Sony Xperia 1 II
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 II

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Gilvanio, 23 May 2020Some videos on YouTube are fake....the phone was launched only i... moreThat is true.

Person uses one phone and pretent there are two.
Just edit to change colours.

Speaker sounds like has a wide sound stage, distinct separation and more bass.

Speaker comparison with the Iphone
https://youtu.be/aiVWHwENkJw?t=550

Vineet Reddy, 23 May 2020From Japanese reviews and comparisons that went up recently I co... moreSome videos on YouTube are fake....the phone was launched only in Japan ....

From Japanese reviews and comparisons that went up recently I could see that SONY destroyed S20+ when it comes to Camera, Audio and Display. Performance tests are not up yet. But yes it is interesting to see that this time SONY Audio department did really well.

  • Anonymous

Telephone, 23 May 2020Do you even understand what a megapixel means for a camera? Let... moreMy answer seems a little bit harsher than I meant it to be.

But sticking to your analogy, you can also use to much words for your story so it becomes harder to store somewhere (would equal an unnecessary big file size) without gaining an advantage to the meaning of the story.

Even the longest story doesn't have to be a good one, you can also take really bad pictures even with the best camera in the world, if you don't know how to use it :)

And Sony themselves gave a reason they sticked with 12MP: they said that with more MP they wouldn't be able to do their continius 20 fps shooting, since the filesize would be to large to be written in the given time. So if they would have chosen a sensor with more MP to follow the others they would have lost a feature that is unique to their phone.

  • Anonymous

Telephone, 23 May 2020Do you even understand what a megapixel means for a camera? Let... moreI do photography as a hobby, so I know a little bit about that. You only have an advantage of more MP if you want to zoom into a Picture or the resolution of your screen is that high. Since 12MP is already above 4K resolution you won't see a great difference unless you zoom in. And you normally just do that if you want to crop the picture or you want to show someone some details. Even if I shoot Photos on my 24 MP DSLR, when I export an edited photo I scale it down to 4K or even 1080, since the rest would just blow up the size of the file.

And I said "less Pixel = more light per Pixel (given that the sensor size is the same)", you mixed that up.

Anonymous, 23 May 2020Can I also.point out that a hd TV is capable of seeing the equiv... morecropping or down scaling?
Both will benefit from higher input data, but down scaling works better with certain resolutions (such as 2160p -> 1080p or 1440p -> 720p)

Also, I agree, Just get the phone that you want. You know what you like, so get what you like.

  • Anonymous

Telephone, 23 May 2020Do you even understand what a megapixel means for a camera? Let... moreCan I also.point out that a hd TV is capable of seeing the equivalent of 2 megapixels, 4k can render 8 megapixels. Cropping is where you will get benefits of more megapixels, however, as you mentioned, generally at the expense of noise.
My recommendation as always think what you do with your mobile phone and then buy the one that fits best. That way you will not be disappointed, and no, no phone is the absolute best at everything

Anonymous, 23 May 2020There are people who don't want a screen like this. There are pl... moreI'm so sorry
I replied to the wrong post. I got a bit confused because I had some drinks. :P
But my analogy is pretty easy to understand, right?

Anonymous, 23 May 2020There are people who don't want a screen like this. There are pl... moreDo you even understand what a megapixel means for a camera?
Let me explain to you in a way that a kid can understand.
Here is an analogy

A camera is like a story. A camera with more megapixels is like a story with more words. But a story with more words isn't always better than a good short story.
A drawback to long stories is that it takes a longer time to write than a short story. Same with 108MP, it takes a longer time to process than a 12MP.
The story is then put into a book. The Image Signal Processor will hear the story and write it into a small book in its own words. (raw data is unaltered data btw) Good ISP will make good stories. And that's pretty much it.

Oh, higher quality sensors is like better vocabulary.

More megapixels doesn't necessarily mean more light. More megapixels is more data, but most of the time it makes more noise (inaccurate words)


  • Hah

TheGoldenMellifluous, 23 May 2020"Why they still keep the design like the old screen? They should... moreIt doesnt matter at all

Anonymous, 23 May 2020Afcourse you aren't going to get full 120fps at 4k or QHD with S... moreI meant that there needs to be a sacrifice in quality to get more frame rate. PUBG can look amazing if there was a higher polygon count and higher resolution textures. But because of the limitation of mobile processors, the game was optimized. https://i.imgur.com/pifO0m7.jpg Its very stripped down.
I understand that some people don't need quality graphics to play a game. But I want to experience all the hard work the developers put into the game.
Sorry, I didn't mean to compare Xbox or PS to a phone. I meant that the amount of texture detail on a mobile is already pretty low to begin with.

Also I expect games to be higher quality now that processors are getting better.
Here is a video of game that was ported to android 5 years ago. https://youtu.be/cbLfZFmQqUU
Its texture quality is much better than most mobile games released in the past couple of years.
At around 4:50, the player lowers the quality of the graphics to increase frame rate.

