Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Carol

MdN, 05 Aug 2013This is weird. I get the same warning when I go to Facebook (Fac... moreThis happens with original browser and some strange conflicts with time and date. I had this certificate thing to, but never had it after installed and used opera mobile... Anyway, what is 80% clear, is that it comes from time and date. WHY? I don't know.

  • Carol

Stupid me, 05 Aug 2013You need to check out some Android owners and see what they thin... moreYeah, is good, quite very good. But... from what you say about maps and from what i remember you said about your mass memory and it's available space i think you don't have any map installed. So, tell me one more time, how much space do you have left on your mass mem? Cause if you have 14 gb or just a bit less. That means you don't have maps installed. You have only the apps but no maps:). So that can be also solving your problems with maps... you don't have them:). Also, keep in mind that after factory reset and belle installing (i wander when??) you will need to download maps again:).

  • Carol

Stupid me, 05 Aug 2013Carol & MdN Since a few days ago, whenever I use the phon... more:). Belle can update even if you have 10 mb space left, really does not matter, but a factory reset i still recommend to do. You don't need an antivirus, really! I never had one, never used one. And i use Symbian since 2003, never head one virus.

  • Carol

MdN, 05 Aug 2013:-) Just something I accidentally found on the internet, but it ... moreYeah, good find. Though i had only like 700kb freed. It is still good to know there is something else to clean:).

  • Stupid me

Subu, 05 Aug 2013Dear, Hoping to purchase N8 is it good than an android phone?... moreYou need to check out some Android owners and see what they think about their phones, especially the alternative to N8 that you have in mind. You need to really consider what is important to you in a phone because not even the most expensive phone is 100% satisfactory otherwise they would not be introducing new models every year to tantalize you!

I only know about the N8 and here it is from a clueless person:
1. It is value for money because of its versatility.
2. It is sturdy and to me, attractive.
3. With its decent size memory, you can install a fair amount of apps.
4. You can maximize on storage by not only using memory cards but also flash drives to store things like your documents, photos and music. That's separate and apart from your computer storage.
5. You can get GPS voice navigation without using any data. The Nokia maps are said to be very good.
6. You can play your music through your car radio using the FM transmitter.
7. You can play your videos on your home TV.
8. You can get high quality pictures and decent videos with the 12mp camera. Those can be stored on handy, very portable flash drives so you don't overload your phone's memory.
9. The recorder is quite good and the player is quite acceptable.
10. You can protect it and clean out the garbage with Netqin.
11. You can conserve your battery with App Stop.
12. You can access You Tube quickly with a downloaded app (mine did not work).
13. The browser is fast enough and if you want something even faster, you can install Opera Mini browser.
14. You can talk on Skype (but no video chat).
15. You can play all kinds of games.

Those to me, are what the rank and file are interested in. You can choose a phone that gives a fine collection or basket of features for a reasonable price or focus on one feature eg music, games, whatever. At the end of the day, the choice is yours. You need to match your needs with what are available. OMG! In my case, I would be a real ungrateful monster to expect more from a $50US brand new Nokia N8. In any case, I have a weakness for Nokia. My ancient silver 1108 is still working good as ever.

Carol & MdN, how did I do here :-)! Think I can get 8/10 for a clueless person???!!!!

Stupid me, 05 Aug 2013Carol & MdN Since a few days ago, whenever I use the phon... moreThis is weird. I get the same warning when I go to Facebook (Facebook certificate) but I just accept it and it never asks again. But I don't know why a map page would want to send a Twitter certificate, maybe it has a Twitter feature somewhere. If it was me I'd just accept it and forget it, I don't think anyone writes viruses for Symbian when there are a billion AndroiPhone8 users out there. :-)
Haven't even tried Netqin yet but sounds cool. If you can't delete F-Secure now, you probably will after the update. X-Plore is a powerful thing, so just be careful about deleting stuff, but since your N8 isn't hacked I don't think you will even have the access to dangerous files anyway. ;-)

Carol, 05 Aug 2013Hey, thanks for addition. My phone never crashed. I don't know w... more:-) Just something I accidentally found on the internet, but it did help me clean a few MB. Well I think the phone creates those gremlins every time some app has a glitch...

  • Stupid me

Carol & MdN

Since a few days ago, whenever I use the phone browser (not Opera Mini) to get the satellite weather map, at some point, this comes up: "Service twitter.com has sent a certificate that is not trusted. Accept anyway?" I would press "Back" immediately. I don't even have a Twitter account so I don't know why they are tormenting me. I don't see it when I go to other sites, like news.

At first, I palpitated and almost fainted thinking I got a virus or something. I should sue them for mental anguish. Is there any way to STOP those messages that are so annoying?

So yesterday, I installed Netqin and I am ever so PLEASED with it. Of course, I am not touching F-Secure again, except to try and delete it now that I have Netqin. I was so relieved to see that there was no virus or anything like that. Well, I also used its Garbage disposal and wonder of wonders! I got back 20mb, so I am now up to 129mb - more than enough for my Belle update :-). Amazing! I didn't even know I had accumulated 20mb of garbage - and the phone is new! Far less if it is old!

Hey! I'm going to install X-plore next. Hm, seems like all I'm installing are basic necessities at the moment.



  • Stupid me

AnonD-131418, 05 Aug 2013how to upgrade new sybian belle for nokia n8?anyone can give lin... more
Re: Belle upgrading instructions.

