Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Aaron

viraf, 01 Feb 2011Nokia is going down. May be coz of their OS. I dont understand w... moreN8 on Android means no USB OTG, no app installation on memory card, no Bluetooth 3.0, no themes, short battery life and list of drawbacks and restrictions go on. N8 is perfect on Symbian^3. Nokia just needs to release a software update ASAP to fix the bugs, boost performance and add those 50+ new UI features.

  • Anonymous

[deleted post]I've been using N8 for almost 4month workin fine no serious issues but this definitely my last symbian phone coz I'm gonna switch to meego...:-)

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011When are we getting the PR1.1 update? NOKIA sucks on updates.I'd rather wait for PR 2.0 than 1.x for bigger update..like new browser and etc..

  • Manish

when i connect my USB cable to my laptop my phone doesn't charge(sometimes charges though)Can anybody explain this???

How to make every time charge the battery connected through data cable???

PLzz explain battery performances of ur N8...coz my N8 hardly goes 2 days(with less use+only GSM)

thanx in advance!!!

  • Professor

[deleted post]Totally agree with you.

  • viraf

Nokia is going down. May be coz of their OS. I dont understand why they are not bringing Android on their phones. Imagine N8 with Android. It could have been perfect. Nokia how much more you'll wait to go down?

  • trebphil

[deleted post]i definitely agree. despite negative feedbacks i've read about it here, plus the experience i had when i first tested this phone, i have to say this is yet the best phone i have seen. been using it for just two days and i've never seen anything like the n8.

  • su

guys dont compare N8 with any other model or phone its uniqe and amazing device really mindblowing i downloaded spb shell im lovin it more

  • dt

i am from india and from a couple of week ovi store on my n8 is not showing price for paid application. infact it is showing all apps as free, but when i start downloading it shows 'download error'. anyone facing this problem or something wrong with my settings?

  • dt

Nokia india tweeted about firmware update in jan 2011.
Its feb, still no sign. Anyone has any clue about update?

  • Aaron

Don't believe those saying negative about N8. I've been using this phone for a month now. And believe me, this phone is great. Camera is just excellent. Images taken in whatever lighting condition are stunning. Videos are clear and the audio recorded is in stereo. Music output through the headset has very good quality. The speakers are loud for a mono speaker. It's better and louder than the 2 speakers on N97. The phone can play virtually any type of file formats from 3gp, mp4 to wmv, avi to mkv. Features like HDMI and USB OTG are firsts on a mobile phone and adds to the already wide range connectivity options of the phone. HDMI acts like you have a home entertainment system on your phone. The USB OTG acts like a USB host and connects seamlessly to a lot of devices not only mobile phones. Ovi Maps and GPS on this device are fantastic. It tells you where you are. It guides you to the right way. You'll never get lost. The AMOLED screen gives very clear images and vibrant colors and wide viewing angles. I was also surprised that it remains perfectly legible even under direct sunlight. The Gorilla glass screen also proves to be scratch-proof. Not a single hairline scratch even after a month of use without a screen protector. The battery is not user-replaceable but provides enough power to keep the phone running the whole day under heavy use. Build quality of the phone is perfect. The phone feels premium when you hold it because of the solid construction and quality aluminium body. The only drawback I can see is the current software version. I would occasionally encounter memory full errors. My unit did hang and restart but very seldom. I can only remember it hang and restarted 2 times since I bought it. But those issues will be resolved once the next firmware update is released. So I've come to the conclusion if this phone is worth buying and if I could recommend it to someone. Definitely. If you want to replace all your gadgets with only one this is the perfect gadget for you. I call it a gadget because it acts more than just a phone but a professional digicam, videocam, portable media player, internet browser, satellite navigator, game console and it connects to many devices seamlessly. This is the best phone ever release by Nokia so far.

  • AnonD-281

some where in the line i heard that the production if nokia n8 is to be halted on feb 6 .. can gsmarena help with that .. cuz i was waiting for it .. when i will get my job in june or july ..

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011When are we getting the PR1.1 update? NOKIA sucks on updates.never

  • dom

n8 multiple mods version4
demonstrating the continuous auto focus of n8 and with its greatly improved
kinetic scrolling and faster screen rotation:)
taken by my mum's nokia n8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOI_uFyvBms

  • adkane

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011yeah lets wait for the updates will miraculously make the proces... moreyour funny.

Apps do need cpu (e.g loading time) and ram (app activities), but they do need hardware acceleration also, especially with qt written apps and games. Thats when the gpu comes in

complain all you want about the processor and ram, but till to date i havent seen any app which doesnt load at all or cause a 'memory full' msg when opened on my n8. So the cpu and ram is sufficient enough. Even andnandtech.com stated that putting an cortex a8 into the the n8 (or any other s^3 devices for that matter) would be overkill and power ifficient.

And if you think your post will drive away customers, think again. Go ask any random guy/girl in the street and ask them about their phone hardware. I bet that 89% will not even know a thing about it.

So keep your hate and jealousy to youself cause many of us out there are enjoying our n8

  • deep space bar

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011yeah lets wait for the updates will miraculously make the proces... moreyou know the update will increase the clockspeed to 750mhz+

n900 used the same clockspeep but different CPU
but N8 has a way better GPU that actually helps out alot so

the N8 is fine

  • Anonymous

This was release a few months only but there thousand of this unit you can find in second hand celpon store. The reason is it has so many o s issues. It freeze, battery issue and many more.

  • Enthusiast

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2011yeah lets wait for the updates will miraculously make the proces... moreHi dude, I don't understand why you have this much hatred to Nokia and N8. If you need to understand what others are saying truly you need to use an N8 for about a month and see.

Light OS not only means that it use up little RAM but also means that it leaves most of the available RAM to other apps. Example N8 has 140-160MB free RAM upon boot depending on the widgets and other programs you load on boot, the exact same amount which is available on 384 MB wildfire. On the other hand HTC desire leaves around 200 MB of its 512 RAM and the advanced (?) multi task handler of android shrinks it to 150MB within an hour or two (without Task killers -and you know the story of Task killers). That basically means all the phones have the same amount of RAM available for the task such as web browsing.

A lot more worthy of critique might be the 256MB memory allowance, which halves what other new phones are coming out with, but again, the argument can be made that Symbian^3 is an inherently more efficient platform and the lower number on the spec sheet doesn't seem to have had a correspondingly negative impact on real world use - extract from Engadget review.

Nothing you talk here seems relevant for the case of N8. N8 browser is bad, it sucks more than the awkward UI. That was the only program that managed to threw me a memory full error when coupled with HD video playback. again opera does the job smoothly.

Honestly Web and the poor implementation of text input are the only drawbacks of N8 for the moment. Nothing in hardware front. It is well accepted that N8 has amazing hardware and It is a well balanced device.

By the way if you don't mind me asking, what phone does you use?

  • Anonymous

S Roy., 31 Jan 2011Please state the screen quality on the Nokia N8,in aspects of re... moreYour questions are already answered in this website. Read the review and this article http://www.gsmarena.com/display_shootout-review-­541.php

You are done

  • S Roy.

Please state the screen quality on the Nokia N8,in aspects of resolution,viewing angles and sunlight legibility.Also,please state the sound quality and video quality.Is the N8 able to give HD video playback?Please reply friends.