Nokia N9
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N9

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Mobilemaster, 18 Jan 2011Than what kind of phones they will announce at MWC? Only the X7 ... moreThis is absurd. First of all nokia has big chance announcing new flagship phone n9. Which has new os meego. It's the only big event for nokia to show the whole world the power of meego os. But if this guy olaf_peterson says this phone will not be announced at MWC. What phone will they announce e7,e6 and x7. Dammit we know it's all symbian os. Now i'm not blaming symbian os phone but they're all we have seen before. Is time for some change for nokia and for nokia fans as well. If nokia don't announce this phone at mwc then when? It will be too late because samsung is planning to announce galaxy S 2. Now e7,x7 or e6 is nothing new. Same old symbian os. Nokia i hope they don't screw this up!!!

  • Pawel

As many times before, obsolete on première. Everybody else will have dual core already;(

  • Anonymous

Ah also 768MB of RAM

  • Mobilemaster

olaf_peterson, 18 Jan 20111,2 Ghz Omap3??? Not really. And if that would be the case, then... moreThan what kind of phones they will announce at MWC? Only the X7 and the rumored E6?

  • olaf_peterson

1,2 Ghz Omap3??? Not really. And if that would be the case, then there would be no HDMI port, cause OMAP3 don’t support native HDMI-Output. I repeat, NO N9 at MWC! Believe it or not.

  • Anonymous

Some updated rumors:

4.2 inches
1.2 GHz processor
12 MP camera with LED Flash
HDMI

  • Emadtaker

olaf_peterson, 17 Jan 2011No Nokia N9 at MWC! NO NOKIA N9 with OMAP3!! New Nokia N9 with u... moreAre you sure about what you are saying??

  • olaf_peterson

No Nokia N9 at MWC! NO NOKIA N9 with OMAP3!! New Nokia N9 with updated Specifications (dual core cpu) coming H2 2011!!!

  • simple user

screen resolution sounds like from outer space (in Nokia terms) :-)

  • simple user

him, 16 Jan 2011My SIXTH SENSE TELLS THAT it will definitely come with 8MP CAM... moreyou forgot 2500 mAh battery perhaps??

otherwise all specs commented are too much to make the phone a reasonable product to sale.

  • Anonymous

laplace, 17 Jan 2011I know photo is not the most important part of this phone, but 5... moreMaybe announced at MWC.

  • Anonymous

Wount look like this.It has been changed!

  • Anonymous

fANBOy, 16 Jan 2011Upon release,this phone will pawn all droids,iOS and Blackberrie... moreAnd FreeBSD 7 will make all other operating systems obsolete upon release.

  • laplace

I know photo is not the most important part of this phone, but 5M seems really not enough.
Does anybody know when this f.... phone is coming?

  • him

ZEISS CAMERA STORY What ’s So Special About Carl Zeiss Lenses?

Thanks
to the ongoing
collaboration
between
Nokia,
the
global leader
in
mobility,
and Carl
Zeiss, a world
leader
in
optics, you can take advantage of the same high- quality optical lenses used by the NASA to discover and capture the moon landscapes and for the filming of the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

If you’ve used a Nokia smartphone, then the likelihood is you’ve used a Carl Zeiss lens. It’s an integral part of the Nokia N8, the world’s best cameraphone, and has helped ensure fantastic photos and videos on dozens of other devices. But have you ever wondered what exactly is so special about Carl Zeiss?
The two companies have collaborated since 2005 and have brought the design expertise and stringent quality requirements of Carl Zeiss to Nokia ’s product creation process for high-end camera devices.

As a result of the collaboration, consumers are able to capture, share, store and print better quality images with Nokia ’s flagship imaging devices. The outstanding scientific expertise from Carl Zeiss in camera optics and the industry-leading position of Nokia in the mobile phone market offer a solid foundation for the cooperation.

Many of the Nokia Nseries devices, are equipped with a special lens which corresponds to the classic Carl Zeiss four-element Tessar. The special features of this lens include its high definition, low chromatic aberration and high speed of f/2.9 – despite its small size.

