Samsung Galaxy J7 (2017) review: Major Junior League

19 July 2017
The Galaxy J7 (2017) is the latest annual edition of an already popular phone. The J series has already shaped as a home to some solid midrange propositions and the Galaxy J7 (2017) is meant to spice things up even further. The newcomer is blurring the lines between the J series and the A series just as we thought we had Samsung’s portfolio segmentation all figured out.

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

It has poor quality camera lens. The corners and edges are blurry.

  • Anonymous

Bddszjh, 20 Jul 2017This review also includes automatic brightness photos.I think he is talking about the screen brightness, not the photos.

  • Bddszjh

Anonymous, 20 Jul 2017Hmm, i watched a Youtube review and there was no auto brightness... moreThis review also includes automatic brightness photos.

  • Anonymous

How is a 340 EUR phone a "lower end device"?

  • AnonD-640318

AnonD-473763, 20 Jul 2017I regreted buying Samsung J7 Prime only to find out that all J s... moreI don't know who's more stupid, Samsung or people that bought their product without doing a research first? I don't disagree with you that Samsung is shameless to STILL NOT INCLUDING AUTO BRIGHTNESS SINCE J3 2015 which is two years ago even when they have cranked their tags to $300++ now.

  • Anonymous

As samsung fan,Im feel ashamed of this brand reputation..

Redmi Note 4 buyer will laugh after read this review

  • AnonD-473763

Anonymous, 20 Jul 2017Hmm, i watched a Youtube review and there was no auto brightness... moreI regreted buying Samsung J7 Prime only to find out that all J series has NO auto-brightness. Stupid Samsung, budget phone shall be all "Redmi" series by Xiaomi (the budget King).

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Jul 2017Still lacks ambient light sensor. Useless!Wrong info dude!

  • Anonymous

Geez... XA1 is 5.0 inch but J7 is 5.5 inch. They don't even appeal to the same consumer market so why is this review comparing them? This is phablet territory.

  • Anonymous

punmeisterone, 20 Jul 2017Nope, the light sensor is available.Hmm, i watched a Youtube review and there was no auto brightness setting.

AnonD-685891, 20 Jul 2017It has Samsung Pay Mini not Samsung Pay. I confirmed it from Store.In India, j7 pro has samsung pay while j7 max has samsung pay mini

After reading this review, I can say that XPERIA XA1 is a better phone overall. Better design with better performance and even though this reviewed phone got a waterproof rating, they should rather not mention it because of how low the rating is and that is the lowest I ever seen. The camera on XPERIA XA1 is better with 23MP and plus they reduced noise after the XPERIA XZ. Yes battery is bigger on this phone but the XPERIA XA1 got fast charging so thats a plus

That 1.6ghz processor again? Cmon the GALAXY A7 2017 is better with 1.9ghz processor. Seen my friend playing NBA LIVE MOBILE on a GALAXY J7 PRIME. And what is so weird is that there is a lot of free RAM, but running the game itself is kind of laggy. Even with other games. Scrolling got some lag. Not recommended if they launch a phone with that processor. For those who want a good midrange flagship from Samsung get GALAXY A7 2017, it is faster

Anonymous, 20 Jul 2017Still lacks ambient light sensor. Useless!Nope, the light sensor is available.

  • Anonymous

Still lacks ambient light sensor. Useless!

  • dEEN

I think this device is really amazing! It works perfect, the camera work is pure and professional!
The only disadvantage is the missing LED indicator.

  • Mumbai-Indians

It should atleast have been used SD630.
Nothing special except battery endurance & AMOLED screen.

  • AnonD-685891

It has Samsung Pay Mini not Samsung Pay. I confirmed it from Store.

  • Anonymous

If you are going to insist that Low grade water resistance is one of the disadvantages in a phone then why not put below 64 is a disadvantage memory in New phones especially if there is no SDcard available .