Samsung Galaxy Note9 review

20 August 2018
How time has passed - we're at nine now. Seven years after the original, the Samsung Galaxy Note9 stands before us. The numbers don't add up, no, because Samsung chose to skip the 6, and it didn't really quite work out splendidly with the Note7. But that's all in the past and we're looking ahead.

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

LilSweetLin, 21 Aug 2018Is the 97H battery endurance rating for the Exynos Note 9, ... moreYes exynos...

Is the 97H battery endurance rating for the Exynos Note 9, or the Snapdragon Note 9? I live in the US, but it seems the Exynos variants always have slightly better battery endurance; especially in terms of standby time.

When can we compare the 60fps modes with each other? I wonder how good is the Note9's 4K 60fps videos compare to S9+. Because I watched the AppleInsider's video about S9+ vs iX at 4K 60fps, video shows that S9+ actually has lower quality than iX. Are they fixed that issue in Note9 (or maybe in S9+ with update)?

Thanks.

  • Anonymous

AlienOverlord, 20 Aug 2018As an S9 Plus owner, no desire or need to change models. I ... moreWhat's the name of the app for remapping?
Thanks

  • Anonymous

[deleted post]Its because the retail version from the market their in still doesn't have the XZ2. They cant review a non retail version based on the proper market.

Best phone money can buy on the planet. PERIOD!

Kirk, 20 Aug 2018The best part about this phone is getting a free Skin and V... moreFunny how you forgot that the phone itself is pretty damn awesome.

[deleted post]Good point. This model is clearly not the best and not the first. But the most user fooling. In real life XZ2P is top speed, battery and camera at night. Simply amazing!

As an S9 Plus owner, no desire or need to change models. I was an original Note 1 and then 2 owner, but found that the (boxy) size became an issue and S Pen was going unused. I can't see myself going back to another Note, however good it may be.

The Note 9 is an undoubtedly tremendous, spec packed phone. But having held one in the local phone shop, its sharp corners are pretty uncomfortable to hold. The S9/Plus are far better in that respect. Even the Samsung rep commented it was fairly angular and jutted into the palms. Something to consider and try, before you buy. But I'm firmly in the camp that, unless you need the S Pen, you're better off with the standard (and cheaper) S9 Plus.

Also, I still remain perplexed why GSM Arena reviewers never mention the apps available on Play Store, which allow for simple remapping of the Bixby button. It's the first thing I did when I acquired my S9 Plus. My button performs 3 different functions, based on how I press it. Even though I've had security updates nearly every month, the remapping still works.

Anyhoo, enjoy the Note 9 if you buy it.

  • Kirk

The best part about this phone is getting a free Skin and Vbucks for Fortnite if you pre-order, that's it unfortunately...

  • shilran

''particularly unattractive back'', Totally agree with this statement of you. Samsung should change the design of back of the phones. including S series. Apple style back camera set would be nice. this is unattractive.

  • Anonymous

Salah, 20 Aug 2018Is anybody going to talk about it's poor performance compar... moreIt happens every year. All other phones with 8xx are faster than Samsung. UI full of options does not make it slower, just excuse.

  • Anonymous

kinda disappointed with low light camera. it as bad as the pixel.... note 8 had more detail.

Excuse me, are you mad? The phone's daylight shots are completely brushed. Watercolor effect everywhere and completely no detail at all. Judging from your samples!!

  • Salah

Is anybody going to talk about it's poor performance compared to other SD845 phones?

  • AnonD-632062

Anonymous, 20 Aug 2018In your opinionNo, not just in opinions. But according to reviews, specifications and hard facts too.

No other smartphone is as featured, complete and well-rounded as the Note9. No phone is 100% perfect, but the phone closest to it right now is the Note9.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Aug 2018I wish Samsung would make a flat screened flagship again,a ... moretrue

  • Anonymous

AnonD-632062, 20 Aug 2018The Best All-round phone there is. Period.In your opinion

  • S6 User

Anonymous, 20 Aug 2018I wish Samsung would make a flat screened flagship again,a ... moreIt looks like the S10 will have a flat screen, Idk about the S10+ or Note 10 though.

  • Anonymous

I bet the 960fps uses same trick of p20 to be longer.
0.2s of 969fps then interpolation for more 0.2s