Sony Xperia 5 II
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5 II

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Lucas N82, 22 Dec 2020Pixell binnig is Sony tech. I saw many test and 108mpx at n... moreHey, Great lowlight shots from your Xperia there.

Are those after the newest update?
Havent tried lowlights in Pro Auto mode after the latest update, they used to be a bit too excessive on exposure so I used my MR mode instead, but maybe they fixed it?
Might be using Auto for lowlights from now on...
On a note tho, I did try out the selfie camera after newest update, and they seem to be much better now.

  • Lucas N82

joe nodden, 22 Dec 20201) Pixel binning isn't just used by Sony. I don't... more1. Sony shows pixel binning first. That tech will never have the same performance as normal RGB (big pixels) sensor. Never. Sony owns many patents, and they showed many innovations as the first in the world.. like:
- Column-Parallel A/D conversion
- Back-illuminated CMOS image sensors
- Stacked CMOS image sensors
- Stacked CMOS image sensor with Cu-Cu connections
- ...and many more
2. My photos were shot at night, auto mode, Photo Pro, from hand.
Some night photos from review of 5II are little strange, like someone have hand-shaking.

Lucas N82, 22 Dec 2020Pixell binnig is Sony tech. I saw many test and 108mpx at n... more1) Pixel binning isn't just used by Sony. I don't know what your point is.

2) You just compared a gsmarena photo with your own under completely different conditions, I used two gsmarena photos under the exact same conditions.

  • Lucas N82

joe nodden, 20 Dec 2020Pixel binning buddy. Gsmarena literally does tests for this... morePixell binnig is Sony tech. I saw many test and 108mpx at night is poor and have heavy noise and very low details.
S20 Ultra ISO400 (night mode):
https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/20/samsung-galaxy-s20-ultra/review/lowlight/gsmarena_153.jpg
They are good when you watch that in 8cm size.
Xperia 5II (ISO800, perfect details, no noise):
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JGHoKgmhZRAt3nb-UhccV8ctss_P2Yth/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1303NuqUQkzt1C3ekQayrkEnHoATkctEJ/view?usp=sharing

  • Lili

This phone is ugly and too expensive

This phone meets all the criteria I want. Light weight, 3.5mm Jack and Powerful Processor too. Only thing I am not sure that it has 3.5mm jack on Top of the phone rather than bottom (along with the charging port). Not sure how comfortable that would be :(

geek-a-contra, 20 Dec 2020i wonder.. do you have a grasp on terms like "performa... moreA Prius gets better miles per gallon than the Lambo, which I guess could be compared to file size here. (That's what I could come up with based on your analogy which you didn't explain at all) But do you think anyone at all is going to go with the Xperia based on the smaller files when they're buying a high end phone with tons of storage.

Luk82, 20 Dec 2020108mpx is worst (than 12mpx) in terms of low light performa... morePixel binning buddy. Gsmarena literally does tests for this stuff and the S20 Ultra looks literally no worse than the Xperia 5 II in the low light test.

  • AnonF-964910

joe nodden, 19 Dec 2020So in other words 108MP sensors are better, and your reason... moreOK FINE yes 108mp sensors are better. I just want a 120hz phone with a headphone jack and a decent camera, OK!

  • Luk82

joe nodden, 19 Dec 2020So in other words 108MP sensors are better, and your reason... more108mpx is worst (than 12mpx) in terms of low light performance. Pixels (in 108mpx sensor) are smaller than 12mpx 5II.

joe nodden, 19 Dec 2020So in other words 108MP sensors are better, and your reason... morei wonder.. do you have a grasp on terms like "performance" and "usefulness" ? yes, a 108, as other people mentioned before, is more performant than a 12, but most users looking at a 4k or, even more, UHD monitor will not distinguish a picture captured with a 108mp sensor for a 12mp one. unless they go pixel peeking. which 99% of regular joe's don't.

ok, you will say: why not use a more performant since it already exists? well, a lamborghini is much more performant than a prius, but, damn!, most people will a buy a prius. guess why: because is more useful and better priced.

AnonF-964910, 19 Dec 2020108mp photos are only really needed for very detail specifi... moreSo in other words 108MP sensors are better, and your reasoning for arguing against me is that "12mp works fine", not better.

  • AnonF-964910

joe nodden, 19 Dec 2020A certain someone wants to deny it.108mp photos are only really needed for very detail specific scenes, which aren't that common. Most people just want a good sunset picture or something and 12mp works fine.

The only reason I would pick this over a S20 Ultra is the headphone jack (as I use IEM's), the more accessible used market price, the BT.2020 tuned display and its improved battery life.

108 megapixels are a nice thing to have, they are just something I can live without.

AnonF-964910, 19 Dec 2020To be fair, you're comparing 12mp with 108mp. Of cours... moreA certain someone wants to deny it.

  • AnonF-964910

Anyways who cares, we're talking about phones. Joe you seem to serious and angry about something that is generally insignificant in world wide effect. Like seriously, "Oh nO thIS phONE HAS leSS cRoPpEd deTAIL, The woRld Is OveR".

  • AnonF-964910

joe nodden, 18 Dec 2020Yep sensor resolution isn't everything. But it's ... moreTo be fair, you're comparing 12mp with 108mp. Of course there is going to be a difference in detail and sharpness on a sensor with 9x the amount of pixels.

joe nodden, 18 Dec 2020Welp you've been proven wrong. End of story.Every xperia 5 2 user complaint that picture not even taken with xperia 5 2 but i can do anything about that. I am wrong virtually.

joe nodden, 18 Dec 2020Yep and did you hear about the Note 8's amazing camera... moreYeah amazing but not the best even in that time. Note 4 vs ip6 is also overkill. Look i didnt mean to hate samsung camera but if you said xperia camera is nothing good i disagree.

Jasson91, 18 Dec 2020Yeah i admit the s20 is better there. Its was a closeup sho... moreWelp you've been proven wrong. End of story.

joe nodden, 18 Dec 2020Yep sensor resolution isn't everything. But it's ... moreYeah i admit the s20 is better there. Its was a closeup shot for pixel peeping dude like you. However i cant believe that was the picture produced by xperia 5 2 like let me have that phone and let me take the picture. I can do it better.🤣