HTC Desire HD
MORE PICTURES

HTC Desire HD

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

0v0, 24 Oct 2010when i click on the link provided, i get this; Oops... Blog Not Foundmeans u get virus ^_^

  • Anonymous

t, 24 Oct 2010Galaxy s is a much better fone especially with froyo and lag fix... moreThe biggest problem of Galaxy s is.... Samsung!!
Support is bad.
Where is 2.2 for galaxy s yet???

  • Anonymous

shmaz, 23 Oct 2010Brought the phone 2 days ago and haven't been able to use it as ... moreThere is already an update from HTC that solves this problem.

  • t

Galaxy s is a much better fone especially with froyo and lag fix

front facing camera
bluetooth 3.0
samoled screen
better battery
30frps hd recording
8Gig
hummingbird processor proven to be twice as powerful

only thing htc desire has over the galaxy s is a bit more ram and a better camera

do spec Comparison on gsmarena and see for yourself,and galaxy s2 is out early next year and the htc hd cant even beat the galaxy 1. Tech specs are fact go compare

  • 0v0

Anonymous, 24 Oct 2010Gartner Inc. predicts Andr(av)oid will surge to 14% of the globa... morewhen i click on the link provided, i get this;
Oops... Blog Not Found

  • 0v0

Veer, 24 Oct 2010I am planin to buy a smart phone and in a dilemma between Nokia ... moreif you are looking for Camera, then N8.
if you are looking for big screen, then HTC DHD.
if you are looking for lite in weight, then Samsung Galaxy S.

  • Anonymous

Gartner Inc. predicts Andr(av)oid will surge to 14% of the global smartphone market in 2012 ahead of the iPhone, as well as Windows Mobile and BlackBerry smartphones.
In 2012 market will be
Symbian: 203 million handsets, 39 percent of the market; Google Android: 76 million handsets, 14.5 percent of the market; Apple iPhone OS: 71.5 million handsets, 13.7 percent of the market; Windows Mobile: 66.8 million handsets, 12.8 percent of the market; RIM BlackBerry OS: 65.25 million handsets, 12.5 percent of the market; Linux variants: 28 million handsets, 5.4 percent of the market; Palm webOS: 11 million handsets, 2.1 percent of the market.


Database giant Oracle has launched a legal action against Google, alleging that the company infringes seven patents it owns related to Java.
Eric Schmidt, the CEO of Google, was formerly a chief technical officer for Sun Microsystems. Sun Microsystems was bought by Oracle.
The move is interesting because when Sun Microsystems was a separate entity it promoted Java as an open source option.
Google never formally took out a licence from Sun Microsystems, while Java is widely used in a large number of applications created by other vendors. The law suit will cause other manufacturers to wonder whether Oracle will start a patent hunt against them.
The move prompted the Wall Street Journal to remind its readers that Larry Ellison, the CEO of Oracle, is a friend of Steve Jobs, the CEO of Apple.
Apple considers Android to be a considerable threat to the iPhone and the Google OS continues to grow its market share as an OS for smartphones.



Java deal between IBM and Oracle is threatening to damage the Android

For the reading pleasure of all trespassing Andr(av)oid
fans here... And also other mob fans are welcome to read.
http://www.zdnet.com/blog/open...ailures/7591


So PeoPLe dont go for andr(av)oid ... always stay away from it.. U will be left alone in the future...

  • Veer

I am planin to buy a smart phone and in a dilemma between Nokia N8, Samsung Galaxy S and HTC Desire HD. Can u guys who own these suggest something . It would be of gr8 Help. Thanks..........

  • 0v0

Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for the great review. your effort is highly appreciated.
Well, i was really shocked about the speaker....So the build-in speaker is not that strong.

I have some Q plz:
1)- It has 1,5 GB storage and 764RAM. Any idea how much is ROm since it is not mentioned?

Regards

  • andrew

HTC Desire HD Review

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OeWoRwqmSQA

  • Paul from the Neths.

Real, 24 Oct 2010if you work in an office requiring a suit jacket then this phone... moreYou've right about the signal problems by the legend, i had a Legend before i bought the DHD. I must say that the receivingsignal is better at this one. I have all the 5 bars and sometimes 3 or 4 but not less. With the Legend sometimes it went down to 2 or 1, but had never problems of losing connection during calls or so.

  • Real

if you work in an office requiring a suit jacket then this phone is ideal to put on the inside pocket,you dont really want this device in your trouser/jeans pocket, it will feel uncomfortable, not a bad camera & video quality is ok.
you really need to think about how much you will be using the phone on a daily basis,personally i think they should have given us more battery power with this 1, especially if you are a commuter on trains etc wanting to browse apps-read & send e-mails-watch a clip on youtube etc. we all have different needs for our handsets, but lets not forget that this is 1st & foremost a communication device, so the main thing is that you have a good signal right? well i happen to like htc, however, my experience is that the signal is not always as good as it should be, if you owned an htc legend-you'll know what im talking about-although the legend is the most gorgeous phone ive ever seen. if you want a feature phone that does everything at a good price-then the nokia n8 will keep you happy for 2011, then at christmas you can upgrade to the next best feature phone coming out - ready to be ahead of the game once again in 2012-trust me.

