Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Aaron

Don't believe those saying negative about N8. I've been using this phone for a month now. And believe me, this phone is great. Camera is just excellent. Images taken in whatever lighting condition are stunning. Videos are clear and the audio recorded is in stereo. Music output through the headset has very good quality. The speakers are loud for a mono speaker. It's better and louder than the 2 speakers on N97. The phone can play virtually any type of file formats from 3gp, mp4 to wmv, avi to mkv. Features like HDMI and USB OTG are firsts on a mobile phone and adds to the already wide range connectivity options of the phone. HDMI acts like you have a home entertainment system on your phone. The USB OTG acts like a USB host and connects seamlessly to a lot of devices not only mobile phones. Ovi Maps and GPS on this device are fantastic. It tells you where you are. It guides you to the right way. You'll never get lost. The AMOLED screen gives very clear images and vibrant colors and wide viewing angles. I was also surprised that it remains perfectly legible even under direct sunlight. The Gorilla glass screen also proves to be scratch-proof. Not a single hairline scratch even after a month of use without a screen protector. The battery is not user-replaceable but provides enough power to keep the phone running the whole day under heavy use. Build quality of the phone is perfect. The phone feels premium when you hold it because of the solid construction and quality aluminium body. The only drawback I can see is the current software version. I would occasionally encounter memory full errors. My unit did hang and restart but very seldom. I can only remember it hang and restarted 2 times since I bought it. But those issues will be resolved once the next firmware update is released. So I've come to the conclusion if this phone is worth buying and if I could recommend it to someone. Definitely. If you want to replace all your gadgets with only one this is the perfect gadget for you. I call it a gadget because it acts more than just a phone but a professional digicam, videocam, portable media player, internet browser, satellite navigator, game console and it connects to many devices seamlessly. This is the best phone ever release by Nokia so far.

  • AnonD-281

some where in the line i heard that the production if nokia n8 is to be halted on feb 6 .. can gsmarena help with that .. cuz i was waiting for it .. when i will get my job in june or july ..

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011When are we getting the PR1.1 update? NOKIA sucks on updates.never

  • dom

n8 multiple mods version4
demonstrating the continuous auto focus of n8 and with its greatly improved
kinetic scrolling and faster screen rotation:)
taken by my mum's nokia n8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOI_uFyvBms

  • adkane

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011yeah lets wait for the updates will miraculously make the proces... moreyour funny.

Apps do need cpu (e.g loading time) and ram (app activities), but they do need hardware acceleration also, especially with qt written apps and games. Thats when the gpu comes in

complain all you want about the processor and ram, but till to date i havent seen any app which doesnt load at all or cause a 'memory full' msg when opened on my n8. So the cpu and ram is sufficient enough. Even andnandtech.com stated that putting an cortex a8 into the the n8 (or any other s^3 devices for that matter) would be overkill and power ifficient.

And if you think your post will drive away customers, think again. Go ask any random guy/girl in the street and ask them about their phone hardware. I bet that 89% will not even know a thing about it.

So keep your hate and jealousy to youself cause many of us out there are enjoying our n8

  • deep space bar

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011yeah lets wait for the updates will miraculously make the proces... moreyou know the update will increase the clockspeed to 750mhz+

n900 used the same clockspeep but different CPU
but N8 has a way better GPU that actually helps out alot so

the N8 is fine

  • Anonymous

This was release a few months only but there thousand of this unit you can find in second hand celpon store. The reason is it has so many o s issues. It freeze, battery issue and many more.

  • Enthusiast

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011yeah lets wait for the updates will miraculously make the proces... moreHi dude, I don't understand why you have this much hatred to Nokia and N8. If you need to understand what others are saying truly you need to use an N8 for about a month and see.

