Sony Xperia 1 III
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 III

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

TheLegitTechy247365, 10 Jun 2021I'm getting antsy lol I wanna try 4k at 144hz 😩4k 240 Hz with Black Frame Insertion

  • Anonymous

TheLegitTechy247365, 10 Jun 2021Especially with its whopping 2000nit brightness 😍It's 1350 nits to be exact which is more than enough for most people. I don't need the power of the sun in my hands

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Jun 2021But the list of cons it too many. It's simply can'... moreAgain, this opinion (mostly) is only your point of view (which I am not saying is wrong just not universal) the aspect ratio for example is perfect for Netflix and movies, and gives you a chance to shoot and watch 21:9 videos and multitask easier.bwhy would I want any other aspect ratio of I only watch movies. If I want (almost) stock android because of its simplicity why would I want to complicate things? Photography, maybe I like the sky at night to be, you know dark, as in realistic. The selfie camera is shocking so no getting away from that. Price is what you expect for these specs, and I would bet on Sony using better components than most companies. Overall I think it is an excellent alternative for a select group of people.

TheLegitTechy247365, 10 Jun 2021I'm getting antsy lol I wanna try 4k at 144hz 😩Especially with its whopping 2000nit brightness 😍

I'm getting antsy lol I wanna try 4k at 144hz 😩

  • ShadowJay

alanyu, 10 Jun 2021I have both III and II. III doesn't have a 800 nit scr... morelook at technick's review, xperia 1 iii is 800+nits brightness, and has a peak 1300nits outside.

Finally saw that TechNick review and I was really upset with him and all other reviewers that ALWAYS miss the most important aspect in a phone: battery life. This is LITERALLY the only thing I'm unsure about with this phone and NOBODY reports it. It upsets me so much...

Anonymous, 10 Jun 2021S21 Ultra isn't the brightest, Mi 11 Ultra is. S21 Ul... moreI didn't say the S21 Ultra is the brightest, but I used it to compare the 1 iii to possibly the most popular Android flagship of 2021, and people will most likely compare these two flagships anyway.

A matter of 100 nits more would have little to no effect in daily usage. Besides, those nits are only possible when a small portion of the screen is lit up, so in reality, the whole display on all of them will very likely to be equally bright outdoors. It's not like 1400 nits is dim in any case, unless we are going to be extremely biased against Sony.

If TechNick's test on the Sony is wrong, it's definitely going to be the same case as with the other phones he compared it to. In short, his test would still be relatively the same as what others will most likely get out of the Xperia 1 iii.
Of course, the other phones will be tested already multiple times by now since they were released earlier and there are many people who are actually interested in testing them, unlike the Xperia, which is only limited to a few reviewers who are very open to using them.

KING DRANZER, 09 Jun 2021Well I am bit worried about the OLED display over time push... moreSony has probably found a workaround to make it possible. Anyway it won't be at that full blast all the time, so it's not going to be a major problem in the long run. Also, for as long as the users know how to properly take care of their screens, they would definitely have nothing to worry about.

  • alanyu

Android--Master, 10 Jun 2021Sony guys were justifying pathetic 600 nits brightness whic... moreI have both III and II. III doesn't have a 800 nit screen. It is still ~650 nit with auto max, which is the same as II, but a bit brighter than II with manual max. The screen of III is warmer than II, both under the condition of creator mode set to D65.

  • Anonymous

Android--Master, 10 Jun 2021Sony guys were justifying pathetic 600 nits brightness whic... moreBut the list of cons it too many. It's simply can't topple other flagships.

- physical fingerprint scanner is slower compared to competing with devices.
- Awkard tall aspect ratio good for certain things, but user gets overall less screen real estate compared to other displays around similar screen sizes.
- Improved brightness of the display of but still behind other flagships in terms of brightness.
- lack of customization options for AOD.
- sony stock software skin which is devoid of themes and other added features, has been left behind by oxygen OS, miui, one ui, color OS, etc.
- overheating issue as Sony cheapened out on cooling like Samsung and Apple.
- 30W charging improved from previous generations yet behind other Android flagships.
- 4k gimmick consumes too much battery.
- same old main camera from last year putting it out of the top 10 phone cameras yet again.
- terrible night mode.
- poor video quality in dark
- poor Ultrawide compared to other flagships.
- lower quality selfie camera.
- poorly designed unsimplified auto and pro mod app where the user is confused.
- availability is an issue in major markets.
- overpriced beyond it's reputation in the current market.
- uncertain future of Sony in smartphone sector steers away most buyers.

Anonymous, 09 Jun 2021Haha 😂 it better not be a di$a$ter like last year with mult... moreSony guys were justifying pathetic 600 nits brightness which is now bumped up to 800 nits.
Well I am happy that they made improvements over last year.

The new frosted back is better than last year's fingerprint magnet body.

They have provided multiple physical buttons which are a welcome addition as they can be customized by power users.

It's compact and lighter compared to other flagships with respectable 6.5" notchless display.

Sony should have put a bigger sensor from their new IMX lineup. This sensor has started to show its age and is easily getting surpassed by bigger sensors on other flagships.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Jun 2021im waiting here to bring here in indian marketNot going to be available in India, Sony was kicked out of the market by Chine$e manufacturers which were better in almost every area including price.

  • Anonymous

KING DRANZER, 09 Jun 2021Well I am bit worried about the OLED display over time push... moreStill 400 nits less brighter than the top d0g.
Capped at 240hz touch sampling rate while others enjoying 480hz and 720hz touch sampling rate.
Screen to body ratio is less.

  • Anonymous

Shanti Dope, 09 Jun 2021Jokes on you, it was brighter than the S21 Ultra at manual ... moreS21 Ultra isn't the brightest, Mi 11 Ultra is.
S21 Ultra reaches 1500 nits and Mi 11 Ultra reaches 1700 nits in bright sunlight confirmed using lux meter by multiple other Youtubers. That particular video by tech Nick didn't get the readings right.

  • Anonymous

KING DRANZER, 09 Jun 2021Before people start jumping up saying that this Phone is Th... moreThey should have put better cooling

  • Anonymous

im waiting here to bring here in indian market

  • Anonymous

KING DRANZER, 09 Jun 2021Before people start jumping up saying that this Phone is Th... moreBionz and X1 are chips used by Alpha/Cybershot and Bravia.

Bionz and X1 for Xperia are software.
Not chips.

Before people start jumping up saying that this Phone is Thermal Throttling. I wanna make it clear that it is not. There are two physical processors running and being pushed specially while gaming and that is the reason we see that kind of heat. It is not being generated by SD888 alone as it is on other smartphone devices. And to be honest the SD888 is possibly running or being less stressed than what it goes through in other devices as the entire display processing is being handled by X1 Mobile chip-set. Check the Tech Nick video he shows the temperature on the Phone and yet the FPS in games are consistent without and sudden drops at all. That clearly shows that the SD888 is not being thermal throttled.

Shanti Dope, 09 Jun 2021Jokes on you, it was brighter than the S21 Ultra at manual ... moreWell I am bit worried about the OLED display over time pushing that high brightness as it also has to reliably last long. I hope SONY doesn't take a hit there.

Yeah for many who have been complaining about its brightness now need to find a different aspect to complaint about.