I guess you have not read the last 5 pages or so. Carol gave comprehensive, step by step instructions for the process (about 2 weeks ago). I hardly think he will want to do it again so soon. Find it, copy and paste it on a word doc and save so you don't have to search for it...whenever (not if ever) you decide to upgrade.

  • AnonD-131418

how to upgrade new sybian belle for nokia n8?anyone can give link for me to download...should i upgrade or not..?

  • Carol

MdN, 05 Aug 2013In addition to Carol's advice, check out C\private\1020e519 fold... moreHey, thanks for addition. My phone never crashed. I don't know why do i have so many files:)).

  • Carol

Anonymous, 05 Aug 2013SIS Applications is at 85mb, Other files is at 138mb. All the ot... moreAh, and to delete microsoft apps you will need to follow this guide. http://digipassion.com/2012/06/uninstall-microso­ft-apps-from-symbian3-belle-phones.html

  • Carol

Anonymous, 05 Aug 2013SIS Applications is at 85mb, Other files is at 138mb. All the ot... moreHmm, The problem comes from Other files. That is way to much. More then double of what i have. Anyways. Did she installed Microsoft apps? Also, what apps are installed in c: You can get read of social, if you don't use it, Microsoft apps (recommended, if it's installed) f-secure, sky files and colorize it if she does not use it. The C: mem. does not disappear by it self. The more apps you install the more of C: goes away (one by one kb, but shore). One of the biggest is also, QT. While this is a great thing. installing qt based apps, they often will install additional stuff to your QT. Making it support the functions but in the same time larger, occupying more space. Maps apps also eat allot of space (you cannot do nothing about that). If you cannot find the real culprit, just factory reset the device and you will have your mem back (don't forget to backup). And next time be more careful with QT apps, cause even if you uninstalled them, the .dll's and other functions will remain installed.> i don'e have allot of memory either, just 75 mb. which is normal. More then 90 you cannot have with official firmware after everything is set.

Anonymous, 05 Aug 2013SIS Applications is at 85mb, Other files is at 138mb. All the ot... moreIn addition to Carol's advice, check out C\private\1020e519 folder, you can delete all MobileCrash files inside. Those are useless crash reports kept for service purposes.

Anonymous, 05 Aug 2013SIS Applications is at 85mb, Other files is at 138mb. All the ot... moreIn addition to Carol's advice, check out C\private\1020e519 folder, you can delete all MobileCrash files inside. Those are useless crash reports kept for service purposes.

  • Anonymous

Carol, 05 Aug 2013I told you i need more info:). Give that info first. There are s... moreSIS Applications is at 85mb, Other files is at 138mb. All the others are in kbs. I guess that's normal. So what's eating up the drive C:? By the way, the Social app is installed at C:. Does that eat up memory when it's used? Is that the culprit?
Is this the case for N8s that doesn't use any CFW, a depleting C: drive? Again, I don't wanna use any CFW coz my sister's N8 runs perfectly except sometimes she shows it to me with a warning of low memory on C:.

  • Carol

Anonymous, 05 Aug 2013I gave my N8 to her and it had 100mb still when I did. I install... moreI told you i need more info:). Give that info first. There are some folders that will be safe to delete. But none can give you to much space. Using x-plore (and setting it to show system files) you can safely delete: enter Data, then delete MailForExchange, also config. folder (be careful, this one contains configurations of some of your installed apps, if you need thats configs. don't delete the folder). You can also delete everything that's in temp folder and tmp folder. Now enter system folder and you can delete cache folder and dmgr. You can also delete System.ini file. You can also delete everything is in system/temp folder. Also, if you use opera mobile you can enter c: system/data/OperaMobile. delete application_cache, cache, cacheOp folders. that's about it. Still won't release to much memory. So you will need to look somewhere else also. Installed apps and themes, also see if there are photos and music files in c, if there are, move them.

  • Subu

Carol, 04 Aug 2013Belle refresh will bring some stability, new widgets and some ap... moreDear,

Hoping to purchase N8 is it good than an android phone?

Plz suggest...

  • Anonymous

Carol, 03 Aug 2013You really need to say more then this. What apps you're using? A... moreI gave my N8 to her and it had 100mb still when I did. I installed almost all the apps and games at E:. Now it only has 25mb left. I don't want to use any CFW coz it runs perfectly anyway. Except for the depleting drive C:. I used MobileCleaner and still it only has 25mb and I'm sure it's gonna deplete more. Is there a way to manually delete folders from C: to get more memory? What folders can I safely delete from C: now?

  • AnonD-172369

my review
Nokia N8 is a near perfect Nokia Phone
It is fast for internet Class 33 edge is good
Music is not as good as c6-01 or 5800 music
Camera is good but 12 mp photos need bigger memory space as each photograph is above 1 mb.
rather buy any phone with lower mp but definately a carl zeis
3.5 inch screen is good for interenet bad for using with one hand. for one hand you need 3.2 inch screen
Over all i just like the phone for internet nothing more
I prefer TFT or LCD over AMOLED coz AMOLED are too sharp for eyes
Yes its a Near perfect Nokia Phone...Coz we can do everything just not in a best way !
Also its symbian 3 phone. Symbian 3 is my best version of Symbian till date. I prefer it over anna or belle