Sony Xperia 5 II
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5 II

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

z, 28 Dec 2020Pros: none Cons: sony xperia is a deeaad brandLol please, I see a lot of people are gaining interest in the Xperia nowadays. Even my friends who only use Samsung and Apple are thinking very seriously about buying the new Xperia flagships.

Guys please what's the best phone case - screen protector for this phone? It's difficult to do edge swipes sometimes with the phone case I have. Unfortunately Spigen don't have Tough Armour case for this phone, only rugged armour. Tough armour might have had flatter/angled side which makes edge swiping easier.

  • JJ

Bryce, 27 Dec 2020Pros: - 120 Hz - Equal sounds - Easy to hold in one ha... moreIf your set overheats, there might be a problem with your device. It really doesn't overheat. Yes, it gets warm to the touch when gaming, but that's it

  • Anonymous

tr, 01 Jan 2021how about connections? wifi? 4g 5g? weak? strong? any problems? no problems. Wifi is very good, mobile is ok

  • Jm

Kujtim Zymeri , 02 Jan 2021Liartrue.??+.im so very disappointed about your previous flagship phone sony xperia xz premium.
i bought coz i like it, but suddenly almost 2 years i used it turning on disposable...the finger print is gone and then after weeks,.the screen turned black out..so expensive..blahhh

  • Kujtim Zymeri

A7sii, 29 Dec 2020It doesn't overheat! Stop lieing!...Liar

  • tr

A7sii, 29 Dec 2020It doesn't overheat! Stop lieing!...how about connections? wifi? 4g 5g? weak? strong? any problems?

  • A7sii

Bryce, 27 Dec 2020Pros: - 120 Hz - Equal sounds - Easy to hold in one ha... moreIt doesn't overheat! Stop lieing!...

  • AnonF-964910

Bryce, 27 Dec 2020Pros: - 120 Hz - Equal sounds - Easy to hold in one ha... moreDoes the phone only overheat on gameplay?

  • Anonymous

Pros
Fast
5g
No notch
Headphone jack
Easy to hold and use
Software runs very smooth
3 years of main updates
120hz refresh rate
Battery last well

Cons
Camera can be a bit fiddly to take a excellent shot, mainly due to lack of knowledge of controlling.

I swapped my S20 to this and it feels like a big upgrade due to performance of running

  • z

Pros:
none

Cons:
sony xperia is a deeaad brand

  • Bryce

Pros:

- 120 Hz
- Equal sounds
- Easy to hold in one hand

Cons:
- All games run perfectly and the one game they advertised the phone with (COD Mobile) constantly crashes and gives me the message: System UI stopped working. Very disappointing.

- Extreme overheating.
-Camera tries to make everything look nice and gives a unnatural look.

Kosova, 23 Dec 2020The phone is great, i had it for 48h But te thing that mad... morei heard about network connectivity issues (not connecting or unstable connection when the signal is weaker, though other phones are working fine, overheating and excessive battery drain when transferring data over the network connection) from other sources too. it seems to me as being related to devices bought from UK. other people here with the same complaint?

  • KC

Yes!!!
#SonyXperia has hit the sweet spot around this time with the launch of the Xperia 5ii. Good job and well done.
1st of all, your specs looks good! Stock Android smooth, camera with Alpha α tech.

Pros:
1. 4000mAH battery with 6.1inch with battery endurance rating of 102hrs. Modern smart phone indicator shall be not lesser than endurance rating of 95hrs! Bravo Sony

2. No notch OLED display! 21:9 Cinematic display with 120hz refresh rate. Awesome!

3. Symmetrical design for Top and Bottom bezel / display!

4. Front facing stereo speakers.

5. All rounder camera for professional and everyday needs.

6. Very handy design / compact at 68mm Width.

7. IP 65/68 rating!

8. Nice color selection : especially grey color. Down to personal taste. At least for me.

Cons:
1. No wireless charging!!! Anyway, luckily the juice is big enough at 4000mAH for daily usage.

2. Charging speed or wattage is not big with supplied charger at only 18w.

3. Do not bundle with Sony wireless earphones when launching! You may actually lower down the price for easier possession and purchasing of the public. This is poor marketing idea. At least to save your Sony Mobile division.

  • Kosova

The phone is great, i had it for 48h
But te thing that made me return the phone is, poor network reception.
Battery is great.

  • Lucas N82

joe nodden, 23 Dec 2020What the hell are you talking about.What are you talking about?

Lucas N82, 23 Dec 2020You don't have to explain me the obvious. I worked a ... moreWhat the hell are you talking about.

  • Lucas N82

joe nodden, 22 Dec 20201) It doesn't matter if "Sony shows pixel binning... moreYou don't have to explain me the obvious.
I worked a little with Alpha 9 and 7s2 and 7s3.
Low light is my soul.
:)

  • Lucas N82

Tann Hauser, 22 Dec 2020Hey, Great lowlight shots from your Xperia there. Are th... moredemo unit, initial software ver
Some more samples on yt chn.

Lucas N82, 22 Dec 20201. Sony shows pixel binning first. That tech will never hav... more1) It doesn't matter if "Sony shows pixel binning first", that means literally nothing here. Neither do the patents. Stop sucking Sony off for 3 damn seconds. Honestly.

2) Let's simplify this with an easy to understand example to make it so you can comprehend this. Take a 1 inch sensor with 1024 pixels. Then take a 1 inch sensor with 1048576 pixels. Do you seriously think the fact that the fact that the pixels are over a thousand times bigger in the first sensor is gonna change the fact that we're comparing a 1 kilopixel sensor to a 1 megapixel camera? No. Nothing, at all is better about that kilopixel camera. Any extra photons per pixel in the kilopixel camera do literally nothing at all to help the fact that it's going to produce hideous low light shots.

3) The gsmarena camera benchmarks are shot on some sort of mount, each under exactly the same conditions so they can be accurately compared. The example shots you see in reviews are not because those aren't meant for comparison, they're meant for showing results out on the field.
What you've done is taken those results not meant for comparison, and compared them to your own shots in COMPLETELY different conditions, under completely different control, and of course, with completely different subjects. Your shots actually look worse, but you're lucky I'm not some simple minded cheap person who uses that nonsense to win an argument, because I won't accept those results. This goes both ways, and it's why you test under the exact same conditions. The conditions could have been less ideal for your phone. We will never know because of the method you used to compare them. This is why we use the gsmarena comparison tool.