Xiaomi Mi 8 review

27 June 2018
Announced less than a month ago and selling like hotcakes in its homeland, the Mi 8 is Xiaomi's latest top model. What happened to the Mi 7, you ask? Well, it's the company's 8-year anniversary, and it must be celebrated.

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

TrumpetNick, 10 Dec 2018I am about to buy one but (I don't buy very often smartphon... moreMost smartphone distorted when recording live concert with built in mic. Buy external microphone.

  • Anonymous

If you see this lab screen review mi 8 amoled should be better rather than mix 2s ips. But in reality if you see side by side you will found mix 2s have better colour reproduce. Very strange

  • Jamey

Couldn't process fingerprint, please try again

  • Cull Obsidian

Vegetaholic, 25 Dec 2018Most disappointing Xiaomi flagship ever, shitty termal mana... moreDo you own one? What are you doing when the phone's temperature rises? Are you using a custom ROM?

  • Vikolus

Anonymous, 29 Jun 2018"Well, it's the company's 8-year anniversary, and it must b... more8 is a good number in China's culture

Most disappointing Xiaomi flagship ever, shitty termal managment and avatage camera, better avoid it

  • TrumpetNick

I am about to buy one but (I don't buy very often smartphones)....What was bugging me with my old Xiaomi MiNote pro 2 was the white noise when video recording and how easy the sound distorted when recording music live - were these issues resolved in Mi8?

  • DikkertjeDap

Funny thing: my Mi 8 uses the same lens for photo (1x and 2x), only portrait mode will use the second lens.

Simply tested with my finger finger. Keep it for a lens. The top lens is the portrait lens, the bottom one for the Photo, hitting 2x means zoom. That's why it's not really sharp, it's half resolution.

That also explains the small blurred lag in the Photo app going from Portrait to photo mode.

Confirmed by exif info:
Top lens (portrait) has focal length: 5.2mm
Bottom lens (Photo 1x and 2x) has focal length: 4.216

Is Xiaomi selling different models, or is everybody mistaken with the telephoto thing. It's nowhere 2x focal length.

Rennie0907, 15 Oct 2018I love this phone - I just bought mine two weeks ago - h... moreAnd what about the throttling and over heating issue as reported by this review?

  • halp

My Mi 8, which I've had for three months does not have video EIS... I mean the option is there ("stabilization") but turning it on has no effect. How are they doing this??

I love this phone -

I just bought mine two weeks ago - having never owned a Xiaomi before - and I have to say I'm impressed.

I've always only ever used iPhone- and this phones build quality is every bit as good.

Performance is stellar - the Snapdragon with the 6 gigs of RAM - there's nothing I can do to this thing to slow it down it just flies.

The only thing I would suggest is that you pay attention to the size of the phone in the hand it's not a very small phone compared to your standard iPhone or even Galaxy.

So the size has taken the most to get used to -

But otherwise I would highly recommend

  • dothan

Tomas, 08 Aug 2018OMG, really!! Its regrettable! Its go one big step behind h... moreMy Mi 8 Global ROM is showing 4 m accuracy (max) when in open sky.

  • Anonymous

abhishek, 23 Aug 2018i want to buy a flagship phone under 40000.bt i m so cnfuse... moremi 8 explore or oppo r17 pro

  • abhishek

i want to buy a flagship phone under 40000.bt i m so cnfused..nd scared about wht will camra or video quality after buy it..plz plz suggest me a flagship with this range.. .better camra .better battery .notch nd video..help?

  • Skrllz02

Asian, 06 Jul 2018In Eastern, number 8 is symbol of prosperity, weath and luc... moreNice!

  • Skrllz02

Does anyone know what is the model number of the MI 8 global version, 6GB ram + 128 GB? I'm checking on the compatibility of this phone to be used in my country but I needed the model number

  • Tomas

Nick, 07 Jul 2018What???No 1080p 60fps video???What the hell???OMG, really!! Its regrettable! Its go one big step behind his competitors!

  • joe

The GPS doesn't make use of the dual band yet.
It may be solved in future firmware releases but till now most users get very low accuracy, worse than with other phones, near 16 meters. The accuracy increases when you are moving because of the algorithms used.
Only users in China get good results, but not because of the dual band (L1+L5) but because they use the Chinese Beidou signal. Anyway, far from the alleged 30cm accuracy.

  • MobileGamer

Enma, 23 Jul 2018I just got this phone today, and I do have to say it is awe... moreWhat's your review of this phone for mobile games?

  • Enma

I just got this phone today, and I do have to say it is awesome, fast, good battery and stuff. Even the notch actually looks good.