LG Wing 5G
MORE PICTURES

LG Wing 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Rareart1, 22 Sep 2020 Questions: why does the bottom part have ugly bezels/chamf... moreYou should make a phone, and lets see how it turns out... keep me posted.

  • John

joe nodden, 20 Sep 2020Then disprove me. Disprove you? Easy.

(1)
>"You linked two Unbox Therapy videos where he uses the Wing and you said "What's there to like about this? A lot.". Meaning if he mentions the camera as something to like, that's your point, not mine. So you're saying the camera is something to like. So why on Earth would you now say that "Not everyone is a ... mobile filmmaker" when one of your points was literally the camera. That's so unbelievably contradictory."

Contradictory my bottom! Mobile filmmakers don't only use the phone itself to record movie. They use a bunch of additional gears to get the best out of the smartphone camera. Here's an example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ycpqv36s0Fg

The camera is more than enough for anyone who only shoots daily vlog for YouTube or Facebook or whatever and frequently uses a gimbal to leave that tool behind and only use this Wing 5G to vlog. Even I would do it since I can see huge potential for social media live streaming.

(2)
I'm not a mobile gamer myself, so I wouldn't comment on anything about that. That's your own personal opinion.

(3)
"It's beyond simple to just tap the screen and access the buttons and bar the same way."

Lol, I HATE tapping the screen and access the buttons and bar. It's totally ruining my video experience. I want to only see THE video, not a bunch of controls on the bottom. That is why I always watch videos in Picture-in-Picture mode as I don't have to worry about all those controls. After seeing how YouTube works on the Wing 5G, I've so gotta have one of that! It's intuitively exciting!

(4)
"You're not supposed to be using your phone constantly while driving. People like you are the reason fatal car crashes happen every 30 seconds."

I'm with YUKI93 about Google Maps and call integration thing. If you use your phone on hand while driving, that is for sure dangerous. But since YUKI93 mentions phone stand, I'm totally siding him. You can even use the voice assistant from the phone and ask it to do something for you. I've always hooked up my Google Pixel 3 with a phone stand in my car and only use Google Assistant to interact. Definitely a total hands-free driving right there.

  • John

Rareart1, 22 Sep 2020 Questions: why does the bottom part have ugly bezels/chamf... more"Why doesn't the SoC in this have 802.11 ax/ WiFi 6 COMM ?"

How incredibly boring and nerdy you have to be to even ask a question that literally no one cares about?!

Questions: why does the bottom part have ugly bezels/chamfers? Why doesn't this have a 3.5 mm headphone input? Why doesn't the SoC in this have 802.11 ax/ WiFi 6 COMM ? Why has lg made this waste of time product?

Anonymous, 20 Sep 2020This is an essay of total nonsense. I'm totally having... moreThen disprove me.

  • Anonymous

joe nodden, 20 Sep 2020Wow I have, the thing used for navigation. I love how yo... more"...because you know you are wrong."

Lol, the desperation is real. 😏

  • Anonymous

joe nodden, 20 Sep 2020> "Not everyone is a ... mobile filmmaker" ... moreThis is an essay of total nonsense. I'm totally having a mindf*** just to understand your point!

YUKI93, 20 Sep 2020"You're not supposed to be using your phone const... moreWow I have, the thing used for navigation.

I love how your response has been reduced to just this because you know you're wrong.

  • Helya

It may look silly but it's the most practical dual screen phone. Give it some time and app developers will make software for this particular design and make it really functional.

joe nodden, 20 Sep 2020> "Not everyone is a ... mobile filmmaker" ... more"You're not supposed to be using your phone constantly while driving."

Ever heard of this one great invention called "phone stand"? I bet you never heard of it. 😏

YUKI93, 19 Sep 2020> "...but they still only have a weak 765G in here ... more> "Not everyone is a ... mobile filmmaker"

You linked two Unbox Therapy videos where he uses the Wing and you said "What's there to like about this? A lot.". Meaning if he mentions the camera as something to like, that's your point, not mine. So you're saying the camera is something to like. So why on Earth would you now say that "Not everyone is a ... mobile filmmaker" when one of your points was literally the camera. That's so unbelievably contradictory.

> "Not everyone is a hardcore mobile gamer"

Apparently not everyone can read either because my reply RIGHT AFTER THAT ONE, that you could've read, gave a response to that. This is it, because apparently you can't read,
""unless you're a hardcore gamer, high refresh displays on phones are vastly overrated." Wow I've never seen so much wrong in one sentence. (1) If you're a hardcore gamer, you're not using a dang mobile phone. You're using a PC. (2) So if "hardcore gamers" aren't the intended customers of high refresh rate display equipped phones, who are? You guessed it, everybody else who doesn't want a slow phone for general usage."

This chipset is not fast at all. It's not even competition for the 845 you mentioned, no go back another year, it's more competition for the 835, released 3.5 years ago. Which, yes, works. But as I've said in other replies on this website which you clearly use 24/7, not everyone wants to just have something that works. 15 fps works, but do you want to use that? No. 30 fps works, but do you want to use that? No. 60 fps works, but does everyone want to use that instead of 120? No. Some people want better, EVEN for general usage. (Get that through your skull already) And the 765G just isn't capable of 120 fps consistently. Not all phones are like a OnePlus phone with OxygenOS. Most have poorly optimized OSes. Meaning a better chipset will make it so certain stutters are either less bad or don't happen.

