Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Niraj

Tom-Helge, 21 May 2010Well yeah ofc clocking the ARM Cortex A8 CPU's to 800-900 M... moreThe Gpu of N8 (broadcom bcm2727) is alone capable to record 720p videos @30 fps and take 12 mp photos.. This fact tells that how powerful the Gpu is.. So using arm11 cpu @ 680 is wise choice of Nokia. So this phone dont need arm cortex a8 cpu..

  • Anonymous

Hey, this phone looks pretty good. Any idea when is the release date and an approximate price?

  • Nokia Fan

This phone looks quite brilliant! However, I haven't seen any reviews based on the real purpose of the phone - dialing or texting...

  • Tom-Helge

KID, 21 May 2010well, I have check my fact before, but if maybe I got it wr... moreWell yeah ofc clocking the ARM Cortex A8 CPU's to 800-900 MHz will absolutely help.

But there is a thing you have to realize though, and that is that the test i linked to is compared with Android 2.1. And you know that the Android 2.2 is all from 2 to 5 times faster than Android 2.1 when it's about performance.

So things might look way better for Snapdragon on a device with Android 2.2.

But i still want to see a performance test with a device with ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz CPU against another device with 1 GHz Snapdragon CPU when both of them are running Android 2.2.

And like i also said earlier, you get what you pay the 370 euros for. So it would be impossible to have this phone with a screen that have 480x854 resolution and 1 GHz Snapdragon CPU with the rest the phone have for 370 euros.

So yeah, there is a point for that.

But while i thinks about it. When it's about the CPU again. I know the GPU in the N8 is good though. But the thing is, if the GPU can't fully run all movies from the GPU, like i can do with my Radeon HD 4870 GPU to my computer for example, then the CPU in the N8 is going to have big troubles to run high-definition / high quality movies.

So if N8 can make fully use of the GPU that way, then it's good.

And when it's about games for example, then it will be the same for phones as with computers. If you run a Crysis Warhead with a Radeon HD 5870 GPU with a crappy Intel Pentium 4 processor, your CPU will be a big ass bottleneck.

The CPU simply can't drive the game smooth at all then. You can run the game with good graphic settings and the game will lag badly as hell.

And then we takes it the other way. If you have the best Intel 6 core CPU that was released rescently while you have a poor GeForce 8600 GS GPU, then the GPU can't handle Crysis Warhead on high graphic settings for example.

Here you can run the game totally smooth with medium graphic settings.

So you see what i'm talking about here. Smoothness over eye-candy.

But then, i'm not using a mobile phone as a gaming device either. I use my PC or my Sony PSP for that. So for my usage on my phone, then CPU power over GPU power any days.

  • KID

Tom-Helge, 21 May 2010LOL, saying ARM Cortex A8 is as fast and maybe faster than ... morewell, I have check my fact before, but if maybe I got it wrong, then I'm sorry, but some of the review I've read says that an ARM Cortex A8 @600Mhz run on par with the Snapdragon @1Ghz, so I'm saying that if those A8 got overclocked to maybe 800-900Mhz, then doesnt it make them faster??

And besides, let me tell you guys something about mobile device industry, a little bit different from a desktop CPU, in mobile industry, less is more!! The more efficient you can get a phone to run at a lower clock speed, the better!! Cause like I said before, mobile device industry always struggling with a power management on their device, how to make a device have a longer battery life, but with a great performance?? Less is more.

that's why N8 is not using a 1Ghz CPU to run, cause it doesnt need it. Instead, I believe that it would run heavily on the GPU, and that way, it'll have a batter and more efficient power consumption, but with a good result.

And if there's another complain or whining about the hardware, then remember, this is a 370 Euros phone, not a 600 usd or another expensive phone. If you want to compare it with another phone, compare it in the same price range, and tell me if you can come up with a better one!!

  • C-note

My friend in the stone age is stil using his 3310. &seems happy. He says it can send & receive sms & it vibrates. & u ar complaining

  • Bong

Man, I can't wait for the N8 to be released. Hopefully it will be somewhere in between June and July. Can't wait to replace my trustworthy N82.

  • Anonymous

Tom-Helge, 21 May 2010LOL, saying ARM Cortex A8 is as fast and maybe faster than ... moreis the i phone 3gs that were tested hv GPU like n900??

  • Tom-Helge

KID, 21 May 2010have you tried N900??? it's blazingly fast, and easily ove... moreLOL, saying ARM Cortex A8 is as fast and maybe faster than the 1 GHz Snapdragon CPU is not right.

Take a look here: http://www.anandtech.com/show/3633/apples-a4-soc-faster-than-snapdragon

Check your facts before you post.

  • Grover

Why do people have loyalty to a corporation producing handsets. I buy the best one I don't care who makes it. The N8 looks good and has the chops. Still if there is something better and cheaper around when it arrives I will buy that.

  • KID

Zero, 21 May 2010Because it's nokia, so no matter if it's 10ghz, it will sti... morehave you tried N900???
it's blazingly fast, and easily overclocked to 800-900Mhz to, with an ARM Cortex A8.

It's default clock is at 600, and believe me, 600Mhz of ARM Cortex is at least the same if it's not faster than 1Ghz Snapdragon.

So anyway, what did you say again??

  • Zero

Anonymous, 21 May 2010Oh good news to everyone nokia will annouce n8 with 1ghz... moreBecause it's nokia, so no matter if it's 10ghz, it will still be slow.

  • skc

if it has minimum 3months call records,1ghz processor,512RAM,camera cover and the TV Receiver it would be the most selling mobile phone ever in this world.

  • Anonymous

Oh good news to everyone

nokia will annouce n8 with 1ghz cpu with euro 100 more , but the phone is not faster than old n8 and battery drain fast

  • Anonymous

kamote, 21 May 2010i dont know why some other guys here complains about proces... moreI agree with you!

  • hopefull

must hav problem with their battery..hope nokia use more powerful battery

  • Anonymous

Shadow, 21 May 2010Pure copy of IPhoneIphone use nokia tech, what is yopur point?

  • Shadow

Pure copy of IPhone