Sony Xperia 1 VI
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 VI

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • A
  • Anonymous
  • pdw
  • 10 Jun 2024

Rknight93, 09 Jun 2024This smartphone rivals Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra and Google ... moreIn some departments like camera or body yes. But everything else is better on samsung with google pixel. For example software support, features, zero-day issues and so on.

    • J
    • Jenthe
    • n7e
    • 10 Jun 2024

    Does anyone feel like the volume is just too low. I have to be above 50% to even listen to music.

      This smartphone rivals Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra and Google Pixel One Plus

        • A
        • Abc
        • CBa
        • 09 Jun 2024

        Anonymous, 09 Jun 2024Hey Qbc, I can't answer if the display is better. It&... moreThanks brother for reply in detail,

          • L
          • LucasN82
          • dQT
          • 09 Jun 2024

          Anonymous, 08 Jun 2024They removed the ToF, they removed the led, they removed th... moreToF is not necessary because Sony has the best in class phase detection autofocus system on their cameras. Xperia can do 30 photos per second with tracking and in has very good Autofocus even when you record Video in 4K120fps. Show me af on 120fps on competition devices.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • 3SL
            • 09 Jun 2024

            Anonymous, 08 Jun 2024They removed the ToF, they removed the led, they removed th... moreYOU, if you keep whining without even having one. :)

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • 3SL
              • 09 Jun 2024

              Qbc, 08 Jun 2024Brother my humble Request to you, please reply me,the displ... moreHey Qbc,
              I can't answer if the display is better. It's better than everything I had before. The Bravia branding doesn't seem to only be a marketing gag. It really looks like a big Bravia TV. Colors, motions, they are all the same. So it's really a great display. If the 1V is better or not, I can't tell.

              The only time it heats up (and even with a case) is when you're playing a high demand game with FPS set to 120 (you cat set it in the game enhancer).
              I used the camera quite a lot in the last days. There were never an issue. Even when using the camera non-stop for over 30 minutes it's only slightly warm. And that's in the sun light.
              So I'll guess there is no heating issue this time.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • JeR
                • 08 Jun 2024

                They removed the ToF, they removed the led, they removed the 4k screen, they removed the aptx lossless, what will Sony will remove next ?

                  • Q
                  • Qbc
                  • CBa
                  • 08 Jun 2024

                  Anonymous, 07 Jun 2024So I got my Sony Xperia 1 VI at June 5th. Used it now for 3... moreBrother my humble Request to you, please reply me,the display quality is better then previous model mark v or not and heat up issue,i want to pirchase it

                    • J
                    • Joggometer
                    • JHh
                    • 07 Jun 2024

                    Anonymous, 07 Jun 2024So I got my Sony Xperia 1 VI at June 5th. Used it now for 3... moreThanks for your impressions! Would it be possible to share some full resolution shots from the upgrade tele camera module? No macros, tele shots 3,5 - 7,1x. Coming from the predecessor, Mark V, i'm curious to see if there are enough improvements to reconsider the VI for me.

                    Sadly as much as i loved the Xperia 1 Mark V, tele camera performance was really underwhelming and only really useable in good light.

                      • K
                      • Kuba
                      • uN{
                      • 07 Jun 2024

                      Anonymous, 06 Jun 2024Other people are smarter that's it. Dude bragging abou... moreI still choose Sony made in nice Japan, instead of xiaomi made in hostile China ( and i bet lots of spyware ).

                        • k
                        • kuba
                        • uN{
                        • 07 Jun 2024

                        Best thing about sony is LOW WEIGHT! I really hate S24ultra or iphone pro max, super heavy, hurts my wrist.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • 3SL
                          • 07 Jun 2024

                          So I got my Sony Xperia 1 VI at June 5th. Used it now for 3 days and made many test.

                          Actually I got a much higher GeekBench v6 score than gsmarena (probably because they tested a pre-release model).
                          Single Core: 2221 (which is slightly faster than Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra's 2172)
                          Multi Core: 6693 (slightly slower than S24 Ultra's 6782)
                          GPU OpenCL: 14006
                          GPU Vulkan: 16296

                          The camera is really something. Those amazing telemacro shots from those fancy promo videos... they are real. I could manage to do such photos in seconds. No special equipment required. Amazing.
                          The different camera modules I have to test. RAW photos are around 24MB and it looks like it's the real, untempered sensor input. Needs to be processed with a RAW editor.

                          For those who are concerned with the sdcard speed:
                          With SanDisk Extreme Pro 1TB it's possible to record 4K/120fps directly on the sdcard. Tested and there was no problem. So it must be significantly faster than the sdcard reader of the Xperia 1 V.

                          Battery is not bad either. 2 days is absolutely usual. I used it the first day extensively of course. No rest, display always on and making benchmarks and all, and I got 20% left at around midnight. Next cycle, I charged yesterday and after 16 hours it's 81% full.

                          If you use the performance mode with the gaming app, it's really awesome. The frame rate is stellar. But the heat is really a problem. It gets hot. However, you can set it like you want. For Pokémon Go I set it on battery saving and FPS optimizer off which bring the game down to less than 2 watt average (between 1.3w and 2.9w normally idling at 1.7w).

                          Sound quality is really good. Best phone speakers I ever heard. But of course it's still a phone speaker. I can't really test the sound quality of the 3,5mm jack due to lack of equipment. With the Sony 1000XM5 with cable (passive) it sounds perfect for me. No noise, no crackling, clear high and good low. On the other hand with LDAC wireless on the same headphone, besides NC on, I can't really tell a difference in quality, so someone with a lab test setup could please measure frequency output of the 3,5mm jack. That would be great. Listening and telling how good it is, isn't enough. Everyone likes it different I guess.
                          Sound input is also very good. They don't lie when saying you can make pro like vocal and instrument recordings. The recording app "Music Pro" helps you to easily record your sessions and optimize it. You have your podcast mic with you everywhere.