Light OS not only means that it use up little RAM but also means that it leaves most of the available RAM to other apps. Example N8 has 140-160MB free RAM upon boot depending on the widgets and other programs you load on boot, the exact same amount which is available on 384 MB wildfire. On the other hand HTC desire leaves around 200 MB of its 512 RAM and the advanced (?) multi task handler of android shrinks it to 150MB within an hour or two (without Task killers -and you know the story of Task killers). That basically means all the phones have the same amount of RAM available for the task such as web browsing.

A lot more worthy of critique might be the 256MB memory allowance, which halves what other new phones are coming out with, but again, the argument can be made that Symbian^3 is an inherently more efficient platform and the lower number on the spec sheet doesn't seem to have had a correspondingly negative impact on real world use - extract from Engadget review.

Nothing you talk here seems relevant for the case of N8. N8 browser is bad, it sucks more than the awkward UI. That was the only program that managed to threw me a memory full error when coupled with HD video playback. again opera does the job smoothly.

Honestly Web and the poor implementation of text input are the only drawbacks of N8 for the moment. Nothing in hardware front. It is well accepted that N8 has amazing hardware and It is a well balanced device.

By the way if you don't mind me asking, what phone does you use?

  • Anonymous

S Roy., 31 Jan 2011Please state the screen quality on the Nokia N8,in aspects of re... moreYour questions are already answered in this website. Read the review and this article http://www.gsmarena.com/display_shootout-review-­541.php

You are done

  • S Roy.

Please state the screen quality on the Nokia N8,in aspects of resolution,viewing angles and sunlight legibility.Also,please state the sound quality and video quality.Is the N8 able to give HD video playback?Please reply friends.

  • Anonymous

When are we getting the PR1.1 update?

NOKIA sucks on updates.

  • Anonymous

i hv heard dat da only demerit of n8 is its non-detachable bttry coz if da bttry strts 2 show any prblm,thn u cant change it n da phone bcomes cripple.Frm dat point of view again c7 is bttr as it hs gt a detachable bttry so aftr buying such costly phone if some days or evn a year later da bttry shows prblm,at least u will b able 2 change it n carry on wid ur phone.bt i guess,wid n8 u can't do so.wht do u say guys???which one 2 go for.Abt n8 dis is my only worry.thnx in advance.

  • virendra

os of n8 is good so i will buy it

  • ...NIT...

Isha, 31 Jan 2011i'm confused b/w N8 or C7, which one is better..c7 is better. But n8 is surely the best.

  • el greenzo

i just got me a nokia n8.
simply,it's the best phone i ever had/seen.
response if really fast,it's full with cool stuff,and the camera is unbelievable - me and my bro did a little test - i was jumping in a spot, and he was running towards me and took a picture of me.that picture came out like he was standing still,and i was roped to the sealing. all @ 12MP .i couldn't believe it. iphone is no match for this phone at all.

  • Anonymous

Isha, 31 Jan 2011i'm confused b/w N8 or C7, which one is better..N8 is much better.

  • ramesh

Moha, 31 Jan 2011hey why N8 browser is very slow..? its really worst in speed.. p... moreu have to change u r operator service or u r GPRS setting

  • $UNNY@

Dks, 31 Jan 2011Total 7650Thanx buddy..
Actually, I m
little weak in
Mathematics..

  • Anonymous

Moha, 31 Jan 2011hi thanks for the update, but c am using opera browser only but ... moreyeah lets wait for the updates will miraculously make the processor into a Cortex A8 an increase the RAM to 4gig.

Or just start acing reality, that Arm11 is very weak and that no OS can make an app use less RAM and processor? Im sory to say that many who post here are so clueless, saying symbian dont need much ram or processor, when its the APPS THAT NEED RAM AND PROCESSOR. Time to realize that lightweight OS cant make a website use less RAM in a browser, only by simplifying can RAM be conserved, in other words use a old WAP browser. That has alway been true and it will still be true after your long awaited miracle updates.

  • Anonymous

Two techniques for linking photos from Facebook to your Symbian^3 contacts!

also write back to Vincent, talk to Jeff about guarantee document