Samsung Galaxy Xcover 5
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy Xcover 5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • O
  • Organic Cold
  • pwH
  • 20 Jul 2022

OldSalty, 06 Jul 2022how can anyone let alone a tech giant like samsung make a d... moreFor the price you can’t expect much. This phones are more designed to be used in industrial environments like we use at work running specifics software. For that they are good

    • N
    • Nico99S
    • 3fC
    • 13 Jul 2022

    To be honest the worst phone I have ever had, 100%. Not only is it slippery, slow, has massive FPS lag (instagram stories literally lag, has problems loading high quality videos in general), and somehow the keyboard is so awkwardly placed that hitting the wrong letter / symbol happens every time I use it, BUT it also isn't very resistant. I've had it for less than a year, dropped it only a couple of times (nothing too bad) and the screen is cracked in a corner.....come on

      As a user of Xcover 1, 2, 4, 4s and Pro, this XCover 5 has some good and bad points:

      The GOOD:
      The PLS screen of this smartphone is like AMOLED (compared with my A7 2017). Of course it's not as good as AMOLED but the viewing angle and dark/black shades are near AMOLED level and is better than the IPS of my Pro. The viewing angle is very good compare with my 4 and 4s. The size is a bit taller than 4/4s but this is the smallest/narrowest rugged phone from Samsung, so choice. More efficient in using its RAM than Pro which has the same OS/UI version (A12/UI4.1). It has the 4GB RAM plus, to total RAM is 8GB(?). Auto screen brightness is better than Pro. Using Google MAP as a SatNav is better in this phone than my Pro. The Map does not disorientate when you are at stop or driving in a roundabout, better than the Pro and the 4/4s.

      The BAD:
      Biggest flaw of this phone is the slippery side. WTF! I was expecting this phone to have a good grip because of the rough side. But to my surprise, my Pro that does not have a rough surface edges grips better than this phone. The XCover key location is always accidentally pressed because of its location when I hold it with my left hand. Samsung designer should have position it a bit higher to avoid accidental pressing. The screen is warm at its base point even if the eye comfort shield is deactivated. the colour temperature of IPS in my Pro wins hands down even against the AMOLED of my A7. Battery can hardly last a day for medium user like me.

        • O
        • OldSalty
        • IJ0
        • 06 Jul 2022

        how can anyone let alone a tech giant like samsung make a device with an LCD display in this day and age?

          ZI, 18 May 2022get another 2 batteries and you can change the empty for a ... morewhat if one battery gets swollen?

            ZI, 18 May 2022get another 2 batteries and you can change the empty for a ... morevery bad excuse...just because it has a removable battery people have to accept its weakness...the phone should at least last a day like most of the phones nowadays...

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • nyH
              • 15 Jun 2022

              kalatehas, 17 Mar 2022perfect workmans phone only issue i see is that it'... moreI'd just like to interject for a moment. What you're referring to as Linux, is in fact, GNU/Linux, or as I've recently taken to calling it, GNU plus Linux. Linux is not an operating system unto itself, but rather another free component of a fully functioning GNU system made useful by the GNU corelibs, shell utilities and vital system components comprising a full OS as defined by POSIX.

              Many computer users run a modified version of the GNU system every day, without realizing it. Through a peculiar turn of events, the version of GNU which is widely used today is often called "Linux", and many of its users are not aware that it is basically the GNU system, developed by the GNU Project.

              There really is a Linux, and these people are using it, but it is just a part of the system they use. Linux is the kernel: the program in the system that allocates the machine's resources to the other programs that you run. The kernel is an essential part of an operating system, but useless by itself; it can only function in the context of a complete operating system. Linux is normally used in combination with the GNU operating system: the whole system is basically GNU with Linux added, or GNU/Linux. All the so-called "Linux" distributions are really distributions of GNU/Linux.

                • Z
                • ZI
                • 8ra
                • 18 May 2022

                Michal, 20 Apr 2022What is wrong with samsung ? Why they put so small battery ... moreget another 2 batteries and you can change the empty for a full one :))

                  • M
                  • Michal
                  • A{t
                  • 20 Apr 2022

                  What is wrong with samsung ? Why they put so small battery inside a phone advertised for active people ?

