Meizu Pro 6 Plus review: imPROved

18 January 2017
Meizu Pro 5 used to be an excellent device and when the company didn't follow the same formula with the Pro 6 it left many of us surprised and its fans disappointed due to the choice of specs, which didn't seem to make it a true successor to Meizu's top dog. Today, the new Pro 6 Plus brings back the big 5.7" AMOLED screen and also comes with 1440p resolution. It comes with the top-end Exynos chip by Samsung - the same one that powers the Galaxy S7 series.

Sort by:

AnonD-629997, 19 Jan 2017Ritzie niether the meizu website nor GSM arena mentions a 6... moreAnd what made you think that was me "Anonymous"????
Learn to read first, ya?

And why are you looking at Meizu for a 6GB version of ZTE Axon 7?
Go check AliExpress or Bangood for 6GB version of ZTE Axon 7. Enter at your own risk, though as some sellers have trust issues based on other's customer experience

  • Ashll

Anonymous, 19 Jan 2017"OnePlus 3T is one of the most memorable phablets throughou... moreThat one plus 3 doesn't look bad but I do I t understand what is so special about. It's more expensive than a lg v10, no removable battery, no expandable storage, DAC? (I couldn't find d which dad have, probably integrated snapdragon).

Anonymous, 19 Jan 2017enough with this oneplus overhyped stuff... go figure, a br... moreCorrect, OP3T is overhyped, more expensive and seldomly available while an equally powerful Le Pro 3 with bigger battery, IR blaster and cheaper is widely available in LeMall,Amazon, Target and Bestbuy.

I can't wait for GSMA review of Le Pro 3. =D

  • Anonymous

AnonD-442781, 19 Jan 2017Still too expensive when the Oneplus 3T is going for $440. ... moreI think it should, since except SoC it is better device. So 500$ would be fine.. But 500$ in EU or US, not 500$ + Tax

  • Raky

Nice device, but i don't see any reason to buy it and not S7edge.
0,2' bigger screen is not so that could attract me, since it is even more expensive than "original".

  • Anonymous

Great profit trick making always overclocked the highest variant 128GB model toy make it more attractive

  • Anonymous

"OnePlus 3T is one of the most memorable phablets throughout 2016 and has much wider availability. It's slightly better equipped than the Meizu Pro 6 Plus, sans the display, and its clean Oxygen OS and fast updates are cherished by many. It's even less expensive than the Meizu Pro 6 Plus so it's worth a consideration."

To me this is a rather precarious floor that Meizu stand on with the Pro 6 Plus. Meaning that the one justification to set it apart should be at least its overall build quality to cover the asking RRP.

Because if it's not, then I fail to see why adopters couldn't opt for 1+3T instead

  • Anonymous

Ritzie, 19 Jan 2017Or the ZTE Axon 7 which has now the 6GB variant and priced ... moreenough with this oneplus overhyped stuff... go figure, a brand selling only on invitation and only on the net. Go for bette rbrands, this oneplus is only hype not backed up with serious commercial strategies

thank you gsmarena!!! always number 1 !!!

  • AnonD-629997

Anonymous, 19 Jan 20176GB RAM VARIANT comes with 128gb storage,2 year warranty,dr... moreRitzie niether the meizu website nor GSM arena mentions a 6 GB version so I am prone to think there isn't one... http://meizu.com/products/pro6plus/spec.html , just translate the site to English. As far as retailers go I don't trust those Aliexpress and the like. Last time I got my phone from honorbuy and I was content with a small remark they didnt mention that there were chinese and global versions.

As far as the Axon 7 goes technically speaking it provides roughly the same performance but with the addition of stereo speakers. If one would be looking for capability the axon 7 is slightly better imho, I'd still go with the Meizu though as a fan.

  • AnonD-632062

AnonD-292864, 19 Jan 2017MediaTek Helio x20/x25 is not an inefficient chipset. The p... moreYou have actually proved my point.
The Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 using a Helio X20 only manages 83 hours.
That is very poor for a 4100mAh and only a 1080p screen.
http://www.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_redmi_note_4-review-1504p3.php

But the S6 Active using an efficient Exynos 7420 chipset endures for 109 hours and this is with a QHD screen and "just" 3500mAh.
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s6_active-review-1268p3.php

  • AngryLithuanian

Thanks GSMArena for this review. Are you guys planning to at least do time saver version on Meizu Pro 6S ? I'm eyeballing on that babe since the announcement. It has almost 20% bigger battery than Pro 6 but keeps the same footprint.

  • AngryLithuanian

AnonD-234961, 19 Jan 2017Is it only me that immediately after seeing a new review go... moreThat and Conclusion at the end. 😂
And if these gets me interested or leaves me uncertain then I check the whole review.😏🔍📃

  • AnonD-292864

AnonD-632062, 19 Jan 2017I do that too, first battery life then I start reading from... moreMediaTek Helio x20/x25 is not an inefficient chipset. The problem with the Pro 6 is the small battery not the chipset. Redmi Note 4 has a good endurance rating with the same chipset.
http://m.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_redmi_note_4-review-1504p3.php

  • AnonD-632062

Wait a minute. Where is the night time demo of the 10-ring LED flash that was praised so much in the review???

  • AnonD-632062

AnonD-234961, 19 Jan 2017Is it only me that immediately after seeing a new review go... moreI do that too, first battery life then I start reading from the start! Battery is king, without any battery, you phone is reduced to costly piece of brick! LOL :D!

BTW I hope Meizu (or any maker) never resorts to using Mediatek Helio X25 chipsets for their flagships again. I hope they have realized their mistake with the inefficient Meizu Pro 6.

  • Anonymous

Ritzie, 19 Jan 2017Or the ZTE Axon 7 which has now the 6GB variant and priced ... more6GB RAM VARIANT comes with 128gb storage,2 year warranty,drop and pickup services,
3d touch.
so it is way better than OP3

AnonD-442781, 19 Jan 2017Still too expensive when the Oneplus 3T is going for $440. ... moreOr the ZTE Axon 7 which has now the 6GB variant and priced at the same level

  • AnonD-442781

Ritzie, 19 Jan 2017I checked AliExpress and some are selling the 64GB version ... moreStill too expensive when the Oneplus 3T is going for $440. Meizu shouldn't be above $350-380.

AnonD-629997, 19 Jan 2017Hey does anybody know where/when can I buy a meizu pro 6 pl... moreAliExpress and Bangood has it.
However, they don't have the 6GB version.... yet