Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • s
  • sparky8691
  • nIB
  • 10 Apr 2024

I recently got the S24U to replace my S22U. Pretty disappointed with the screen so far. It's noticeably grainy and looks washed out. I've installed all the latest updates, even with this if I compare next to the S22U the S24 definitely looks worse. My preferred settings are max resolution, vivid mode and eye comfort shield on. The S22U seems to strike the perfect balance between vivid colours but also filtering out blue light when it's darker. The 24U ends up having this weird mismatch of a clearly high quality resolution and colour depth but with this washed out look you'd expect from a lower quality LCD.

Also not liking the flat screen, it looks cheap and feels less comfortable to hold. I accept this is personal preference though and lots of people prefer that extra little bit of screen space or like it for writing with the S Pen. But personally it's a downgrade for me. The curved edges of the S22U just looked lovely and seamless, like the screen is floating in the air. And felt more comfortable for swipe gestures like the left swipe I have set up as the back action in Good Lock's One Hand Operation+.

Unfortunately I waited a couple weeks to even start using the phone as the case I wanted wasn't available straight away. So I'm out of my return window. All I can do if I want to go back to using my S22U is to just sell the S24. The network provider I got it from said they are happy to get a tech to examine it to see if the screen is faulty, but after a few Google searches it seems clear that it's a characteristic of the new display, worse on some units but absolutely no way to know if a replacement unit will be better or not.

And Samsung don't seem to be accepting it as a defect, I've seen some owners complain and get a reply from Samsung telling them just not to use dark mode or have low brightness, where this screen issue seems to be worse. That attitude is a bit of a joke considering how expensive the phone is. Personally I like to keep my brightness around 10-20% indoors and I use dark mode so the way I use the phone seems to be in the zone where these screen issues are more noticeable. Great performance at low brightness settings is exactly why I've enjoyed using AMOLED screens over the years and I've never seen poor screen characteristics like this on any of my previous Samsung models with this screen type (S22U, S21U, Note 10+, Note 9, Note 8, S6 Edge).

Also found the fingerprint scanner to be worse so far, I have to keep my thumb really straight for it to work, whereas the S22U can recognise my thumb at other angles. Will have to look at settings as when setting up fingerprint scanning on the S22U it asked me to do a normal scan and then another whilst moving my thumb to different angles so that would explain why it's better in that regard. Perhaps the S24U has a way of doing that.

If my network provider's tech finds out there is a screen issue and I get a repair/replacement that doesn't have any grain will have to consider whether to keep it or not as the colours and flat screen will still feel like a downgrade. But if the grain can't be fixed I'm almost certain I'll just sell it and accept the £300 or so loss.

    • M
    • M.A
    • N6s
    • 09 Apr 2024

    Anonymous, 09 Apr 2024No. The problem is the user and slow samsung "fast cha... moreIt is supose to the charger give the battery max watt 45
    So what can i do in this case

      • M
      • M.A
      • N6s
      • 09 Apr 2024

      Is there problem in super fast charging 2.0 as just 65 % in 45 min ! Using anker gan prime 65 w and baseus cable 100 w 5 A ?

        • J
        • Javithecontentcreato
        • g@m
        • 09 Apr 2024

        So far, my experience with the S24 is great.
        I upgraded from using the first gen Samsung that started using 120hz display which was the Note 20 Ultra 5G, the phone would heat up with regular use, that issue has been fixed.
        While this phone still does warm up a bit with intensive tasks such as playing high fps games. This issue has mostly been resolved. Another thing is the curved display is now a thing of the past. While the Micro SD has gone away, I do like to see the storage minimum go up from 128GB to 256GB while, this may still not be enough for some with now 8K recording I recommend using 512Gb + or keeping the majority of your photos backed up on a hard drive or on your pc.

          • M
          • Maria
          • tDS
          • 09 Apr 2024

          M.A, 09 Apr 2024Is there problem in super fast charging 2.0 as just 65 % in... moreI don't know the percentage charged in 45 minutes. My phone charges from 0% to 100% in 70 minutes using an Anker PowerPort III 65-watt (one-slot USB-C only) and a Ugreen 100W 5A cable.

            • A
            • Anonymous
            • n9b
            • 09 Apr 2024

            M.A, 09 Apr 2024Is there problem in super fast charging 2.0 as just 65 % in... moreNo. The problem is the user and slow samsung "fast charge". Don't expect to charge fast 5000mAh battery with only 45w max.

              • M
              • M.A
              • CIw
              • 09 Apr 2024

              Is there problem in super fast charging 2.0 as just 65 % in 45 min ! Using anker gan prime 65 w and baseus cable 100 w 5 A ?

