Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Kris

Carol, 06 Aug 2013:)). Yeah, i forgot that the tv needs also an hdmi port:)). Woul... moreHi Carol?

I can't download Skype in my N8. Do you have any idea why its not happen?

  • Datu

AnonD-172944, 06 Aug 2013Can the Operating system of Nokia N8 be upgraded to Android OS?No android wont work on nokia n8

  • Mannix

Stupid me, 05 Aug 2013You need to check out some Android owners and see what they thin... moreN@QK I absolutely agree with you, i had Android 4.2 jelly beans it was nice and have millions of nice apps through google play and other androids markets for free bt what make N8 beat them all is its capability,its face,its camera bt what made me crazy is it Tv out and FM transmission which u can play your music in any hi fi radio within range another thing is its picture clarity and you can watch full movie on ur phone and still enjoys bt the only thing it disappointed me is its audio volume when using norm earphone it luck that base and another things is its unremovable batt when one needs some back up batt. But it's a phone one of its kind and affordable i wonder why Nokia stopped it production and jumped to the most disappointing Lumia which lacks touch and break down any minute!

  • Mannix

Carol, 06 Aug 2013Let me tell you my experiences with movies and N8. Lods of time ... moreCarol i was eager to know if i can play on line movie on my big screen using HDMI cable bt my concern now is how costly it is or how many mb goes per minute when watching on line?

Carol, 06 Aug 2013:)). Yeah, i forgot that the tv needs also an hdmi port:)). Woul... moreHey, WOW, you just made my night! I connected my phone to the TV in my room (anyone reading this, yellow is "video" and the other two are "audio") and played Rally Master Pro for an hour. Managed to break some records too. :-D
Games with accelerometer make much more sense when the whole screen isn't moving. :-)

  • Stupid me

MdN, 06 Aug 2013Well, the whole map of my country takes just 192 MB :-) that's l... moreAha! You had me fascinated about how you found out the size of your map. Well I slo-o-owly figured it out after some hours :-) and fruitlessly looking all over the phone. All I had to do was go through the process again, as if I was downloading them and voila! So we're looking at a mere 17mb. All my four maps together total 116mb(less than your country). So, I'm paying a little more attention to mb & gb now even though my concept of them is rather vague.

Seems to me that this little "beast" as someone called it, has enough memory to hold quite a number of maps, plus a ton load of apps and games and a few videos thrown in. Don't think I can ever fill it! Hope you find your stereo recorder app. Hey! I am totally dependent on the sound recorder. Can't read a note of music. I wish there was an app that can could tell you the note and the chord for it.

  • Carol

MdN, 06 Aug 2013Sounds like fun! :-) I need more than one cable, though - I have... more:)). Yeah, i forgot that the tv needs also an hdmi port:)). Would be interesting to play a bit. i also played games on the big screen. Does a nice job, just one bug is that you don't feel what the hack are you pressing. So only games like NFS can be played without problems, at least until you get used to...

  • Carol

Stupid me, 06 Aug 2013I found the maps on my own last night:-). I tapped on the maps i... moreOk, then my offer is off:))). Anyways, 2 mb one map?:))). That's funny

  • Carol

AnonD-172944, 06 Aug 2013Can the Operating system of Nokia N8 be upgraded to Android OS?Nope, there is no way to do that...

  • Stupid me

MdN, 06 Aug 2013Well, the whole map of my country takes just 192 MB :-) that's l... moreHow can I find out the size of my maps?? When I tap on them, nothing happens. When I hold down, it asks if to delete. I think maybe there is value in monitoring the size of things I import into the phone. Never gave any consideration to that before.

Oooooh! You are into music in a big way! That's great! I came across a good tuner but it is Android. If I can get it onto the PC and try to transfer onto the N8, it will probably be rejected :-(. Have you ever tried to do things like that?

Carol, 06 Aug 2013Let me tell you my experiences with movies and N8. Lods of time ... moreSounds like fun! :-) I need more than one cable, though - I have the hdmi. I also got the other one as a present (3.5 mm to that three-plug RGB). However, my parents have an old Philips TV with nothing but Scart on it and I can't show them anything until I get an adapter for that too. I guess I'll have to visit eBay soon. :-)

AnonD-172944, 06 Aug 2013Can the Operating system of Nokia N8 be upgraded to Android OS?No. Maybe if Nokia unlocks the bootloaders, but still, 680 MHz is very much enough for Symbian, but not enough for an Android downgrade.

  • Stupid me

Carol, 06 Aug 2013Yeah, sounds like new after a factory reset:)). Anyway, to see w... moreI found the maps on my own last night:-). I tapped on the maps icon which opened straight into the satellite map. Then I tapped the middle widget on the bottom bar that opens to the choices of view (satellite, map or terrain etc), then they're there under "map loader" when you tap "extras" (of all things!). I always bypassed extras. The 4th one is not an island as I thought. It is Surinam. It should be interesting to add up all the mbs and get a grand total. Anyway, I think I'll delete the randomly picked ones - have no intentions of going there. That should leave T'dad - just about the size of Netkin - 2mb :-), a real postage stamp!! Bet I'll remember now how to find my maps!!!

