning in like 1 minute (compared to 20-30 mins on s21u)!

                  • H
                  • HNP30
                  • KgV
                  • 17 Apr 2022

                  walkman8, 16 Apr 2022So S21Ultra has the same specs , and yet an excellent batte... moreHow much better is the S21 Ultra's battery life over the S22 Ultra anyways? Oh wait! Not by much lolz. So it's your reasoning that is flawed. Making nonsense comparisons. Just because something is new it doesn't mean it is better. Compare the S22 Ultra with modern 2022 flagships not with 2021 phones and definitely not with Apple. Its like comparing the battery life of Windows laptops with Macs which is a worthless exercise.

                    • 7
                    • 77
                    • swC
                    • 17 Apr 2022

                    Anonymous, 15 Apr 2022Damn this phone is HOT, like burning my hands. I never had ... moreSo what, what's the big deal. You can go through cold days and hot weather and can't bare few minutes off heat. And why you holding thr top end side, wtf holds the phone on top? 95% hold the sides .

                    Go away , and stop trolling.

                      • 7
                      • 77
                      • swC
                      • 17 Apr 2022

                      Kris17, 16 Apr 2022Why not? It is not unreasonable to request better battery l... moreBecause off screen and ppi and background process. Ios is fake multitasking, it freezes, everything is kept on fake bogus cache memory, that's why it has 16gb L3 cache.

                        • H
                        • HNP30
                        • KgV
                        • 17 Apr 2022

                        Get a phone with a 6" screen and 6,000MaH battery. You're comparing it to Apple with a totally different OS and hardware. Ever since, Apple has been more energy efficient so complaining is useless. If you can't live with the S22U's battery then switch to Apple as you so desire. This comparison has led to nothing for decades and that's the truth.

                          • T
                          • Tom
                          • mpc
                          • 16 Apr 2022

                          Real Note User, 14 Apr 2022S22U is a sugar coated POS! Looks amazing, that's abou... moreThats 100 percent true that's why many don't buy them
                          and have moved to Apple. Samsung offers nothing different from Apple apart from the pen. And the UK get the rubbish exynos chip!

                            HNP30, 16 Apr 2022Dude get a life. You will buy a phone with a WQHD+ 6.8in sc... moreWhy not? It is not unreasonable to request better battery life, especially when the phone is a flagship. Consider this, the latest Apple flagship has a capacity nearly 700mAh less than this phone, yet it is capable to push more than 2 hours longer of SOT. On top of that, both displays are 120Hz capable. Something's gotta be said for SOC performance optimization. I believe Samsung is capable to provide this, if they do their homework right and are less concentrated on counting profits.

                              HNP30, 16 Apr 2022Dude get a life. You will buy a phone with a WQHD+ 6.8in sc... moreSo S21Ultra has the same specs , and yet an excellent battery life, even a year later. How do you explain that? Your reasoning is flawed

                                • H
                                • HNP30
                                • KgV
                                • 16 Apr 2022

                                Dude get a life. You will buy a phone with a WQHD+ 6.8in screen, flagship Android SOC and the absolute best features a phone has to offer and you're expecting excellent battery life? Stop using your phone and return it in the box so you can have an excellent battery experience. If you want better battery life get a mid-range phone with mid-range SOC with smaller screen and you'll enjoy better battery life. Some people here are jokers pretending to know everything when in fact they don't really know what they're talking about.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • uY@
                                  • 16 Apr 2022

                                  derrr, 12 Apr 2022maybe some reviewers due to possible sponsorships or appeas... moresomewhat.

                                    Ter, 12 Apr 2022How you find S22U compared to Note 8, as want to upgrade fr... moreI find it heavy and big compared to my Note8 but I will upgrade to it nevertheless.

                                      Hi.
                                      I need help.
                                      Based on the review in GSMArena, I bought the S22 Ultra. But... I just dropped it and broke the glass cover of 2 of the back cameras. Does anyone knows where I can get it fixed.
                                      Thank you very much

                                        I would have to agree regarding battery life. It is very average at best. The SD 8 Gen 1 is a very power hungry chip set (4nm). Exynos can't fare any better. I do believe the S21 Ultra to be better but not by much. Samsung requesting this price point makes the battery performance even more sub-par. I cannot believe we gave up on battery performance so easily, remembering the days of Nokia 3310 where you can charge it once a month.

                                        You CAN get 9hrs SOT with the S22U with 60Hz and power-savings enabled, but why would you want to do that? You paid for 120Hz. You paid for QHD. So, the battery should deliver as well. No chip can beat the A15 bionic in terms or power-to-performance optimization. Samsung needs to get their act together, or my next phones will be Apple's. (Despite I'm not too keen on the iOS ecosystem, Apple's hard work shows in their products.)