Asus Zenfone 8
MORE PICTURES

Asus Zenfone 8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

samaxy, 26 Jul 2021I have the global version but cannot find the FM Radio app.... moreDownload Next Radio. It's the standard 3rd party FM Radio app.

I have the global version but cannot find the FM Radio app. Is there a factory installed FM Radio app,? Anyone know how to find it? Other than that, its an OK phone, not sure its really worth the AU$1000 I paid for it and its performance is so similar to my Xiaomi Mi9T Pro. But I love the handy size of the device!

iAMe100XP, 24 Jul 2021An IR Blaster, bigger screen, & wireless charging would... moreWhy a bigger screen? The point is on the smaller screen. IP port is ok, wireless charging means again bigger phone.

  • Mala

I'm really disappointed with this model and the North American hype surrounding it.

There are two world versions: A & B. Which model will get couriered to you without your say?

The A model has less network bands than B Band. Even the international version lacks band 13, 700 MHz and 28 MHz LTE-A for supplemental coverage in areas where the 1800 MHz frequency is weak or non-existent.

I say avoid this model.

  • Mala

Dan-dan5, 25 Jul 2021And that's okay. This phone ticks a lot of boxes to be... moreLol. The device ticks a lot of boxes if you're NOT looking for a phone. It's missing quite a few LTE bands such as band 13, 700 mHz and more. The camera is poor in low light. Unless the phone retails for under $300 AUD I would pass on it.

iAMe100XP, 24 Jul 2021An IR Blaster, bigger screen, & wireless charging would... moreAnd that's okay. This phone ticks a lot of boxes to be an excellent phone.

An IR Blaster, bigger screen, & wireless charging would've made this My next phone.

Vic, 16 Jul 2021Try factory reset. It might help. Even if not - I'm su... moreI don't want to factory reset. I already moved all my data and I don't want to do it again. I also wanted to say that with last update both problems have got better. The thermals are much better and the battery with a light use can last for a day and a half with like 5 hours of sot. With a moderate usage it should be enough for a day with the same 5/6 hours. Standby battery consumption has improved but the screen with auto refresh rate (which only goes up to 90Hz) is so power demanding. Maybe the first days it has some problems because of it updating, downloading and transfering files while I was setting it up, i don't know. With a moderate usage it usually drains about 10% every hour, which is not that bad but can be improved imo

Batteries have enough of 7-8 hours of active use. it's horrible. Why produce such a product ???

  • JES

vinfilip, 11 Jul 2021The phone has everything you need. But the battery is the w... more4000 mAh battery in a phone that is smaller than the regular iPhone 12 with its 2800 mAh battery. I don't think they could have done much better on battery size. It's a problem with optimization if a 4000 mAh won't easily make it through the day.

  • Vic

javieralreves, 11 Jul 2021I have used it for a few days and I'm really disappoin... moreTry factory reset. It might help. Even if not - I'm sure that these issues will be fixed with future updates.

Random435, 11 Jul 2021Zenfone 8 vs Samsung galaxy s21, which should i buy (Not c... moreIf the Snapdragon Variant is available on your country, go for the S21. However if that's not the case it would be best to avoid the Exynos version, go for this Zenfone 8.

  • Anonymous

Random435, 11 Jul 2021Zenfone 8 vs Samsung galaxy s21, which should i buy (Not c... moreBut if you love displays then go for the S21

  • Anonymous

Random435, 11 Jul 2021Zenfone 8 vs Samsung galaxy s21, which should i buy (Not c... moreI think the Zenfone 8 is a better deal but you have to deal with the 88h enduran rating

  • Random435

Zenfone 8 vs Samsung galaxy s21, which should i buy
(Not considering the difference in price )

I have used it for a few days and I'm really disappointed. I hate two things about it:

1. Battery life is absolutely trash. I can only get 3/4 hours sot with auto refresh rate and light use. Bluetooth and location are disabled. Standby drain is also bad. After some research I read that someone discovered that the phone would never enter "deep doze" mode, so idle battery conssumption is horrible (While not using my phone it went from 54 to 50 % in 15 minutes). While sleeping it's not that bad tho, maybe it just needs more time to enter that "deep doze mode" (this night it went from 84 to 77 % in 7 hours).

2. It seriously overheats a lot. I don't play games nor use the camera, it just starts heating out of nowhere. Even while not using it, the top part of the device will randomly heat. I didn't measure temperature but I think it gets up to 40/45°C. This obviously affects the battery making it drain even faster.

I hope these issues can be solved with software updates because the rest of the phone is almost perfect. I love the design, the speakers and the screen, and the fingerprint sensor is not as bad as some people said here.

  • vinfilip

The phone has everything you need. But the battery is the weak spot for this phone. I was ready to buy it but cause of the battery I won't. Next time asus put put 90hz screen and bigger battery Please.

gringo, 09 Jul 2021but ... FM radio in all smartphones uses bluetooth chip in ... moreLol, who thought you that? There is no such thing as 'your Bluetooth is always ON' when using FM Radio. In fact, FM Radio NEVER works with Bluetooth at all. Always remember that FM Radio has its own dedicated chip and never shared with Bluetooth at all.

  • gringo

YUKI93, 01 Jul 2021"Why not just use internet FM streams instead?" L... morebut ... FM radio in all smartphones uses bluetooth chip in the background to work ! So remember this when you open the FM
radio, your bluetooth is always ON (you can check this in init.fm.sh at /vendor/bin)

I have been a loyal ASUS Zenfone customer since 2015 starting with two Zenfone 2, then two 2E, then a 4, and then then two 5z. But now that Zenfone 8 and ASUS Rog 5 have no expandable microSD slot, this is a deal breaker. I will go for Sony Xperia 1 III instead.