Xiaomi Mi 8 review

27 June 2018
Announced less than a month ago and selling like hotcakes in its homeland, the Mi 8 is Xiaomi's latest top model. What happened to the Mi 7, you ask? Well, it's the company's 8-year anniversary, and it must be celebrated.

Sort by:

  • Adam

Miguel, 30 Aug 2019Hey there!! So..The Mi 8 has got a faster chipset as the last ... moreDoes the mi 8 has better battery than the mi 6 it IS a good battery also the mi 8 has only mono no stereo so does it have a very good sound like the s8 or oneplus 6 or just the mi 6 ?

  • Aqim

Which one do you think is better the Mi 8 or the Mi 9T? Any reasons would be greatly appreciated.

  • Miguel

Ryr321, 10 Jul 2019Which one do you think is better the Mi 8 or the Samsung A70? An... moreHey there!!
So..The Mi 8 has got a faster chipset as the last year's flagship SnapDragon 845 is a way faster chip still! If you're wondering about the Camera department, The Mi 8 will have the best quality sensor, I repeat, quality!! The A70 has an extra wide-angle camera, which can be pretty useful..Both record 4k video, but the Mi 8 can record 4k60fps while the A70 can't, I think!..Either way, I'll recommend you to use the Google Cam in any of the devices! The Mi 8 will probably have more stabilization tho!
Now in the battery department, the A70 will probably take the best..It has got 1000 mAh Over the Mi 8, so I'm guessing you'll have a bit more of screen on time!
Now if you want a more recent device, you already know the A70 is newer, and it has got a display with more screen to body ratio, if that's your thing! Both will be updated to android 10 but I think Xiaomi is quite better with updates over the years, more longevity can be provided, I guess..
That's it, hit me up if you have any questions!!

  • Qasim

Ryr321, 10 Jul 2019Which one do you think is better the Mi 8 or the Samsung A70? An... moreOf course mi 8

  • Anonymous

Ryr321, 10 Jul 2019Which one do you think is better the Mi 8 or the Samsung A70? An... moresamsung A70 has touchscreen issue especially with multitouch
I would not buy it for this reason
same as pocophone f1, redmi 5 series

I do think mi 8 is a safer option

  • Ryr321

Which one do you think is better the Mi 8 or the Samsung A70? Any reasons would be greatly appreciated.

For alternatives, why the Galaxy S8? It's from the year before, and isn't even really a good rival, compared to the S9s and even the S8+. I think the S9+ would've been a better option. Good review otherwise though.

  • TienBac

K-Eikka, 07 Apr 2019My Mi 8 AnTuTu (v7.1.7) result was 298038 :-) How? Why my score is only 230K?

  • Raj

After updating to miui global 10.3, Bluetooth does not working in my mi 8. How can I fix this???

My Mi 8 AnTuTu (v7.1.7) result was 298038 :-)

  • Anonymous

TrumpetNick, 10 Dec 2018I am about to buy one but (I don't buy very often smartphones)..... moreMost smartphone distorted when recording live concert with built in mic. Buy external microphone.

  • Anonymous

If you see this lab screen review mi 8 amoled should be better rather than mix 2s ips. But in reality if you see side by side you will found mix 2s have better colour reproduce. Very strange

  • Jamey

Couldn't process fingerprint, please try again

  • Cull Obsidian

Vegetaholic, 25 Dec 2018Most disappointing Xiaomi flagship ever, shitty termal managment... moreDo you own one? What are you doing when the phone's temperature rises? Are you using a custom ROM?

  • Vikolus

Anonymous, 29 Jun 2018"Well, it's the company's 8-year anniversary, and it must be cel... more8 is a good number in China's culture

Most disappointing Xiaomi flagship ever, shitty termal managment and avatage camera, better avoid it

  • TrumpetNick

I am about to buy one but (I don't buy very often smartphones)....What was bugging me with my old Xiaomi MiNote pro 2 was the white noise when video recording and how easy the sound distorted when recording music live - were these issues resolved in Mi8?

  • DikkertjeDap

Funny thing: my Mi 8 uses the same lens for photo (1x and 2x), only portrait mode will use the second lens.

Simply tested with my finger finger. Keep it for a lens. The top lens is the portrait lens, the bottom one for the Photo, hitting 2x means zoom. That's why it's not really sharp, it's half resolution.

That also explains the small blurred lag in the Photo app going from Portrait to photo mode.

Confirmed by exif info:
Top lens (portrait) has focal length: 5.2mm
Bottom lens (Photo 1x and 2x) has focal length: 4.216

Is Xiaomi selling different models, or is everybody mistaken with the telephoto thing. It's nowhere 2x focal length.

Rennie0907, 15 Oct 2018I love this phone - I just bought mine two weeks ago - having... moreAnd what about the throttling and over heating issue as reported by this review?

  • halp

My Mi 8, which I've had for three months does not have video EIS... I mean the option is there ("stabilization") but turning it on has no effect. How are they doing this??