Nokia N9
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N9

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Mobilemaster

Anonymous, 18 Jan 2011This is absurd. First of all nokia has big chance announcing new... moreI agree with you, they need to announce the N9 Meego phone at MWC. If not, they will loose money successively.

  • Mobilemaster

Anonymous, 18 Jan 2011It's not possible to put CCD lense on mobile phone man because o... moreIf you don't know something please shut up! First analyze if it is possible or not! Just see the Sharp Sh-01B, or the Sharp Sh-01B. See the Altek Leo, and then we can talk! :D

  • Anonymous

CCD instead of CMOS, 18 Jan 2011Some updated rumors: 4.2 inches 1.2 GHz processor 12 MP camera w... moreIt's not possible to put CCD lense on mobile phone man because of lens size. Simple logic and physics....

  • NokiaFan

I hope it will video record at 1080p! It's time for 1080 Nokia! Be one of the first to boost to 1080p! LG has already produced it's phone with 1080p and Iphone 5 will probably record 1080p too.

Don't go for 720p! Nokia, listen to me if you want to avoid bankruptcy! Also I second this request: CCD instead of CMOS! Make your phone with CCD and proudly tell the world your camera is not only 12MP but it's CCD!!!

  • CCD instead of CMOS

Some updated rumors: 4.2 inches 1.2 GHz processor 12 MP camera with LED Flash HDMI ???????

OMG! If that will be true, I will definitely buy a Nokia N9 and drop my Iphone 4 dead!

Even though Nokia has good cameras, all Nokia cameras have CMOS sensors. I hope they can make a CCD sensor for Nokia N9! CCD is better than CMOS!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Anonymous

Mobilemaster, 18 Jan 2011Than what kind of phones they will announce at MWC? Only the X7 ... moreThis is absurd. First of all nokia has big chance announcing new flagship phone n9. Which has new os meego. It's the only big event for nokia to show the whole world the power of meego os. But if this guy olaf_peterson says this phone will not be announced at MWC. What phone will they announce e7,e6 and x7. Dammit we know it's all symbian os. Now i'm not blaming symbian os phone but they're all we have seen before. Is time for some change for nokia and for nokia fans as well. If nokia don't announce this phone at mwc then when? It will be too late because samsung is planning to announce galaxy S 2. Now e7,x7 or e6 is nothing new. Same old symbian os. Nokia i hope they don't screw this up!!!

  • Pawel

As many times before, obsolete on première. Everybody else will have dual core already;(

  • Anonymous

Ah also 768MB of RAM

  • Mobilemaster

olaf_peterson, 18 Jan 20111,2 Ghz Omap3??? Not really. And if that would be the case, then... moreThan what kind of phones they will announce at MWC? Only the X7 and the rumored E6?

  • olaf_peterson

1,2 Ghz Omap3??? Not really. And if that would be the case, then there would be no HDMI port, cause OMAP3 don’t support native HDMI-Output. I repeat, NO N9 at MWC! Believe it or not.

  • Anonymous

Some updated rumors:

4.2 inches
1.2 GHz processor
12 MP camera with LED Flash
HDMI

  • Emadtaker

olaf_peterson, 17 Jan 2011No Nokia N9 at MWC! NO NOKIA N9 with OMAP3!! New Nokia N9 with u... moreAre you sure about what you are saying??

  • olaf_peterson

No Nokia N9 at MWC! NO NOKIA N9 with OMAP3!! New Nokia N9 with updated Specifications (dual core cpu) coming H2 2011!!!

  • simple user

screen resolution sounds like from outer space (in Nokia terms) :-)

  • simple user

him, 16 Jan 2011My SIXTH SENSE TELLS THAT it will definitely come with 8MP CAM... moreyou forgot 2500 mAh battery perhaps??

otherwise all specs commented are too much to make the phone a reasonable product to sale.

  • Anonymous

laplace, 17 Jan 2011I know photo is not the most important part of this phone, but 5... moreMaybe announced at MWC.