                    Sabulikiti, 31 Mar 2022Why can't Samsung cater this kind of phones here in t... moreSabulikiti, I just bought some of the last stock here in Australia. Be consoled in that the screen resolution of this phone is *terrible* by modern cellphone standards. I might well be buying my next phone from the Philippines because this phone is one of the last models by major manufacturers here in Aust., England and the U.S. to have both a 3.5mm (analog) earphone socket and user replaceable battery. More modern USB-C socket only phones *all* have *poor* (Bluetooth *only*) audio quality, limited by the USB-C standard. And the abolition of user replaceable batteries is a planned obsolescence scam plain and simple, since replacing the battery can extend a phone's life by around 5 years, and manufacturer replacement, even when still available, is expensive and can destroy the poorly serviceable (by design) phone. At least in the Philippines 3.5mm audio sockets haven't been abolished, because the Philippines populace can't be scammed for quite as much money as in the other countries I mentioned, since on average they don't have as much. Buy yourself a very high quality impact resistant case for a Philippines phone instead, drop resistance has more to do with the case than the phone.

                      • S
                      • Sabulikiti
                      • 7Xj
                      • 31 Mar 2022

                      Why can't Samsung cater this kind of phones here in the Philippines?

                        • k
                        • kalatehas
                        • p7j
                        • 17 Mar 2022

                        perfect workmans phone

                        only issue i see is that it's hard to get syncing with GNU/Linux

                          • m
                          • meoww
                          • R}X
                          • 03 Feb 2022

                          one of the best for everyday workplace

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • JB0
                            • 13 Jan 2022

                            xc, 26 Nov 2021i compared the spec to xcover 4s? this this site write wro... moreI noticed the same, specs on 4s are better.. but roughness toughness of 5 is perhaps improved due to mil 810 h instead of g.

                              • x
                              • xc
                              • gxK
                              • 26 Nov 2021

                              i compared the spec to xcover 4s?
                              this this site write wrong or what?
                              how the hell can xcover 5 have worse cpu+ graphics than 4 s???
                              and noone reacts?

                                • M
                                • MatroxMilenium
                                • nS%
                                • 07 Nov 2021

                                AMD, 19 May 2021You think 720p is enough? If you have iphone with 4.6 inch ... moreEverything is just fine for that phone.Been using Xcover2, 3, and 4s, now that one..
                                Bigger screen - bigger heat and power consumption. For normal user is perfect. For working guy as me it's more than capable:
                                - can connect USB endoscope camera, or usb memory stick
                                - can create test waves via 3.5mm audio jac
                                - enough space for applications and useful sd card slot for documents
                                - well working fm radio
                                - enough resolution to make useful the browser and YouTube if need...
                                - even not rooted can have plenty of good software and also able because is android to install my software
                                - the camera is good enough to do the job required..
                                The price with contract was about 200e..
                                So? What to complain for.. Just some teenagers mumble "oh this oh that...".
                                What 1200e iPhone can help me in my work in durty conditions?
                                Damn morons..

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • 0c$
                                  • 26 Oct 2021

                                  Is this phone ever coming to the US?

                                    • F
                                    • FX-Tech
                                    • 4RV
                                    • 14 Oct 2021

                                    Razion, 08 Oct 2021the battery for xcover 5 is not available anywhere. nor th... moreYou didn't look very hard - took about 1 minute to find:

                                    Original Battery Samsung Galaxy Xcover 5 3000mAh EB-BG525BBE Black
                                    https://www.ebay.com/itm/373687812477?hash=item570187817d:g:59QAAOSwlg9hG7aU

                                      • F
                                      • FX-Tech
                                      • 4RV
                                      • 14 Oct 2021

                                      Mr. Sam Sung, 04 Feb 2021The return of the 16X9 screen!!! A truly pocket-sized body... moreMy thoughts exactly! Just wondering if it'll work on T-Mobile or AT&T VoLTE here in the USA. I love the fact that you can actually turn the phone off - IE pull the battery and not just turn off the user interface. Big Brother: Let's design a device with a microphone, a camera, and a tracking device that you can't power down and then socially engineer everyone that they really have to have one and take it with them everywhere. Mission accomplished!!! ;-)

                                        • R
                                        • Razion
                                        • nD{
                                        • 08 Oct 2021

                                        Anonymous, 29 Aug 2021>But really good to see user replaceable battery after a... morethe battery for xcover 5 is not available anywhere. nor the charging stand. It 's just a marketing bullshit.