Oh yes! They are already "updated". I did that when MdN posted that updates were available (prior to me going on my voice navigation jaunt). However, I don't think anything was changed here - not worth their while. For instance, it was forever sending me on the Priority Bus Route. All the natives know we are not allowed there. Go on it and you'll get charged. But it was an entertaining experience.

Thanks for the offer to come and help:-) and to switch places. You will DIE OF BOREDOM after a week :-):-):-):-). No joke!!!


  • AnonD-172944

Can the Operating system of Nokia N8 be upgraded to Android OS?

  • Tepee

Can the Android Operating system work on this Nokia?

  • Carol

MdN, 06 Aug 2013Well, the whole map of my country takes just 192 MB :-) that's l... moreLet me tell you my experiences with movies and N8. Lods of time i had to sleep over in other parts of the country. No pc no fun for me:)). So after some boring nights, i decided to take my hdmi adapter with, just in case. And what do you know. I watched online movies on tv through my phone. GREAT. No more boring nights when i'm gone:)). Quality? Good, quite good for online movies. Lags? Cause some sites are very big, you can have a slow experience and you will need some patience but after the movie is set to go, does not lag or stop anymore. Only if the connection is weak. Do i do it now? Everytime i get the chance. Better then copying movies to it. Though there is the option with the stick, but... Is to much to carry. One cable is enough:)...

  • Carol

Stupid me, 05 Aug 2013That makes 2 of us scratching our heads in puzzlement!!! I have ... moreYeah, sounds like new after a factory reset:)). Anyway, to see what maps you have installed, you will need to look for maps loader. In belle that is in: enter maps/options/map loader. There you go, you have your installed maps there... Anyway, if the island and the other countries are small, you maybe have no problems, just very small maps:)). You can update maps to. So, search for update after flashing with the new system. Maybe they will work better.

P.S. If you cannot manage to set your device. I will come there no problem, and help you. If you move f you move in my place and i move to the island:))). Joke, have a nice day... And more guts:) handeling your device.

Stupid me, 05 Aug 2013That makes 2 of us scratching our heads in puzzlement!!! I have ... moreWell, the whole map of my country takes just 192 MB :-) that's less that one movie, for example. Yep, I watch movies on my N8 too, started once I was sick and couldn't bother to sit in front of my PC and I just got used to it.

I'll recommend some other apps once you have Belle, some of them might not work on what you have now. Just a few sweet and simple ones to make everything easier for starters. I have around 100 apps and games, but I installed them in the course of a few months so they weren't too much at once.

Good recommendations btw. We all need our phones for different purposes. I need the sound recorder too, if I get an idea on guitar for my next album I just record it quickly, better than looking for note paper and writing it down. Good for ambient recordings too, but I'm still looking for a sound recorder app capable of recording stereo as it has 2 microphones.

Some other points why I like the N8... the AMOLED clock! I can see where my phone is any time of the night. The wrist strap eyelet, mandatory if I'm taking photos near water (just to be safe) :-) Data control, I have limited data so if I need to do something outside where I don't have wifi, Symbian won't go and download any updates, notifications etc unless I allow it. Great design, fits well in my hand (I have a TPU case too). And it's a classic, sort of like buying that BMW you always wanted, now that it's cheaper, instead of getting a nice little brand new Hyundai for the same money. :-)

Carol, 05 Aug 2013This happens with original browser and some strange conflicts wi... moreI guess it's one of those wonders of modern electronic where big things work and small don't. :-)

  • Stupid me

Carol, 05 Aug 2013Yeah, is good, quite very good. But... from what you say about m... moreThat makes 2 of us scratching our heads in puzzlement!!! I have 4 maps but used only one so far, T'dad. I have Venezuela, Jamaica, T'dad and I can't remember the other island. 3 of them are little match boxes. Only Venezuela may have some size. I will have to go through the phone again to find the list because I already forgot where I saw them listed the first time. Just to make sure, I just checked and my house is still there :-). You had me wondering if I deleted them when I was fiddling.

I'm telling you, my phone is empty! I transferred all my photos, the one video I took and all my recordings to my PC. I backed up my contacts. I only have to get a hard copy of the Belle thing printed and have not gotten back to the mall yet. You said the computer will shut down and I want to be prepared for that. We never hurry here, you know! That is island life. Plus, I am naturally SLOW`!

The only apps I have installed are: You Tube, Skype, Fring (which I have never used), App Stop, Opera Mini, Netqin and 2 stupid guitar tuners. Those can't fill a thimble. And I am telling you - I have 14gb on the mass memory and went from 109 to 129mb on the phone memory. Don't ask me how! That is Nokia magic!!!