  • Anonymous

Wount look like this.It has been changed!

  • Anonymous

fANBOy, 16 Jan 2011Upon release,this phone will pawn all droids,iOS and Blackberrie... moreAnd FreeBSD 7 will make all other operating systems obsolete upon release.

  • laplace

I know photo is not the most important part of this phone, but 5M seems really not enough.
Does anybody know when this f.... phone is coming?

  • him

ZEISS CAMERA STORY What ’s So Special About Carl Zeiss Lenses?

Thanks
to the ongoing
collaboration
between
Nokia,
the
global leader
in
mobility,
and Carl
Zeiss, a world
leader
in
optics, you can take advantage of the same high- quality optical lenses used by the NASA to discover and capture the moon landscapes and for the filming of the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

If you’ve used a Nokia smartphone, then the likelihood is you’ve used a Carl Zeiss lens. It’s an integral part of the Nokia N8, the world’s best cameraphone, and has helped ensure fantastic photos and videos on dozens of other devices. But have you ever wondered what exactly is so special about Carl Zeiss?
The two companies have collaborated since 2005 and have brought the design expertise and stringent quality requirements of Carl Zeiss to Nokia ’s product creation process for high-end camera devices.

As a result of the collaboration, consumers are able to capture, share, store and print better quality images with Nokia ’s flagship imaging devices. The outstanding scientific expertise from Carl Zeiss in camera optics and the industry-leading position of Nokia in the mobile phone market offer a solid foundation for the cooperation.

Many of the Nokia Nseries devices, are equipped with a special lens which corresponds to the classic Carl Zeiss four-element Tessar. The special features of this lens include its high definition, low chromatic aberration and high speed of f/2.9 – despite its small size.

160 years of expertise

Carl Zeiss has been in optics and imaging for more than 160 years. Examples of our expertise can be found in all walks of life. Planes, trains and automobiles withstand the tests of
time because measuring technology from Carl Zeiss is used to test their parts in production. Blockbuster movies such as ‘The Lord of the Rings’ benefit from the unique images made possible by ZEISS lenses. We’ve been pushing the boundaries in the fabrication and miniaturization of microchips for more than 40 years.

Approximately 60 percent of the microchips in mobile phones and other modern devices are manufactured using optics from Carl Zeiss. Nokia users profit from Carl Zeiss’ very long experience in developing photographic lenses, from cine and camera lenses to lenses for industrial applications, which have been used in everything from the moon landing to Nokia devices.

A unique co-operation that puts quality first

Together with Nokia we really take time to develop solutions for the best possible imaging result. Nokia devices with Carl Zeiss optics are never thrown on the market in a rush. We’re not interested in increasing megapixels by reducing the size of the single pixel to put more pixels on a similar sensor, while keeping the optics the same. What we do is continuously enhance the optics, because the lens is at the beginning of the image chain. Any image information that does not come through the lens to the sensor correctly will be lost. At the same time we use our imaging expertise to optimize all the components within the entire imaging chain because the lens is only one part of the whole story. By considering every element, we ensure an extraordinary imaging experience and optimum image results.

The Tessar lens and the birth of mobile photography
For mobile camera devices, it’s important to remember that the Tessar lens used in devices is a benchmark in optics. Different lens elements were processed in one single lens for the first time in 1902. (The Tessar lens was designed by Paul Rudolph, a highly talented scientist who worked with Carl Zeiss). The high resolution of the classic 4 lens element design of the Tessar was the first compact lens design. The name Tessar gives a clear indication of the original structure of the lens: “tessares”, Greek for “four”, indicates that the lens consists of four lens elements. With its higher resolution, this innovative lens made mobile photography possible. The Tessar lens allowed, for the first time, small film formats (nowadays sensors), which in turn helped make cameras themselves smaller, lighter and more portable. All compact camera lenses are based on that original invention!

Using the camera on your Nokia handset brings you closer to perfect images with Carl Zeiss quality optical technology. Images you can share with the world.