Sony Xperia 1 III
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 III

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • ASJ1901

Phone Reviewer, 25 Jun 20214K is certainly a cool thing to have on a phone, however fo... moreThat was one of my points, 4k isnt for most people, but neither is 1440p as most people wont notice these differences. Bot arguments there.
The other point was to try to explain the reason why 1440p took off, which has nothing to do with people noticing changes, but more with marketing.
I am not saying everyone should get the xperia 1 iii, but you would have to admit that this phone is quite unique in a sea of similar phones just wearing different clothes (not to take literally, i am just talking day to day use, not in-depth).
We, Sony fans, mostly like that about Sony. Sure, it may have a couple of gimmicks, but who doesn't. Everyone likes to add something extra to make their product different from the rest.
And that 4K screen is much better gimmick than some stuff other manufacturers have done. I am sure there are people out there who can differentiate the resolution and will make use of that high res display.

  • Anonymous

Phone Reviewer, 25 Jun 20214K is certainly a cool thing to have on a phone, however fo... moreI really think 4K is not a gimmick, but rather a really cool and rare feature. I have read many 4K Xperia phone owners praising how crisp the screens are.

Android-Authority, 25 Jun 2021It actually does conserve battery as the screen isn't ... moreOn my OP8 pro, I used to get around 7-7.5hr with QHD@120hz
and around 8.5-9hr with 1080p@120Hz.

  • Serious guy

Anonymous, 25 Jun 2021Mi 11 series has 480hz touch sampling rate. Poco F3 and ... moreWho cares about touch sampling rate (mi 11 ultra has 480hz)? Are you gonna touch the screen 480 times per second?

AnT, 24 Jun 2021Have been hearing conflicting information on compatibility ... moreChinese version will probably not work. You'd have to get it in the US when it's released and it should work just fine.

Phone Reviewer, 25 Jun 2021I agree, WQHD is the maximum resolution a sensible manufact... moreIt actually does conserve battery as the screen isn't pushing those extra unnecessary pixels.
It's a boon on Snapdragon 888 devices.
People have reported around gains upto 1-1.5hr SOT

ASJ1901, 23 Jun 2021Lets be honest here, the main reason 1440p took off in mobi... more4K is certainly a cool thing to have on a phone, however for most people I think after using the phone it feels more like a gimmick than a feature to them. However there is no doubt Sony will continue selling 4k phones for the people who want the feature.

Android-Authority, 23 Jun 2021WQHD or 3k displays are the sweet spot. I know many people... moreI agree, WQHD is the maximum resolution a sensible manufacturer would put on a sub 7 inch display. However it has been proven that changing the resolution of 1440p display to 1080p doesn't actually conserve any battery, or conserves negligible amounts of battery, because the screen is still showing 1440p, just down scaled to 1080p so the only battery saving is from gpu having to power less pixels.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Jun 2021The touch sampling rate is on par with other flagships, whi... moreMi 11 series has 480hz touch sampling rate.

Poco F3 and others have 360hz touch sampling rate.

  • AnT

Have been hearing conflicting information on compatibility of dual-sim version with AT&T in USA. Are there any updates on that?

  • lol

Anonymous, 24 Jun 2021You are right. It will be fun when Gsmarena reviews the pho... moreyeah, Samsung pays better.
However a list of pros here:
+side mounted fingerprint reader = faster response & fingerprint clean screen
+front sided dual speakers = true stereo vs 1 ear stereo
+sd card = fast pc-phone file transfer
+3.5 mm jack = HQ music
+4K 120hz= no comment
+21:9 = standard aspect ratio
+no notch = 85% display to body ratio
+zero garbage, zero cloned google apps and services unavailable in most of the world such as samsung pay, smart(samsung)things, bixby(few languages), etc.
+aluminium & glass = no cheap plastic
+charger = unbelievable

  • Anonymous

Reds, 24 Jun 2021Liks what 240Hz touch sampling rate isn't enough? The ... moreExactly, even the S21 Ultra has a 240 Hz touch sampling rate, same as the Xperia 1 III. The iPhone 12 Pro Max actually has a 120 Hz touch sampling rate, that's what I call low.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Jun 2021They are not happy as touch sampling rate is low, the scree... moreThe touch sampling rate is on par with other flagships, which is 240hz. Only gaming phones are able to reach 480Hz or above.

Not sure what you meant by accurate, if you're talking about color accuracy, it should be the most colour accurate display out there due to the calibrated Creator Mode.

Overall brightness is better than the S21 Ultra, just that peak brightness is 200 nits lower,
1300 nits on the 1 III VS 1500 nits on the S21 Ultra

  • Moon

Greetings and Rahmatullah Hey and Barkatahu my name is Moin Akram and I am from Gujaranwala, the city of Pakistan, I have Mathura ji to you that your mobiles are very nice and lovely and also strong, only you will do this much work for your mobile display. You can also widen the display of your mobile a bit.

KING DRANZER, 12 May 2021STOP Don't know what part of the quoted statement c... morewasn't talking about you, sorry.

I was talking about asphalt nation, commonly regarded as an android lover and an apple hater.

Everybody else is ok.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Jun 2021They are not happy as touch sampling rate is low, the scree... moreYou are right. It will be fun when Gsmarena reviews the phone and these guys find out it's not as good as other flagships

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Jun 2021They are not happy as touch sampling rate is low, the scree... moreThe screen is perfectly accurate (each unit is allegedly calibrated individually). The problem comes, much the same as the photography section, that people prefer oversaturated bright vivid colours, not dull accurate colours. The same as pro photographers say the camera is great and general reviewers say it is average. I'm sure a director will look at the screen of one of his creations and say that it is exactly as he wanted. A general tech reviewer will prefer brighter colours on other phones.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Jun 2021They are not happy as touch sampling rate is low, the scree... moreHe's talking about resolution and those areas which you're talking about, what proof do you have for saying those? I'm sure a 10-bit 120Hz 4K OLED display is amazing to look at by any means. You said that they're not happy with the low 240Hz touch sampling rate that it's got, so with that logic, that means they are disappointed with the 120Hz touch sampling rate that the 12 Pro Max has got which the GSMArena team finds snappy. Not to mention it has an inferior 8-bit 60Hz 1080p+ OLED display. Same goes for Samsung's 8-bit 1080p and 1440p + a "low" 240Hz display. It's a few million colors and hundred couple of pixels inferior than 1 III's display. I don't get what they're not happy about :/

Anonymous, 23 Jun 2021They are not happy as touch sampling rate is low, the scree... moreLiks what 240Hz touch sampling rate isn't enough? The iPhone 12 has the same right? And what about the 4K 120HZ? And yeah this screen is colour accurate. It has a DCIP3 rating of 100%

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Jun 2021They are not happy as touch sampling rate is low, the scree... moreHe's talking only about resolution, and barely anybody owns the 1 III so we can't say it's not as good as those devices. For a device that's barely in anyone's pocket, I think their judgement is quite far ahead. Don't you think 4K is a great feature for a phone? Of course the battery will take a hit because of that but in the past, Sony's 4K phones have good battery life even in such a small, pixel-densed, IPS LCD screens with such small batteries. I do think they're just being hyper critical with this Sony device. I wonder what they'll say about Samsung's and Apple's 4K phones in the future.