Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Rands

@ wheeze, u had it for a few days now, please report ob battery life, thanks

  • ped

Dear Wheez thanks again for your reviews,
you know, for many people like me, camera and picture quality of a phone is important the most.
I want you to talk about this part more. and if possible in a better light condition, take some more photos and show us. you know best condition for photography in outdoor is in the evening when sunlight is not that severe and in the shadow. but it must be completely under the shadow. if you have both shadow and sunlight in your frame picture won't be a real picture. stand back to light source and note that A big part of your picture background should not be light emitting. for example if most part of a picture background be sky the picture will be somehow dark. please take some pictures and upload a few of their bests here.

  • Manu

Wheez, 03 Oct 2010I don't know, but I would figure that like Opera Mobile 10 would... moreThanks for your insight. It was indeed useful feedback.

I'm aware of Opera Mini/Mobile. It solves the stated problem. Perhaps, being a non-technical guy, I can't explain but Opera Mini compresses web pages while loading & also leaves lesser burden on C: drive.

However, default browsers on Android & iOS have sort of overshadowed the performance & utility of Opera Mobile. I expect Nokia default browser will raise the standards in mobile browsers.

In case of games directories/game saves, they are different to application itself. Suppose, I've installed a game on SD card, its game saves will store on C: just like cache of browser. Now in iPhone since we don't have external memory, everything settles in 16/32GB. But in others, it stores on C:// or maybe in hard disk. So, if this happens, i'm not too sure whether N8's 135MB C:// would be sufficient !!!

  • akt.pro

anyone who doubt about N 8 . Go to "thehandheldblog.com" .

  • Manu

Wheez, 03 Oct 2010I don't know, but I would figure that like Opera Mobile 10 would... moreThanks for your insight. It was indeed useful feedback.

I'm aware of Opera Mini/Mobile. It solves the stated problem. Perhaps, being a non-technical guy, I can't explain but Opera Mini compresses web pages while loading & also leaves lesser burden on C: drive.

However, default browsers on Android & iOS have sort of overshadowed the performance & utility of Opera Mobile. I expect Nokia default browser will raise the standards in mobile browsers.

In case of games directories/game saves, they are different to application itself. Suppose, I've installed a game on SD card, its game saves will store on C: just like cache of browser. Now in iPhone since we don't have external memory, everything settles in 16/32GB. But in others, it stores on C:// or maybe in hard disk. So, if this happens, i'm not too sure whether N8's 135MB C:// would be sufficient !!!

  • Hamazatta

Wheez, 03 Oct 2010Due to my tendency to charge my phone every night, I havn't run ... moreMany Thanks for your prompt response.

Thanks

  • Wheez

Hamazatta, 03 Oct 2010All, How is the battery life of N8? Thanks Due to my tendency to charge my phone every night, I havn't run dry yet, but other people are reporting close to 2 days with relatively heavy use.

Add in the power saving mode which is awesome and you might be looking at 3 days.

  • Hamazatta

All,
How is the battery life of N8?
Thanks

  • Wheez

Otto, 03 Oct 2010Hi Wheez, Could you test if the USB-OTG works with standard w... moreI tried with my gaming mouse that my laptop has and it wouldn't work on that, but it's understandable cos it has associated drivers etc. I can try with my fiancee mouse that shouldnt require any drivers, but a normal keyboard I don't own, only laptops in my house :D

  • insaneman

i ordered the n8 with e2save with orange on a 24 month contract at 27.50 a month but you also got a free dell note book worth around £250 which i thought sounded to good to be true and it looks like i was right because they are are saying orange have turned me down but i have spoken to orange and they have done no credit check on me the only think that came from e2save was for an upgrade which i think was done on purpose because i am not due an upgrade and i think the offer in the 1st place was a mistake as the offer in no longer available on there site i have since emailed them and said i will be taking the matter further they have replied saying they will be in contact Monday, i wondered if anyone on here tryed taking the same offer

  • Anonymous

Check how an American Engagdge cheats its readers

http://shoppaholicdaily.com/n8/

  • ped

Dear Wheez you are a adorable man. I just want to thank you for this perfect answers and information you are giving us.

  • Otto

Wheez, 03 Oct 20101. Extensive browsing : I use smartphone more then PC for routin... moreHi Wheez,

Could you test if the USB-OTG works with standard wired USB keyboard and mouse?

Thanks.

  • TMT

if only there was a qwerty keyboard........ :(

it would have been a master piece and i would have have upgraded it from n97

btw i am a die hard nokia fan and all of my family members uses nokia :d

  • Wheez

Manu, 03 Oct 2010If not all, then most of the phones have speakers on their back ... moreI don't know, but I would figure that like Opera Mobile 10 would keep the cache files somewhere else than C:/, cos it would be installed on the 16gb internal. If you want to, I can find out. It's better than the original browser in just about everything but it lacks pinch to zoom support.

  • Anonymous

when will GSMArena review it???????????
I want a review!!!!!

  • Wheez

Anonymous, 03 Oct 2010Can we type as fast as iphone on virtual qwerty? Can i have c... moreI sadly have no decent camera available to me but the N8, and I'm sure you realize how hard it would be for me to use my N8 to photograph my N8.

Sorry, can't really help with that.

  • Anonymous

Can we type as fast as iphone on virtual qwerty?

Can i have close up photo of the back speaker?

Some closeup photo of the surface texture of anodized aluminium, pasticto and bottom ends?

  • Wheez

Manu, 03 Oct 2010If not all, then most of the phones have speakers on their back ... more1. Extensive browsing : I use smartphone more then PC for routine internet usage. So practically speaking, I prefer browsing on iPhone coz all temp files, history, cache are stored in mammoth 32GB memory & I'm left with nothing to worry. Generally in Nokia devices, browsing history/Cache is stored in meagre internal memory instead of hard-disk. So can you plz enlighten me if N8 stores cache in userr internal memory or 16GB disk ?

Seems that cache files are sadly put on C:/ I first checked the C:/ free amount of memory, then emptied all cache stuff from the browser and the C:/ had gotten more free memory after that.

2. Lover of Portable gaming : I loved Nokia for N-Gage but all Nokia devices were marked by same problem I.e low RAM & low user internal memory. Have you checked whether game's directories are saving on user internal memory or 16GB drive !

All apps seem to go on the 16gb internal memory by default. At least all the stuff I've gotten so far.

3. How is Ovi Music application on N8. Is it crisp & promise on entertainment ?

Have no use or experience of it, so hard to say.

4. Virtual keypad : I'm typing this message on HTC Legend, so you can imagine, I love texting on my touchscreen smartphones. Hence I've reservations regarding performance of virtual keypad. I would be glad if you can share your first hand experience with its keypad.

I have very little experience with touch screen devices, so I can't really do comparisons about the touchpad, but I'm finding the landscape QWERTY very good. I love typing on it, even longer posts here at times.

  • Peter

How good is the music quality on headphones? Below average or Above average?