Sony Ericsson Cedar
MORE PICTURES

Sony Ericsson Cedar

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • naim

Yes class 32 Is better then 10. but as like 19-20.but cedar s pro speed and OS is overcome to handle it.

  • AnonD-35609

AnonD-9998, 26 Dec 2011Ya. Im sure it was 2G signal only. Docomo dosnt implement 3G in ... moreClick on "prnt scr" button to take screen shot, then open paint and click " ctrl + v " .
then save file...

btw, please answer my previous two questions.

  • AnonD-9998

AnonD-28254, 26 Dec 201190 KB per sec..via IDM !! on cedar over a edge network ???? r u... moreYa. Im sure it was 2G signal only. Docomo dosnt implement 3G in my city. How to get screenshot from pc!
Ill show you the speed.

  • AnonD-28254

AnonD-9998, 26 Dec 2011Ok guys. How to get screen shot from pc. And once i got 90KB on idm.90 KB per sec..via IDM !! on cedar over a edge network ????
r u sure (or) was it a 3G signal ?

  • AnonD-28254

AnonD-20794, 26 Dec 2011Where is the edge 32 phone speed? Without comparing both Cedar... moreyea man.. its speed lies B/w 29-31 KBps..
probably IDM zips an extra 2-3 KBps using some software compression i guess.
so i can say its constant in between 29-31 i.e for a edge class 10 cedAR.

AT the moment i dont have access to edge 32 device..
as i said b4 in some of the post that N8 (edge 33) can give upto 37-38 KBps.,
i will be posting those screen shots also once i conduct tests on a class 32/33 again.
till then i believe its clear the speeds that you said is not practical ,is actually practical !!

  • Mosmar

Is it a good phone?

  • AnonD-20794

AnonD-28254, 26 Dec 2011Here is the screen shot of CLASS 10 EDGE With cedar (docomo) thr... moreWhere is the edge 32 phone speed?
Without comparing both Cedar's edge 10 and nokia's edge 32 speeds, one cannnot get the conclusion that having edge 32 phone is really worth it.
If you are getting 35 kBps on Cedar, then you must get above 40 kBps on edge 32 phone.
Also I assume that you are getting constant above 30 kBps speeds because I also get 30kBps and above sometimes, but never constant and most of the time its less than 30kBps.
My result on Speedtest.net is upto 0.21 mbps max and 0.14 mbps min(download) and 0.11 mbps max and 0.04 mbps min (upload).

  • AnonD-9998

[deleted post]Ok guys.
How to get screen shot from pc.
And once i got 90KB on idm.

  • AnonD-28254

AnonD-20794, 26 Dec 2011Completely disagree as I am not getting constant speed of 30 kbp... moreHere is the screen shot of CLASS 10 EDGE With cedar (docomo) through IDM downloads..

I personally don't rely on Speedtest.net as the results are highly variable and not constant(my opinion)..also on speedtest.net the result i got was only 17 KBps DL & about 9.5 KBps UL.
anyways iv installed 'NetWorkz Bandwidth Monitor' on pc which accurately states the current download/upload speed rates...

Plz check link:

http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/6597/edgeclas­s10cedar.png

  • AnonD-28494

AnonD-28254, 26 Dec 2011Regarding ur data transfer speed, make sure dat u use a genuine ... moreYeah its more than half meter long. It does have 4+1 wires. Btw I've got more than 20mbps while transferring to a Galaxy S II using the same cable.

  • AnonD-20794

AnonD-28254, 26 Dec 2011 Facts are facts man.. believing it or not is upto you and not ... moreCompletely disagree as I am not getting constant speed of 30 kbps or more even on a EDGE 32 phone.
Forget about 296 kbps, if Operators start giving speeds of 236 kbps, I will be more happy than anybody else.
I also don't need 3G if the speed on 2G is 296 kbps as 3G is way costlier for a commom man to afford it.
Why not you are posting snapshot from Speedtest.net of data download speed of your EDGE 32 phone having speed of 296 kbps?

  • AnonD-9998

Got one K800 guys.
Just to learn more about modding.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-28254, 26 Dec 2011 Facts are facts man.. believing it or not is upto you and not ... moreHere is also why class 32 has more advtg. than class 10:
According to 3GPP TS 45.002 (Release 6), Table B.2, mobile stations of class 32 supports 5 timeslots in downlink and 3 timeslots in uplink with a max number of 6 simultaneously used timeslots. Or If data traffic is concentrated in downlink direction the network will configure the connection for 5+1 operation. When more data is transferred in the uplink the network can at any time change the constellation to 4+2 or 3+3. Or class 32 also represented by (4+2, 3+3) multislots. While class 10 as (4+1, 2+3) multislots. Under low traffic conditions, i.e. when the best EDGE modulation and coding scheme can be used, 5 timeslots can carry a bandwidth of 5*59.2 kbit/s = 296 kbit/s. In uplink direction, 3 timeslots can carry a bandwidth of 3*59.2 kbit/s = 177.6 kbit/s.

~ Source: Wikipedia

While class 10 with 5 timeslots can carry maximum bandwith of 4*59.2 kbps = 236.8 kbps in downlink. In otherwords, at any condition - low traffic or high traffic conditions - GPRS/EDGE class 32 is 20% faster than class 10.

  • AnonD-28254

AnonD-20794, 18 Dec 2011I have also tested the speeds at suburban parts of my city at my... more
Facts are facts man.. believing it or not is upto you and not my problem..
any ways the edge speeds that iv mentioned in the previous post was true upto my knowledge, may be when you had checked it was a diff scenario never mind.
(99 percent its 20-25kbps and only 1 percent 30kbps or more) this is not so in my case, at-least thru IDM Downloads as i said speeds are @ around 28 KBps (docomo).
and coming to what u said (Presently using an EDGE 32 phone is just like using a 3G phone in a non-3G network).. Edge 32 is Fully functional with major service providers like airtel,vodafone,docomo etc.. since its not a relatively new technology!
when companies can invest in 3G network why would they lack behind in providing Edge 32 compatibility via their networks..sounds logical right??

@ naim

Cedar's processing speed is an benefit over X2.. but its a diff aspect of comparison!!
but data network wise X2 might have a very slight upper hand than cedar..

  • AnonD-28142

naim, 26 Dec 2011Congrats :) we reached 8.1 go on.@ soul of naim
ya. . We are doing it :*

  • naim

Congrats :) we reached 8.1 go on.

  • AnonD-28254

AnonD-28494, 26 Dec 2011Even after using Class 6 memory card and a good quality CA 101 c... moreRegarding ur data transfer speed, make sure dat u use a genuine usb 2.0 cable..
to check whether the cable is actually a high speed(2.0) or not u need to check the two end metal connectors on the cable for continuity in other words check whether those two metal surfaces are grounded (i.e both the metal contacts r interconnected to each other).
A normal 1.0 usb cable would generally have 4 wires, were as a 2.0 would have an additional wire for grounding(4+1)
note : you can check this by using a multi-meter.. if there is no continuity, then that is the reason for slow data transfer speeds.. Btw hw long is your data cable ???(More than half a meter?)

  • AnonD-35609

Also, i have a micro usb data cable from my Samsung galaxy 3, can i use it for this phone?

  • AnonD-35609

Just wanted to know, how does the phone look ?
It has a plastic body right?
I really like the specs and its ability for threaded messaging system is great, but because it comes for a less price, does it look cheap or its ok kind?

  • AnonD-28494

Even after using Class 6 memory card and a good quality CA 101 cable my data transfer is hovering aroung 1mbps which is too low for a class 6 card. Any help?