                          The display is more than enough with FHD+ (which is not just FullHD). Screen is amazing with color, fully adjustable to your likes. Of course I use creator mode. That's how every movie and pro photo is meant to be calibrated. But that's totally a personal preference.

                          I have the original Sony case with a useful stand. No problem when reading NFC tags, the wifi reception is outstanding. I have weak wifi (intentionally set on 12% strength) and I can get better connection than with any other phone I had (and that's a lot from all price categories). 4G/5G need to be determined. As far as I can see it's good. The OnePlus Nord 2 5G and the Cubot King Kong Star doesn't get a 5G signal in my house. The Sony does get a stable 5G connection. Don't know what wizardry Sony did.

                          Downsides:
                          As a normal consumer you will be shocked: No bloatware. That's what consumers demand these days I'll guess. But really, to have basically vanilla Android could be disturbing for some. It feels like a very basic device. Plaster a launcher on it and you will get all the fancy stuff if you want.
                          Taking RAW photos with this device will get you baffled... but not in a good way. Colors are washed out, it's blurry and photos taken with full-auto mode are clearly "better". That's because it's unprocessed. You need to do all on your own with apps like Lightroom. That will get some people shove out bad reviews very soon.
                          The framerate switch is very noticeable when scrolling through the app list e.g. It's like it stuck for a split second. After that it's buttery smooth. The software needs to be adjusted in a future update.
                          At the time, the Pro Video app features are not available. It's said they come with an update later thins year, probably together with Android 15. But that is a bit disappointing and unfortunate. If you get a new device you'll try it how it is now. And for a pro niche device, that's missing the point with pro video software.

                          All in all I'm very happy with the phone. It feels premium, the cameras are awesome with 7.1 telephoto optical zoom and the stellar telemacro mode, the sound is great, the display looks amazing when watching HDR content. The setup with the headphone software was easy and even your ears were measured for the sound model. For me it's worth the money and I'm looking forward to get creative any time with that new camera and with the podcast quality mic.

                            • H
                            • Hrg
                            • snU
                            • 07 Jun 2024

                            Anonymous, 07 Jun 2024If you are sony fan and want sd card/aux yea. otherwise it&... moreNo it is not the worst flagship.
                            It has better chipset than most flagships.

                              • S
                              • SR
                              • mHp
                              • 07 Jun 2024

                              Anonymous, 07 Jun 2024Why should you have issues with charging lol? Fast charg... moreIt's nice to keep power bank all the time, power banks very convenient to charge the phone, available in all sizes even credit card size & capacity to charge the phones 3 or 4 times,

                                Anonymous, 07 Jun 2024If you are sony fan and want sd card/aux yea. otherwise it&... moreyes yes we know that, it is worst device ever, and we know that you like reply yourself.
                                Im testing this device and only VideoPro missing (Video mode is better on 1V) but telephoto macro is trully amazing on sunny day.

                                  Anonymous, 07 Jun 2024Why should you have issues with charging lol? Fast charg... moreSome phones can reach 6-8h on 25% battery. So 30W charger can make that in 10-15min.

                                    • A
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • pdw
                                    • 07 Jun 2024

                                    ok, 06 Jun 2024All my phone is charging show rarely above 10w don't ... moreWhy should you have issues with charging lol?

                                    Fast charging is a must to have nowadays(tech is pretty much so advanced right now). Especially when you are grown up(you will realize that one day). When life gets busy making money sometimes you forget to charge your addiction(phone). It's nice to have phone which can charge fully while you drink your coffee

                                      • A
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • pdw
                                      • 07 Jun 2024

                                      Anonymous, 06 Jun 2024Would you guys recommend this phone?If you are sony fan and want sd card/aux yea. otherwise it's the worst flagship of all phones available.

                                        • T
                                        • Tt2
                                        • pSI
                                        • 07 Jun 2024

                                        T the Tinkerer, 05 Jun 2024Sony phones have only been like that for the last 5-6 years... moreI agree, Sony has kept its aesthetic line even without the slim screen proportions. I still think that Sony knows what they are doing, but there is no perfect manufacturer and everyone has mistakes. Considering the size of Sony's mobile division, I'd say they have the others beat.

                                        But a large number of users are not interested in all this, as well as the fact that when you buy Sony, you get e-sim, front speakers, microSD, headphone output, photo button, aptx lossless, pro alpha cameras, design (subject keys). They need LTPO, which in my opinion does not give significant benefits and has anyone done real tests (Sony can automatically switch to 60 and even 30, which they don't write about). I even think it's right that they refused 4k. I think a lot of what they are doing is right, but which does not agree with a lot of critics. It's just that the market for Sony is different and so are the customers.

                                        However, users vote with their wallets year after year, no matter what they say about Sony. For now, Sony mobile is still holding on. Historically, they need products that shoot up, because there is no mass, it is difficult for them to compensate for losses. Sony has their own path that they stick to.

                                        I'm still using the Sony Xperia XZ1 Compact. My battery is already running out, but the phone is still excellent, but I need to update to a newer OS because some apps are no longer supported. Just the day before yesterday, I bought a Samsung because Sony exceeded my expectations (users burn out on expectations and buy something else). But then the dealer called me and said that they could get an Xperia 1V in Silver color, I took it, but even a case for it is very difficult to get.