Sony Xperia 1 III
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 III

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

n0-way, 11 Oct 2021I know it's strange but you can compare them easily ; ... more,I'm just done with Samsung phones. The last one was S8+. No more

  • Sh4njo3

This phone is announced in April 14 and it's my birthday. I want that phone to my birthday.

  • Anonymous

I'm not sure to get the Iphone 13 pro or the xperia 1 III ... What do you think?

Alpha, 11 Oct 2021IPhone heats up too..look it upWhat series of iphone that heats up?

Tann Hauser, 12 Oct 2021New Xperia product announcement on 25th. Thats kinnda out ... moreSome people say it's a foldable phone, others say new Xperia Tablet, Pro II, or the reincarnation of Xperia Play. Some others speculate Xperia accessories or another continuation of the product that's not a phone like SmartWatch or Xperia Touch. It's still a mystery, for now, considering the track where the leaks about Sony phones aren't too much.

  • Alpha

n0-way, 11 Oct 2021I know it's strange but you can compare them easily ; ... more3.5mm jack? 4k display?

New Xperia product announcement on 25th.
Thats kinnda out of the blue.
Wonder what it ll be?

AlexP, 11 Oct 2021Doesn't make sense. Xperia 1 II is the flagship, s20se... moreI know it's strange but you can compare them easily ; same processor, same gpu, same ram! Now better battery and wi fi reverse charge on s20fe 5g. Only thing xperia 1 mark 2 has better is the display! And s20fe 5g is half the price! What's is to lought about this? It's a easy choice to make! Although I'm a crazy xperia fan!

n0-way, 06 Oct 2021- yes i know, but the s20fe 5g 8gb ram si just half the pri... moreDoesn't make sense. Xperia 1 II is the flagship, s20se ????? Something is not finished
Hahaha

  • Alpha

Sepfian, 07 Oct 2021Most xperia phone are overheating. Take a look at their TDP... moreIPhone heats up too..look it up

  • Anonymous

The really nice phone overall but overly complicated and overengineered. The phone won't read my music save on the internal storage and/or external storage. Also, the camera doesn't give you a full screen when taking picture. I can live with the camera screen but if I can't play my music? I'm returning the phone to Amazon.

  • Anonymous

expert opinion, 07 Oct 2021can i run candy crush at 60fps in this phoneYes

  • Anonymous

expert opinion, 07 Oct 2021can i run candy crush at 60fps in this phoneits capped to 30 frames on this phone

n0-way, 02 Oct 2021So i had this item and returned. before you buy just read t... moreMost xperia phone are overheating. Take a look at their TDP data, always circa 9-10 watt.

Dont want overheat issue?! Buy iphone, most just only have 6 watt Thermal Design Power.

  • expert opinion

can i run candy crush at 60fps in this phone

KING DRANZER, 02 Oct 2021Are the Games or Applications Lagging, getting Stuck or Cra... more- just getting hot way too easy on playing games like Raid/galaxy control etc.
- i had the latest update! SO not really a problem fixer this one also!
- not to mention in camera filming video!
- and on youtube watching 4k videos!
- so no thank you sd888 ruin this phone chances to be a real great phone!

Alpha, 03 Oct 2021 You could have gotten the 1ii..its on par with the S20fe - yes i know, but the s20fe 5g 8gb ram si just half the price of xperia 1 mark 2.. and :
xp 1 mark 2:
Li-Po 4000 mAh,
Charging Fast charging 21W
Fast wireless charging 11W
s20fe 5g :
Li-Ion 4500 mAh,
USB Power Delivery Fast charging 25W
Fast wireless charging 15W
Reverse wireless charging 4.5W
USB Power Delivery 3.0
So all in all , sadly, the s20fe 5g is the better phone [cost\offer\etc]

Anonymous, 04 Oct 20211) they are not gonna wait until august to announce device,... moreOk, let's get this started:

1) "they are not gonna wait until august to announce device, just to use 898+ with no befenit over 898. Being tsmc is not gonna make chip 5% better ..."

-They could announce the device(s) (1, 5, Pro Mark ii) in July. Maybe even June when the 898+ is announced. It's not necessarily that the processor will be that much better but it allows the Xperia phones to be more...'in' with the latest processor. The garbage marketing that will claim the Xperia will outperform the Galaxies because of the newer processor and people will eat it up is all they need to do from a marketing standpoint. Would I care much? No but it does deviate away from Samsung overheating the 898 like reports have found they're still doing.

2) "Sharp screen would increase price a lot because their lower production capacity compared to samsung"

-that's why, with a late summer/early fall release, Sharp could already get started to making them. As I said, the Xperia phones are already very expensive so why not try to strike a deal with Sharp (maybe using the below LDAP as leverage) to use the better OLED panel?

