Samsung Galaxy S5
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy S5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • asanka

Best phone ever

  • GS5 (2014)

Anonymous, 15 Jun 2019Does it have NFC option?It Located Inside The Status Bar.

  • GS5 (2014)

Anonymous, 15 Jun 2019Does it have NFC option?yes. it have nfc.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-628321, 04 Jan 2017Hi! Do you know what's the NFC chip manufacturer ?? Thanks a lo... moreDoes it have NFC option?

  • GS5 (2014)

Helbram, 06 Jun 2019You are absolutely right sir. Tbh, I can't decide between the S5... moreMake It Simple For You, So You Can Easy Decide On Which To Pick.
Battery: LG G2 = 81Hrs With 3000MAH S5 = 83Hrs With 2800MAH "S5 Wins Here"
Software: LG G2 = Lolipop S5 (5.02) = Marshmallow (6.0.1) "S5 Wins Here"
Performance: LG G2 = Snapdragon 800 2GB RAM S5 = Snapdragon 801 2GB RAM "S5 Wins Here"
Benchmark: "S5 Wins Here"
Gaming: Both Old Chip/Handset, Might Not Optimized Well.
Pretty Much Like This, If You Have More Money To Spent Go For At Least S9+ Or Even S10+.

Sotiris, 19 May 2019This phone is good. Still holds up in 2019 as a daily driver if ... moreYou are absolutely right sir. Tbh, I can't decide between the S5 or the LG G2. Both have LineageOS support, but the S5 have the option for microsd and removable battery.

  • agitater

Does this phone have a timer?

  • Anmol

Can fingerprint scanner be used to wake up the phone

  • Sotiris

This phone is good. Still holds up in 2019 as a daily driver if you need it. However I do not think that you should keep using it with the stock software. The last version for it is Android 6 Marshmallow which is old, and it's based on the old TouchWiz, which is an old version of the Samsung software (ever since then we have had Samsung Experience and OneUI), and it's quite unoptimized and sluggish. I suggest you put lineagesOS on it. It's based on the latest android version (9 at the moment) and it feels like a breath of fresh air. The phone has support for both TWRP and Lineage which means you have a good guarantee that the source of the ROM is legit.

  • Yes

Adul Al Salami Kebab, 10 May 2019I heard custom ROM is good for this device, wonder if a custom R... moreYou can install lineageos, there is even one based on android 9, it will work 10x faster than stock samsung rom. Just not sure if you can get good battery anymore, even "new" batteries for this phone do not hold nearly as much as original battery used to when the phone was released.

  • Adul Al Salami Kebab

I heard custom ROM is good for this device, wonder if a custom ROM with Android 8 Oreo + new battery will make this even better than new? :o

  • Anonymous

Does anyone bought a brand new s5 and it was already updated to lollipop (5) or higher?

Like it not, the phone innovations peaked with S5. This phone (alongside with it's neo/mini etc. siblings) was one of the incredibly few devices that managed to combine both IP RESISTANCE with REMOVABLE BATTERY. Unlike other few phones with this combination, this one packed in plenty of power, very decent battery, amazing camera, great screen and importantly near perfect size, allowing the device to be used with one hand.

Unfortunately, this was also when Samsung (and other manufacturers) realized that if they keep releasing phones like this, there will be no reason for users to upgrade - with basic upkeeping it doesn't slow down, it's fairly compact with plastic design so it's unlikely to break, IP rating for extra durability... That's when phones with non-removable batteries started showing up. First it was for the "extra water resistance", then it started appearing in phones with no water resistance at all, for the sole purpose of forcing users to upgrade. Next was glass back designs and constant size-increasing to make the phone as prone to breaking as possible, so the users are forced to upgrade on a regular basics. We're unlikely to see the trend of reliable devices coming back anytime soon, because phone manufacturers (just like any other capitalist company) don't want to sell - they want to keep selling.

  • Matt

Fantasydegunner , 30 Apr 2019Please, I am using s5 at&t version with 4.4 lollipop but I a... moreYour phone should have updated to 6.0.1 automatically a couple of years ago. If not, there is most likely something wrong with your settings. BTW, Android 4.4 is "KitKat" not "Lolipop".

  • Fantasydegunner

Rocky, 28 Mar 2019Actually, it actually supports Oreo using LineageOS. Feels like ... moreMy s5 doesn’t give me automatic upgrade from lollipop to marshmallow! Please, help me out

  • Fantasydegunner

Rocky, 28 Mar 2019Actually, it actually supports Oreo using LineageOS. Feels like ... moreMy s5 doesn’t give me automatic upgrade from lollipop to marshmallow! Please, help me out

  • Fantasydegunner

Please, I am using s5 at&t version with 4.4 lollipop but I am yet to receive any upgrade alert to marshmallow which it’s upgradable to. What can I do please?

  • Fantasydegunner

Please, I am using s5 at&t version with 4.4 lollipop but I am yet to receive any upgrade alert to marshmallow which it’s upgradable to. What can I do please?

  • DAVIDO

wow this phone is the best phone i have ever use the battery gets full in an hour and it has the best graphic ever

The S5 is what made me appreciate the removable battery concept. It gave me 4 years of reliable service before I moved on to the Note 4.