Anonymous, 23 May 2020Afcourse you aren't going to get full 120fps at 4k or QHD with S... moreIf you're really buying a phone to play shooters and other graphic intensive games, then why are you looking at something not made for it. Go for a gaming phone. I think all gaming phones are useless since mobile gaming is shit, I'm not trying to play PUBG on my phone while on the bus or train, I'd rather be watching videos or listening to music and this phone delivers the best of both with the display and the audio enhancements.

  • Anonymous

Reljin86, 22 May 20201200$ smartphone and 60Hz displey ... Jesus !It's 90hz

  • Anonymous

Telephone, 23 May 2020The problem with 120fps gaming is that SD 865 is not a powerful ... moreAfcourse you aren't going to get full 120fps at 4k or QHD with SD865.
But at 1080p, plenty of games that support high refresh rate give full 120fps.
Pub g Chinese version with unlocked 120fps runs without any issues.

And how can you compare mobile gaming to Xbox 360 or ps3 or a PC graphic card like RTX 2080?

Metta, 23 May 2020Sony has not learned a thing from the world of mobile phones. Wh... more"Why they still keep the design like the old screen? They should have updated and changed to full edge screen or at least full screen rather than useless spaces on top and bottom. "
.
Because they utilized the bottom and upper bezels with true front-facing stereo speakers with Cirrus Logic CS35L41 inside it and true FF stereo speakers is one of Sony's iconic features since 2014 and has been stayed there since. When it was moved to the bottom position last year Xperia 1 & 5, fans weren't happy and Sony decided to revert the location to the front. And if you want full screen without bottom and upper bezels, FF Stereo speakers can't be implemented and only 2 options can be chosen for now (UD-camera solution isn't ready till next year), either pop-up camera (revoke IP certification tradition) or punch-hole/notch (sidetracking the proper full multimedia immerse), and that's not what the Sony Xperia community want (that's why the notched L4 was received less well than 10 II or 1 II). Some revision could be a thing next year, but let's keep what Sony intended for 2020. Other worthy components like a notification LED, symmetrical bezel but with newly adopted 21:9 cinematic design, very contrast to your opinion. If you like other OEM brand design, then go for their design.

"They have embedded the Zeiss camera why not the screen?"
.
That screen of Xperia 1 II already calibrated heavily by their TV division, Bravia and Sony's professional division, CineAlta, and was already there since last year Xperia 1, so leave that intact as it was proven great on the X 1.

And the camera should have been updated to 24MP to compete in the market.
.
24 MP? That would make the data sensor readout slower than intended 10ms (the bigger MP, the slower readout), and that 12MP sensor of X 1 isn't your typical 12MP 1/2.55" of the past. It's a 12 MP 1/1.7" 1.80µm, and it's currently the largest sensor on non-Quad/Nona Bayer cell sensor to come in 2020 (outside 808 PV and Lumia 1020). Even Apple this year has decided to keep the 12 MP sensor (albeit a larger sensor than 11 series)

Metta, 23 May 2020Sony has not learned a thing from the world of mobile phones. Wh... moreHow is it same design?? Bezels are minimised, 21:9 is new. Please show me another mobile from sony with same design. Name it.
How are those small bezels useless?? You're getting speakers, led light along with non distracting front camera. Let's agree u like ugly designs from other brands.

  • Anonymous

Metta, 23 May 2020Sony has not learned a thing from the world of mobile phones. Wh... moreThere are people who don't want a screen like this. There are plenty of other phones which are designed like you want, you can just buy one of them.
Also more MP are not automatically better. Less MP means more light for each pixel. You normally only need higher MP if you are a photographer that crops his photos.

  • Metta

Sony has not learned a thing from the world of mobile phones. Why they still keeps the design like old screen? They should have updated and changed to full edge screen or at least full screen rather than useless spaces on top and bottom. They have embedded the Zeiss camera why not the screen? And the camera should have been updated to 24MP in order to compete in the market.

Anonymous, 23 May 2020More than 200 plus games currently support high refresh rate. He... moreThe problem with 120fps gaming is that SD 865 is not a powerful processor. The TDP for SD 865 is 5 watts. (the whole package) SD 865 is top tier for mobiles, but for gaming in general, its very weak. (at least its better than Nintendo Switch undocked) For most games, the quality/resolution has to be lowered in order to get higher frame rates. Mobile games are optimized to run on phones, so quality is already pretty low to begin with. (some games are less intensive and already plays smooth) Here is some screenshots of Black Desert mobile max quality setting. https://i.imgur.com/7Y3n9TV.png https://i.imgur.com/T4jakGY.png (character creation is super fun btw) The game quality looks playable, but its very low compared to consoles like ps3 and xbox 360. Here is some screen shots of the PC version of Black Desert Online to show how much the quality is lower on mobile (RTX 2080 1440p) https://i.imgur.com/fkCBV87.jpg https://i.imgur.com/fZOqMLY.jpg Black Desert released in 2014 on PC, so recently released games look much better. The amount of detail in COD is unbelievable https://i.imgur.com/ttOlSyC.jpg

So my point is, that 120fps on phones is pretty useless, unless you don't care about image quality and prefer smoothness (helps with competitive first person shooter games)