  • Paul from the Nether

Nacho, 23 Oct 2010Someone know about the Proximity sensor !!!! Because there ar... moreNo problems with it and not heard about this problem in Holland. What i read about this: some say that the screen freezes or locked itself during a call towards a fault in the lightsensor (proximity). If this is a bug (what they call it) then all the released phones must have this problem. I think it's just a false rumour, i don't know.

  • Paul from the Nether

Someone know about the Proximity sensor !!!!

Because there are some news about that in xda that freeze the phone, all are returned the phone in Europe...!!!

No problems with it and not heard about this problem in Holland. What i read about this: some say that the screen freezes or locked itself during a call towards a fault in the lightsensor (proximity). If this is a bug (what they call it) then all the released phones must have this problem. I think it's just a false rumour, i don't know.

  • Paul from the Neths

Here it is as promised.
HANDS ON REVIEW AFTER ONE WEEK USE:

Got this baby since the release (Vodafone only, rest follows later this month) at Saturday 16th october in the Netherlands. My version is darkbrown or darkbronze, a very attractive color. There are speculations that also a black version is coming/available, this is not true. Mark Moons (HTC director Benelux) says that there is only one color (darkbrown or black are just the same and is a misunderstanding that was spreading in the world).

Unboxing:
The Desire HD comes in a very little box with a adapter, usb cable, stereo earphones, battery, 8gb microsd cart and the guidebooks (quickstart gides).

First inpression out of the box:
Yes this phone is big with his 4,3" screen, but it's feeling comfortable and just fine in my hand. The build quality is outstanding. This is one piece quality of engineering and virtue. Much better than the Samsung Galaxy that my brother have.

Screen:
Just fantastic! It's bright and clear, beautiful colors, huge of dimensions and very good responding. Maybe not so sharp as Amoled, but worser?....no!!

Adroid 2.2 Froyo let's start this baby:
WOW! this baby is fast and very intuitive. The UI is as we all know very clear and easy to change with widgets and programs. There are 7 screens to change at your own wishes but i rather like more (maybe a application in the future will change that).
The web browser with Flash 10.1 works extremely well.
The 1GHz MSM8255 processor and big 768mb RAM does a great job. Installing, opening and closing goes fast, fluently and fault-free. GREAT!

Graphic processor (just a few words):
The Adreno graphic 205 processor is absolutely great! Much better than the 200 out of the normal Desire. And out from the benchmarks even better than the Samsung Galaxy S. Playing 3D games on it is fabolous, again fluently and without hesitations. GREAT!

Camera:
The 8mp camera does a good job. Pics made at daylight are very good, but at twilight (less lightning) you'll get some noise. The double LEDflash works well but not so good as a Xenonflash. Pics made at night with the flash had still some noise.

GPS premium navigation:
I tested the 30days free trail premium navigation just installed on this phone. It works very fast and is re-calculating rapidly. The spoken navigation is clear and you can choose from several voices (men or women). Speedwarnings, speedcamera's and traffic diversions is all there. Don't know what it costs after the 30 days free trail, but it works great.

Music player:
Just plugged in my AKG K319 earphones (strange enough at the bottom) and listen, it sounds great, especially with dolby SRS enabled. Rich of detail and very crispy. Unfortunately the sound of the internal speaker is not so good. It goes not so loud, less bass and therefore it sounds a bit shrill. Shame, the speaker of the Legend i had before wasn't good either. I expected better now on this Desire HD.

Calling:
No problems over here. Reception quality is good (but that is provider dependent). Conversations sounds good, clear and very audible. The built in Dualmic noise cancelling works great. Never had a cellularphone before that sounds so crisp during calls. No backgroundnoise at all during calls. FINE!

Battery stand-by time:
The battery isn't so bad as we all thought at would be. I have this phone now 7 days and the accu last 1 and a half day day at REGULARITY use! After a few weeks and re-chargings i think this can be screwed up to 2 days. Loading of the battery takes less then 2 hours.

Conclusion pro and cons:
+ Outstanding build quality.
+ Fantastic big 4,3" screen, clear with beautiful colors and very fast responding.
+ Good 8mp camera.
+ Very quick 1ghz processor.
+ Suburb graphic processor.
+ Good and easy to use UI.
+ Battery isn't bad at all.

- Loudspeaker isn't loud, less bass and sounds scrill.
- A bit too heavy and too big for some.
- Flash isn't great even it's a double LED one.
- Earphones connection at the bottom.

  • rapid

Yes the update wont fix low sound from phone. Yes we all know that it sounds great WITH headphones. but i like to steam or listen things from the phone.
speaker needs to be much louder.

  • Nacho

shmaz, 23 Oct 2010Brought the phone 2 days ago and haven't been able to use it as ... moreYes I read the same in a lot of forum....
.........And HTC made an update, but the problem continius

  • rapid

In built speaker is very poor, very poor sound from internal speaker.

  • Nacho

Someone know about the Proximity sensor !!!!

Because there are some news about that in xda that freeze the phone, all are returned the phone in Europe...!!!

  • bharat

[deleted post]sorry ,i mean desire hd