Xiaomi Mi 5s
MORE PICTURES

Xiaomi Mi 5s

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Rami, 27 Oct 2017Any silicon back cover will do the job.. The purpose of it in ... moreThanks again :)

  • Rami

.-Alex-., 27 Oct 2017What case do you recommend? Doesn't matter if it is bulky but dr... moreAny silicon back cover will do the job..
The purpose of it in my opinion is not only to protect the phone when it drops! But more importantly to keep the phone stable in your palm, and in this regard it makes a huge difference in the way you handle the device, as the phone is really slippery and uncomfortable to use without back cover, similar to all current mobile phones made of metal or glass or a combination of the two materials.

Rami, 26 Oct 2017Yes, that's true, I didn't mention it in my review because I use... moreWhat case do you recommend? Doesn't matter if it is bulky but drop resistance is more I want

  • Rami

.-Alex-., 26 Oct 2017There arw many problems in youtube saying these volume and power... moreYes, that's true, I didn't mention it in my review because I use back cover and to me the buttons are completely fine.
Anyway, the buttons are not loose by any means, for example if you shake the phone they will not jiggle or make sound or anything like that.
However, since they are attached to the curved side of the phone the back part of the buttons is more prominent (or more exposed) than the front part and thus they are more able to move a little bit backwards only when they are pushed by fingers, and since the buttons are thin and sharp they're more likely to get stuck with the fingers and make this not so pleasant slight movement, this does not happen during the normal use, I only feel it when I play with the phone with one hand and flip it over repeatedly, (however the movement is sturdy and not loose at all).
Anyway, if you use back cover (which I recommend because the phone is somewhat slippery and uncomfortable to be used without a cover) you'll never feel any of that.
On the other hand, the buttons click very well and the location of the power button is exactly where I want it to be.

Another thing I didn't mention in my previous review is Battery life, before I updated to MIUI 8.5 the battery was very good, but after the update it became a little worse, it's still good enough and can easily last me for a full day of heavy usage and more than two days of lite usage, but again, it's not as long lasting as it was before the update, hopefully this can be fixed with MIUI 9.

mi5s new user (Rami), 25 Oct 2017Hi everyone, I've been using Xiaomi mi 5s for 3 months now and ... moreThere arw many problems in youtube saying these volume and power buttons is kind of annoying that have sound and little loose? Is it isolated phones or all of Mi5s had this?

  • Rami

AnonD-707381, 25 Oct 2017Are the black onscreen bezels noticeable in the black/dark grey ... moreIn the gray/black version nothing unusual can be seen around the display, the whole front of the phone is black, and when the display is turned off you can't tell where the display starts and ends! (unless you are outdoors under the direct sun light).

  • AnonD-707381

mi5s new user (Rami), 25 Oct 2017Hi everyone, I've been using Xiaomi mi 5s for 3 months now and ... moreAre the black onscreen bezels noticeable in the black/dark grey version of the phone?

mi5s new user (Rami), 25 Oct 2017Hi everyone, I've been using Xiaomi mi 5s for 3 months now and ... moreThanks for your review :)

  • mi5s new user (Rami)

Hi everyone,
I've been using Xiaomi mi 5s for 3 months now and it's still as fast and responsive as the first day I received it (in fact it's faster now after MIUI 8.5 update), multitasking is unlike anything I tried before! (Snapdragon 821 is a real beast!)
mine is 128/4 GB grey/black color (which I recommend over silver or gold colors in order to avoid the ugly black borders around the display), and when most apps are opened it still has around 1.5 GB free RAM, and when everything is closed in the background I get around 2.2 GB free RAM.

Few days ago I did GeekBench4 test (after restarting the phone with nothing opened in the background) and got the following scores:
Single core 1821
Multi core 4350
(Note: you will not get the same results if the phone was on charge or has been used for a while before the test, you need to close everything in the background and let the phone rest for a few minutes before performing the Benchmark test in order to get the best results.
I got the same results the first day I received the phone 3 month ago.. so in my opinion the performance is excellent and stable.