                • M
                • Miki
                • dP$
                • 08 Apr 2024

                Anonymous, 04 Apr 2024The inside of the back camera is crooked. I looked at Samsu... moreMine too, when I turn camera on it gets aligned, but if turn it off, and gently move/rotate phone it become crooked again

                  SteveUk, 05 Apr 2024"I miss most my former Mate 20X, Mate 20X 5g and MI 11... moreI could but I only have Mate 20X left. Always give my former phones to family members or sell them if they are nearly brand new.

                    • L
                    • Llyod
                    • 4ME
                    • 06 Apr 2024

                    I personally am still using my s22 ultra, but for my little sister who had an LG Stylo 6, she wanted an iPhone as a new phone but I got her the s24 ultra instead, and let just say she's keen on staying android now.

                      BigDisplay, 05 Apr 2024Can't agreed more. I had most Sammy phone in my life ... more"I miss most my former Mate 20X, Mate 20X 5g and MI 11 Ultra with the EU rom, those phone i loved more then my Sammy phones, much better optimized in many ways."

                      Can't you still use them? I know they don't get major updates anymore - but they still have Google Play services, which would update the apps (...I think, lol).

                        CoinSide, 01 Apr 2024Why is this "opinion section" a warzone? Chinese ... moreCan't agreed more.
                        I had most Sammy phone in my life because I liked bigger display, always S, note and Ultra models. Last 4 Sammy phones S21u, S22U, S23U and now S24U but I had 4 different Huawei Mate phones to and 1 xiaomi.

                        I miss most my former Mate 20X, Mate 20X 5g and MI 11 Ultra with the EU rom, those phone i loved more then my Sammy phones, much better optimized in many ways.

                        I'm not fan of any brand and rly don't like Samsung, but as I told I like big display, top notch display and most a flat display. Big batteri, high charge power etc.
                        This year Xiaomi 14 Ultra was my choice until Samsung came up with the flat display on S24 Ultra then I had no doubt... And the i kept my belowed stylus 💪🏻

                          • S
                          • S24Owner
                          • Sda
                          • 05 Apr 2024

                          Maria, 05 Apr 2024I certainly don't feel the need to be skeptical here. ... moreYes, true, many people won't notice that. Anyway, this is a so-called feature that exists for lowering eye strain and PWM in s24U, and maybe there will be a software patch to turn on or turn off this grain.

                            • M
                            • Maria
                            • sEB
                            • 05 Apr 2024

                            S24owner, 04 Apr 2024If you want to see the grain on your screen. Go in the dark... moreI certainly don't feel the need to be skeptical here. Let's say I believe you or gsmarena.com.

                            So, I can see a grainy screen on the S24U when I use it in a dark room at night with zero brightness. I have to use an online screen test to see it. Otherwise, there is no graininess in the S24U.

                            Okay then, I may never use my phones in a dark room at night, and I never use my phones with zero brightness. Lucky me. I won't regret buying this for the next seven years.

                              • s
                              • s24 ultra user
                              • g33
                              • 05 Apr 2024

                              S24owner, 04 Apr 2024If you want to see the grain on your screen. Go in the dark... morei can only see the grainy screen problem when i check for above mentioned method otherwise its not visible on my home or menu scrren or while viewing any form of multimedia content for comparison i have a samsung a73 if i compare it to that s24 ultra display dosent look like a qhd display my a73 has a better quality display as compared to s24 ultra

                                • B
                                • Bogok Ka
                                • 7P4
                                • 04 Apr 2024

                                Tiramisu, 29 Mar 2024Fantastic phone but unfortunately and surprisingly misses o... moreWhy do you need 68 billion colors? Is your G24U as big as a 120 inch television?

                                  • S
                                  • S24owner
                                  • Sda
                                  • 04 Apr 2024

                                  If you want to see the grain on your screen. Go in the dark room at night, set brightness to 0, go to test screen online, fullscreen mode, and choose a gray or dark gray color. Every s24 ultra has it, but some models have too much of it.

                                    • J
                                    • Johannes Hessler
                                    • dNr
                                    • 04 Apr 2024

                                    But I like the smartphone. I'm the user who wrote that the camera of the back of the smartphone is inside crooked.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • dNr
                                      • 04 Apr 2024

                                      The inside of the back camera is crooked. I looked at Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra in two techstores. The inside of the back camera was maybe crooked too.
                                      It lacks a opening for earphones.

                                        Shahrokh, 02 Apr 2024I own an S928B/DS made in vietnam and whatever i did in any... moreMine is grainy, just as the unit GSMArena reviewed.
                                        Perhaps I should try to change it under warranty, since I see many here claim that they don't have this issue.