Sony Xperia 1 II
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 II

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Anonymous, 19 May 2020Did you even read the link I gave you? The phone only increase... moreBecause you like android authority, I made sure to get you an article from them.
https://www.androidauthority.com/graphene-batter­ies-explained-1070096/
This is the future of batteries.

Anonymous, 19 May 2020Keep using a Ancient charging tech data and graphs. Besides, y... moreSo you are saying that having 2 batteries is better.
It turns out to be the same, but with slightly higher efficiency.
4000mah / 2 = 2000mah
30 / 3.7 = 8.10... 8.10 / 2 = 4.05 It is still 4C charging rate per battery cell.
That is still 4 times the recommended 1C charging rate.

Also degradation happens from stress. So not only heat can accelerate degradation.
https://i.imgur.com/8vGDFOA.png
NOTE: temperature of the battery is kept at room temperature (23C). Yet there is significant degradation because of fast charging.
source: https://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article/ultr­a_fast_chargers

These are tests run by actual engineers, not some article from the internet.

  • Anonymous

Telephone, 19 May 2020I can't agree with you. This VOOC is just marketing towards unin... moreDid you even read the link I gave you?
The phone only increased in Temps by 3-4 deg Celsius while Qualcomm quick charge was getting hot by 20 deg C.
How the heck do you expect degradation when heat is kept in check?

I'll rather believe in depth scientific studies rather than some twitter posts without proof.
You just another hater!
Few years into the future, you'll accept the same fast charging tech after Sony adopts and rebrand it.

  • Anonymous

Telephone, 19 May 2020Other things to note about OPPO Oppo claims Ace2 can handle 65W... moreKeep using a Ancient charging tech data and graphs.
Besides, you don't even know that the 65W on Oppo isn't one cell, it's two different cells getting charged at 30 plus Watts each.
This is what happens when therotical junkies like you fail to take into account real world factors.

VOOC is the best right now as explained through thorough testing by Android Authority.
Qualcomm PD is Ancient tech.

Telephone, 19 May 2020The HDMI port on the Pro is limited to only input. Xperia 1, 1... moreYup, my error. Its HDMI input.

Anonymous, 19 May 2020QC and PD are ancient compared to VOOC. https://www.androidau... moreOther things to note about OPPO
Oppo claims Ace2 can handle 65W charging on the 4000mah battery (4Ah)
65W is hard to understand so lets change that into C rating.
65W / 3.7V = 17.56756...A 17.56 / 4 = 4.39.. That is 4C charging rate!
40W / 3.7V = 10.81...A 10.81 / 4 = 2.7 About 2.5C rate! (I'm underestimating so its easier to understand)
Here is a chart showing the negative effects of higher C charging. (temperature is a constant) https://i.imgur.com/8vGDFOA.png
It is a fact that charging over 1C accelerates degradation.
By the way, 1C for a 4000mah battery is 4 * 3.7 = 14.8 15W charging is 1C.

Anonymous, 19 May 2020QC and PD are ancient compared to VOOC. https://www.androidau... moreI can't agree with you. This VOOC is just marketing towards unintelligent consumers. This is straight up garbage. A phone that can't even last 2 years, GARBAGE.
https://twitter.com/andreif7/status/125866094487­7694978
OPPO doesn't care about battery longevity. So how is VOOC better if it sacrifices long term performace?

Plus, ultra-fast charging has been around before smartphones ever existed.
I have a 50W Li-po charger. It takes 10min to charge from 0 - 80%
https://i.imgur.com/ZcgORKQ.jpg
I have seen the degradation. It happens. That's why I will do anything to prevent it.

  • Anonymous

Telephone, 18 May 2020You do know why QC and USB PD exists right? USB was originally ... moreQC and PD are ancient compared to VOOC.

https://www.androidauthority.com/fast-charging-s­tandards-compared-669624/

  • Skf

hi, Sony..I miss Sony mobile in India
1) first water resistant mobile in mobile..
2) first dolby surrounding system in mobile
3) fist 4 K recording video
4) Sony is fist fully battery power saving function in mobile
So pls return to in India no any mobile company bit u ..😥😥😥

hope they make ultra or pro version with 6.9 screen, im the first to buy it

kakeroo, 18 May 2020Any idea of this phone (pro 5g version) can support MHL/slimport... moreI currently use this adapter on my X1. its supports charging while displaying output.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FF63XZ9/ref=cm_sw_e­m_r_mt_dp_U_mwXWEbASWYNGC
The android 10 desktop mode is still an experimental feature, so its still have lots of bugs.
Also the scaling was pretty bad, needs root to fix that.
But being able to output youtube videos at the monitor's native resolution was really nice, even the audio was supported.
Possibly the next android version will have better support in desktop mode.
Here is a pic of it working with a display port alt mode portable monitor, no adapter necessary.
https://i.imgur.com/fmchcsf.jpg

  • Anonymous

While other overrated phone companies are wondering what useful feature they can needlessly remove next, here is Sony keeping the beloved SD card slot and headphone jack! Good! And they did it whilst maintaining flagship specs too!

Anonymous, 18 May 2020maybe it's time to do some experiment, i'm a bit skeptic of that... moreIf the price for Xperia Pro is no more than 1300 without taxes, I would be down to try it out. The X1ii has similar antenna design to the X1 (based on the pictures) so I expect similar performance. But we never know until the actual unit releases.

Tann Hauser, 18 May 2020Pro version has extra dedicated HDMI out socket. The HDMI port on the Pro is limited to only input.
Xperia 1, 1II, and Pro all support display out via type C.
I currently use Displayport Alt mode on my Xperia 1 for video out

  • Nnabazz

Sony is not into competition with anyone. They just make phones, beautiful phones.

Nick.B, 18 May 2020Let's hope it will have qHD and Stereo Speakers unlike P40Pro/+ ... moreLet's also hope for kirin 1020 after what happened to huawei with tsmc

  • YogiBear83

Anonymous, 18 May 2020 Iphone xs max was awful for photos. Apple charged 1500 dollars. Yeah I know. XS got 106 DXOmark and XZ3 have 79. Ive tested both and that reviews are a joke. DXOmark should disapear from this milky way.

kakeroo, 18 May 2020Any idea of this phone (pro 5g version) can support MHL/slimport... morePro version has extra dedicated HDMI out socket.

Any idea of this phone (pro 5g version) can support MHL/slimport or alt mode to use portable monitors or usbc to HDMI connections to use the desktop mode in Android 10?

My A50 does not and yet the LG G3 did use slimport.

Nick.B, 18 May 2020Let's hope it will have qHD and Stereo Speakers unlike P40Pro/+ ... moreerrr...it has stereo speakers and it's 4K, did you even check the specs? ;-)