The main camera is Excellent too, in daylight conditions it's a bit better than Galaxy A5 2016 (I compared the two many times), and in artificial light conditions it's comparable to A5 2016 and even better in some shots.
the front-facing camera in Xiaomi mi5s is much better than the one in A5 2016 in all lighting conditions!

The display is very sharp very beautiful to look at and very bright, viewing angles and sunlight legibility are very good too.
The Glass covering the display: although not Gorilla glass it's a very high quality glass and better than gorilla glass 4 in terms of smudges resistance, it stays clean and shiny almost all the time (compared to Galaxy A5 2016 with Gorilla glass 4)

Downsides of Xiaomi mi5s:
-fingerprint sensor: not very good, not bad either, to me it's still reliable especially when my hand is not very dry and cold (otherwise the sensor can become very annoying!).
-ambient light sensor: is not as accurate as it should be, many times a day I find myself adjusting the brightness which sometimes gets too dim or too bright in some lighting conditions, hopefully this will be fixed in the next update.
-the external speaker: lacks bass, but still loud and clear nonetheless.
-MIUI updates and android updates in general: while almost all other flagships from last year have already received Android Nougat update long time ago, Xiaomi mi5s is still stuck with Marshmallow and MIUI 8!

Other than these cons the phone in general is excellent, and in the current price range I can't find any better alternative, especially if performance, camera, design and weight are your main priorities!

  • mi5s new user

.-Alex-., 16 Oct 2017Is this good phone overall? Just reading comments here says Heat... moreI've been using the phone for 3 months now (128/4GB), no heating issues after the update (MIUI 8.5) other than the first 30 minutes while on charging, which is normal among phones with fast charging technology, other than charging no overheating what so ever.
In terms of finger print sensor, It has become better after the update (MIUI 8.5) but still not perfect, however, it's good enough for me and I can call it reliable, I noticed that it works much better (like 9/10) in the warm weather when my hand is warm and moisturized, while it gets worse in the colder weather when my hand is dry and cold!

  • mi5s new user

RENAL TARIGAN, 18 Sep 2017Is it too thick to hold while wearing standard spigen case?No, not thick at all!.. it's slim and light weight even with the back cover on, this is one of the main reasons why I chose it over other phones at the same price range.

Somebody tell me if the fingerprint is now fixed

Is the fingerprint bug fix in latest update? How bout the lock and vol buttons it is bit annoying

Nazeer Ahmed , 20 Oct 2017Nope it's very tough and beautiful beast. Thanks I'm gonna buy this phone

Nazeer Ahmed , 20 Oct 2017Nope it's very tough and beautiful beast. Thanks I'm gonna buy this phone

  • Nazeer Ahmed

.-Alex-., 18 Oct 2017I fear that this Mi5s is just like Mi5 in bend test. Mi5 have a ... moreNope it's very tough and beautiful beast.

  • Chakablazy

Been using MI 5s for 2 months now... and i must say its real value for money... I am a heavy gamer, browser and content manager... multitasking is superb.. cleaning out memory tells you how much memory you cleaned. More features that any phone i have come across. My version is 3Gig Mem, 64gig. and it works wonderfully well..

I fear that this Mi5s is just like Mi5 in bend test. Mi5 have a weak design inside and please reply to me if they are identical same at integrity

Flipp, 17 Oct 2017Good phone when running MIUI 9 (Xiaomi EU) but you have to apply... moreHow about heating issues? Is it really good to buy? Durability of phone?

  • Flipp

Good phone when running MIUI 9 (Xiaomi EU) but you have to apply some tweaks in order to get good battery life and good low light camera performance. First, the fingerprint reader is not reliable and does also impose standby battery drain. I have switched off the fingerprint reader to conserve battery. Also, when rooted one can install forcedoze which improve standby battery performance even more. Last night it only dropped 2 percent during 9 hours. The next important tweak is to install the ported Google Camera app . Daylight shots is very good when using the MIUI camera but low light shoots are much better when using Google Camera app and HDR+.