3) "1 iv prototype has 5000mAh"

- let's hope. Considering the batteries they picked this year was for all three Xperia phones, I wonder if they would get a different (5,000mAH) battery for just the 1 and Pro while either slight bump the 5 and 10 or use the same one. If it's the latter while retaining the size of the 5 and 10 would be an embarrassment to iPhones and Galaxy S22 by comparison.

4) "mmWave is too little used outside USA and increases price".

-price is already going up. A lot of this will depend on if Qualcomm's next modem will integrate mmWave like Dimensity will. Considering China is adopting it, it's something to look at. I would understand if the price increases only in the US but future-proofing reception should never be an obstacle.

- "problem with selfie cam is space inside the bezel. There is no space for larger 12MP. The smallest 12MP (the ultra wide of iphone 12) is 50% larger than current 8MP insode mark III. Sony Semi is never gonna make a 12MP with 1/4" size."

-you might get me here. I looked it up and Sony did make a whopping ONE sensor at the same size as the Samsung sensor they're using and that's the IMX134 (old sensor in other words. Even has the exact same specs from the pixel size to the lens size). Still would definitely prefer Sony move the selfie cam to their division rather than use Samsung's. Better quality and lower cost for Sony to stick with their parts like Samsung does for their phones. Making an updated version of this would be good enough I think.

- phone would never be able to act like A9 using 48MP. Quadbayer is slower sensor. Imx557 needs 10ms to be scanned, while HM1/HM3 needs 30ms for 12MP photo. This is why the propotype with 50MP did not become the 1iii. To overcome this, they need to use the best tech Sony Semicon has (used by Alpha 1) but sensor would be too expensive and Sony Electronics would never pay for Xperia. Also, having 8K@60 depends on the CPU, not ISP. No mobile sensor can handle 8K@60 video.

-like I said, a dual lens similar to the dual periscope design they currently have where one is a single Bayer 12MP whereas the second lens is purely a dedicated 48MP lens that doesn't take photos but does video. I said main sensor but I feel I could see the Ultrawide getting two lens for this purpose. Also ISP could drive 8K@60fps if it piggy-backs off of the processor. After all, Sony uses an image chip to give us 4K@120Hz display despite Qualcomm alone not being able to handle that.

- "1iii has graphite already. Much more than 1ii. Watch teardown video."

-more is better. My phone doesn't heat up much now but it never hurts to cool the phone even more.

"- keep dreaming on same dac of walkman. Too expensive and uses too much power. Also, current DAC is high level according to Juan Bagnell, just AMP is weak."

-too expensive? It's their own DAC. If anything, this should be easy for them. While we can kind of drive headphones with the current setup, I feel audiophiles want something closer to the LG V series experience.

- "LDAC is advertised as CD quality, same new Qualcomm codec claims to be. LDAC is part of AOSP, but OEMs need to pay Sony to have it active."

-CD quality = 16-bit. I'm talking 24-bit with potential for upscaling. Apple and Samsung would kill for this.

*" I do not know the screen size of 1 iv, I just know bezels will be shorter than mark 3. If they increase screen, phone gets wider. Also heavier .... Something they do not want."

-6.5" I know this one would be a stretch (...literally. lol) but just to give it something different from the predecessor. Like I said, it's not a deal breaker.

Ironic...
The real professional phone is not called pro.

  • Anonymous

Dometalican, 04 Oct 2021To put it simply, if Sony wants to kick butt next year, the... more1) they are not gonna wait until august to announce device, just to use 898+ with no befenit over 898. Being tsmc is not gonna make chip 5% better ...

2) Sharp screen would increase price a lot because their lower production capacity compared to samsung

3) 1 iv prototype has 5000mAh

4) mmWave is too little used outside USA and increases price.

- problem with selfie cam is space inside the bezel. There is no space for larger 12MP. The smallest 12MP (the ultra wide of iphone 12) is 50% larger than current 8MP insode mark III. Sony Semi is never gonna make a 12MP with 1/4" size.

- phone would never be able to act like A9 using 48MP. Quadbayer is slower sensor. Imx557 needs 10ms to be scanned, while HM1/HM3 needs 30ms for 12MP photo. This is why the propotype with 50MP did not become the 1iii. To overcome this, they need to use the best tech Sony Semicon has (used by Alpha 1) but sensor would be too expensive and Sony Electronics would never pay for Xperia. Also, having 8K@60 depends on the CPU, not ISP. No mobile sensor can handle 8K@60 video.

- 1iii has graphite already. Much more than 1ii. Watch teardown video.

- keep dreaming on same dac of walkman. Too expensive and uses too much power. Also, current DAC is high level according to Juan Bagnell, just AMP is weak.

- LDAC is advertised as CD quality, same new Qualcomm codec claims to be. LDAC is part of AOSP, but OEMs need to pay Sony to have it active.

* I do not know the screen size of 1 iv, I just know bezels will be shorter than mark 3. If they increase screen, phone gets wider. Also heavier .... Something they do not want.