> "Having the video only to show at the top screen and all the controls on the second screen is useless?"

Ooooo yet another situation where you don't know how to properly read. Stop making me repeat myself. "It's beyond simple to just tap the screen and access the buttons and bar the same way."

> "Well that makes the Google Maps navigation on large screen and call receiving on the smaller screen is pretty useless then, even if you are not an Uber driver."

You're not supposed to be using your phone constantly while driving. People like you are the reason fatal car crashes happen every 30 seconds. Navigation is somewhat alright, however there's little reason to be taking calls while driving. If it's something that important you can always pull over. If it's not important enough to pull over it's not important enough to answer.

  • Derabi

This phone is also a great action cam. Think skaters and canvassers.

  • Anonymous

Question.
Why is "joe nodden" complaining on every phone that he/she has never used?
Never had an experience on using dual screen phone but speaking >1 screen is useless lol. Kind of nonsense. Everyone use V60 with their two thumbs.
You don't use 2 mouse on the same computer, but absolutely you can control 2 different apps on 2 screen with 2 thumb simultaneously while using LG's dual screen.

joe nodden, 18 Sep 2020Ok sure, the way the cameras function is amazing, but they ... more> "...but they still only have a weak 765G in here capable of a mere 4k30."

Not everyone is a hardcore mobile gamer or mobile filmmaker who needs the fastest chipset or the highest video recording resolution possible. For most people, that is just about the most powerful chipset for daily use and I definitely don't mind about it. You could argue that a two-year-old flagship chipset is still relevant to this day (which I can agree), but it doesn't have the efficiency of newer chipsets.

> "...why would you ever use the wing functionality. The YouTube function is useless."

Having the video only to show at the top screen and all the controls on the second screen is useless? Weird flex, but ok. Well that makes the Google Maps navigation on large screen and call receiving on the smaller screen is pretty useless then, even if you are not an Uber driver.

LG Wing 5G Second display!!!

cincyreds62, 18 Sep 2020the phone is not "abysmal" ... it's obviousl... more"it's obviously not targeted toward you." Nor towards anyone else. I guarantee if you get this phone you're rarely gonna use that second display, only as a party trick.

"unless you're a hardcore gamer, high refresh displays on phones are vastly overrated." Wow I've never seen so much wrong in one sentence. (1) If you're a hardcore gamer, you're not using a dang mobile phone. You're using a PC. (2) So if "hardcore gamers" aren't the intended customers of high refresh rate display equipped phones, who are? You guessed it, everybody else who doesn't want a slow phone for general usage.

"I'll take better battery life over a high refresh display any day." Well too bad you aren't getting either on this phone. 4000 is the bare minimum these days. Lol. Why would you ever bring up the battery life when that hurts your argument.

"it's obvious they had to compromise some of the specs to keep this phone a reasonable size and weight and a reasonable price." Ok I changed my mind on that other sentence. I've never seen anything more wrong in a single sentence than what I see here. (1) 260g makes it one of the heaviest phones ever. Only phones with fully fledged, about 8 inch second displays come in heavier. This thing has a teeny tiny 3.9 inch second display. (2) Reasonable size? 10.9 mm in thickness is not reasonable at all, once again, one of the thickest phones, only coming in thinner than phones that literally fold. Like the Mate Xs. Though even that's only a tenth of a millimeter thicker. That's right, a mere tenth of one. And the other dimensions are all way bigger than normal thanks to the big display which personally I don't have a problem with, but then again, I'm not the one bringing up the dimensions as a pro. (3) Wow I didn't realize $2000 was reasonable. Lemme just go work 200 hours at my job to afford this "reasonable" price. Meanwhile working 50 hours would give me enough for a phone with a literally over twice as fast SD865.

YUKI93, 18 Sep 2020What's there to like about this? A lot. - https://y... moreOk sure, the way the cameras function is amazing, but they still only have a weak 765G in here capable of a mere 4k30. So pretty much kills the main selling point. Kinda exactly like what happened with the Vivo X50 Pro. All that hype around the camera just to cripple it with a 765G. And other than the camera functionality, why would you ever use the wing functionality. The YouTube function is useless. It's beyond simple to just tap the screen and access the buttons and bar the same way. The multi task feature is rarely going to end up being used. This isn't a PC. The full screen keyboard thing is useless because it's still too small to use all fingers, but too big to comfortably use two thumbs.

userbenchmark, 18 Sep 2020wat I didn't even say it's bad it's a cool... moreNo I wasn't talking about you I was talking about Joe Nodden.

Chris, 17 Sep 2020I have the LG V60 thinq 5g dual screen and it's great ... moreI wouldn't say failed after seeing reviews with this phone. This isn't geared towards productivity like the DualScreen case. I can see a bright opportunity for mobile vloggers who loves to record or live stream a lot of videos using the smartphone. The Gimbal Camera feature alone makes me deeply want to have this Wing despite currently owning a V50 with the DualScreen case.

joe nodden, 16 Sep 2020Abysmal. Useless rotating screen. Slow 765G. Not even a hig... moreWhat's there to like about this? A lot.

- https://youtu.be/x4eHK6KWobA
- https://youtu.be/3zR_j_o5ag8