Xiaomi Mi Max review: Hulked up

06 June 2016
Goodbye Alexander Bell, hello Tim Berners-Lee and Ray Tomlinson. The inventor of the telephone would not have approved of the hulking 6.44" but the Xiaomi Mi Max is the kind of device the pioneers of WWW and email would love it.

Sort by:

  • AnonD-436254

DantE O2, 07 Jun 2016but when you leave home or another place you should carry your p... moredude, you must read the review again, end of page 3! web browsing 19 hours, video playback 16 hours! there is no way you can drain that during the day! I have a note3 with 10000mah battery and that with wifi, 4g, bt, gps enabled and music(on bt) + gps goes off from it loses 10% charge per hour( 2.5 year old phone/battery ). I see it very challanging to run out of juice on this device within a day, on extreme heavy use ( hence seriously considering it! ). Probably the only thing can drain the battery off before you make it to the end of the day is heavy gaming.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-77530, 07 Jun 2016Not for my taste. I understand there is demand for 6.4' but if i... moreWho wouldn't leave an expensive mid-ranger of a phone with horrible battery life?

  • AnonD-77530

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2016Nope, sounds like a great phone. I own a Nexus 6 now and this wo... moreNot for my taste. I understand there is demand for 6.4' but if it was great enough, Sony haven't left this market. Remember Sony Z Ultra.

  • Anonymous

ljames, 07 Jun 2016do you understand that the gsmarena team, or any team of any tec... moreObviously you know nothing about integrity. When you start bashing something because it's a personal preference then you lost all credibility. I've been a reader for over a decade and for the most part, gsmarena is the most unbiased tech review site that I go to. To say that big phones is a disadvantage is like saying iOS is a disadvantage, you're putting your own opinion like it's a fact. When you can't quantity something, you shouldn't be listing it as a disadvantage. PERIOD. When you can quantity the fact that a small battery provide less on-screen usage, a SD652 is slower than a SD820 based on synthetic benchmark, 2gb ram provide less multitasking and performance vs 4gb, etc...then you can objectively list it as a disadvantage.

To arbitrarily pick something that you can't quantity and list it as a disadvantage just shows the lack of knowledge that the reviewer has for the product that he's reviewing.

AnonD-436254, 06 Jun 2016you have to put the phone down sometimes man! but when you leave home or another place you should carry your phone, right.
it's like where ever you go you are looking to finish the charging you started hours ago.
so you could only put it into charge at night before sleep.it runs outta battery at daytime and you should stick by around 4 hours or carry around the charger everywhere to finish the charging, that's not wise.

  • joly

I'm into large phones, best article so far

  • Anonymous

AnonD-77530, 07 Jun 2016Too big. Until 6 inches I could support, but.Nope, sounds like a great phone. I own a Nexus 6 now and this would be a nice one to have as well. Very tempting.

  • Rudy

Does it have NFC?

  • Redmond

They can choose whatever they want.

  • AnonD-77530

Too big. Until 6 inches I could support, but.

  • AnonD-81569

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2016Have decent specs and design... Even nice big battery and massiv... moreIt's moveable with button setting inside the phone

  • Anonymous

Looks like a frisbee

  • AnonD-286474

A new negative should be added for phones which cannot be purchased in normal stores, available only via flash sales and very low amount of units produced resulting in almost always out of stock status

  • AnonD-436254

ljames, 07 Jun 2016do you understand that the gsmarena team, or any team of any tec... moreI have to disagree with you, and agree with the original comment. I'm 6'4" and have a size of a hand as a basketball player, I simply cannot use my company iphone 4s for anything else other than phone calls - however in most cases I still just forward it to my note3. This phone with it's 5.7" phone is OK size, however considering most large phones (5.7"+ )released in the last 2.5 years have some serious disadvantages like stupidly small battery.
For any site doing reviews including GSMarena ( which I have been a frequent visitor in the last years ) doing a review on an item like large phone makes no sense to me to list it as disadvantage for it's primary purpose!

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2016I think ASUS Zenfone 3 Ultra.Do you think which one has a better battery life?

  • AnonD-477751

Very happy for this review, Thanks GSMarena.

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2016So if "big, large, massive" is a disadvantage then "small,puny, ... moredo you understand that the gsmarena team, or any team of any tech website out there, have their own views and preferences, just as you do? you are not the basis for anything. you are nothing. so shut it.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2016I think the camera is good because their mi4c and mi5 produce a ... moreif you think it is comparable to mi4c it is wrong camera is crappy

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 07 Jun 2016So if "big, large, massive" is a disadvantage then "small,puny, ... moreAgreed to this one and please gsmarena please do your review faster than this because I used this almost a month already the screen dimmed compare to the like of mate 8

  • Heini

Even tho they say it doesnt support quickcharge ( which is probably true for the 3.0 ), this guy here charged it with a quickcharge 2.0 adapter and results are decent: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Z16rmJ652M

Took him 2 hours 35 minutes for a full charge, that's more than decent considering that the battery size is 60% larger ( 4,8k vs 3k mAh ) than most common phones out there