160 years of expertise

Carl Zeiss has been in optics and imaging for more than 160 years. Examples of our expertise can be found in all walks of life. Planes, trains and automobiles withstand the tests of
time because measuring technology from Carl Zeiss is used to test their parts in production. Blockbuster movies such as ‘The Lord of the Rings’ benefit from the unique images made possible by ZEISS lenses. We’ve been pushing the boundaries in the fabrication and miniaturization of microchips for more than 40 years.

Approximately 60 percent of the microchips in mobile phones and other modern devices are manufactured using optics from Carl Zeiss. Nokia users profit from Carl Zeiss’ very long experience in developing photographic lenses, from cine and camera lenses to lenses for industrial applications, which have been used in everything from the moon landing to Nokia devices.

A unique co-operation that puts quality first

Together with Nokia we really take time to develop solutions for the best possible imaging result. Nokia devices with Carl Zeiss optics are never thrown on the market in a rush. We’re not interested in increasing megapixels by reducing the size of the single pixel to put more pixels on a similar sensor, while keeping the optics the same. What we do is continuously enhance the optics, because the lens is at the beginning of the image chain. Any image information that does not come through the lens to the sensor correctly will be lost. At the same time we use our imaging expertise to optimize all the components within the entire imaging chain because the lens is only one part of the whole story. By considering every element, we ensure an extraordinary imaging experience and optimum image results.

The Tessar lens and the birth of mobile photography
For mobile camera devices, it’s important to remember that the Tessar lens used in devices is a benchmark in optics. Different lens elements were processed in one single lens for the first time in 1902. (The Tessar lens was designed by Paul Rudolph, a highly talented scientist who worked with Carl Zeiss). The high resolution of the classic 4 lens element design of the Tessar was the first compact lens design. The name Tessar gives a clear indication of the original structure of the lens: “tessares”, Greek for “four”, indicates that the lens consists of four lens elements. With its higher resolution, this innovative lens made mobile photography possible. The Tessar lens allowed, for the first time, small film formats (nowadays sensors), which in turn helped make cameras themselves smaller, lighter and more portable. All compact camera lenses are based on that original invention!

Using the camera on your Nokia handset brings you closer to perfect images with Carl Zeiss quality optical technology. Images you can share with the world.

  • chester

[deleted post]may be sales of n8 will be affected if n9 price is bellow $750,but now n8 is going for $500.

I really hope it comes with all specs you mention but with 12mp camera 1080p@30fps recording,cause it's nokia flagship phone.

Price should be $800 so it won't affect n8 sales.Those who can afford it will buy,i've been saving for it :-)

  • emmory

this a phone of the century mother of all phones, I personally called my N900 meamo monster i wonder whI will call this piece of art. I use to hate nokia because they refuse to use other operating systems when i heard abt the n900 runing on a different os I really like it cos I dnt like symbian. the 64gb and the 1Gmhz snapdragon processor is a wellcome and talk of the ram 512 and the Rom 512 i think it will deffinatly have a place in the market contending with other phones. thank to the meego that is open source.

  • him

Anonymous, 16 Jan 2011the 5mp camera is nothing special for a new smartphone. It shoul... moreMy SIXTH SENSE TELLS THAT
it will definitely come with 8MP CAMERA WITH 4x DIGITAL ZOOM. and 720@30fps recording with full HD1080p playbook.

It will not have 12MP CAMERA becoz then sales Of N8 WILL BE AFFECTED.

CPU- IS ST Ericcson 1.2 Ghz U8500 DUAL CORE

GPU-ARM MALI 400(THis GPU can display upto 250m polygon/sec.

RAM-1GB(Initially it was 768 mb but nokia push it to 1GB thats why they couldnt launch it in DEC 2010.)

ROM-2GB

MEMORY-64 GB INTERNAL

PRICE-$750

what u think people about my specification.

  • chester

Emadtaker , 15 Jan 2011I read info about the look of N9, that it will not be the way we... moreya most people close say n9 will not have qwerty keyboard.nokia conversations released a concept of the phone with compact size (60x110x8)mm and 12mp camera with 4xoptical zoom,4inch 16x9 capacitive touch screen.i hope it comes with the much anticipated st-ericsson u8500,hey i must say that phone looks very very nice,no other phone can come close to it except the nokia morph.i'll wait for it even if they release it in December this year :-)

  • Questions.

This1 should have a 1500mAh battery and a 8 mp camera.