Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 review

09 January 2019
Once a prop for the communicating devices in sci-fi flicks, today the edge-to-edge screen has become a must-have feature for any flagship smartphone. It was Xiaomi who made the first steps in this direction back with their original Mi Mix phone a year before Apple came up with their notched iPhone X. The Mi Mix 3 proves once again that nothing is impossible and delivers a truly bezel-less screen with a twist (or rather, with a slide).

Sort by:

Thinking about getting one..
Couldn't care less about that slider selfie thing but everything else is just great.So is the price:385euro for the 8/128 GB variant.

  • Keong

Mewhdi, 16 Mar 2019I want to buy this phone I heard this phone is very overweight ... moreNot really it's just alright. I can't feel the extra with another 30grm or so.

  • Anonymous

Mewhdi, 16 Mar 2019I want to buy this phone I heard this phone is very overweight ... moreits is actually and battery life is shit

  • Spreethegr8

Note that face unlock option is available only if we set region to Taiwan for global version of the phone.

This phone won.

  • Mewhdi

I want to buy this phone
I heard this phone is very overweight and not easy to use for longtime in hand
Is it true?
If you have it plz guide
Thanks.

  • Ed

Super office app doesn't work on mix3.
Some other apps doesn't work either....

  • Ronnie

What was the game you're playing at 3:32???

  • Anonymous

Aspros, 26 Jan 2019Yeah but where you look and optical illusions are just that, ill... moreA bit over dramatic are we?

Marco M, 10 Jan 2019Yes it still has a chin visible in photos and invisible during u... moreYeah but where you look and optical illusions are just that, illusions.
The point of sliders is to trully expand the percentage of display ratio, not just look like it.
For some ppl appearances is the only thing that matters and mi mix obviously focus on them.
You prolly are one of them. I can understand why you are pleased, but i belong to the ones that value the essence over appearances and for such ppl, mi mix 3 is a huge disappointment, a great failure, our best hope to see a new innovative idea that could trully improve the screen/body ratio was actually proved to be the biggest disappointment.
So i for one "settled" with 6T, it has better screen/body ratio than mi mix, much bigger battery, cheaper, more readily available in Europe and more reliable without mechanical parts...

  • TeeEl

Is it only the "Forbidden City" edition that has 10GB? Everything else is only 6 or 8.

vs magic 2 pleas

mNiosu, 14 Jan 2019Is it just me or the photos from the GSMArena 6T review look mos... moreIt's not difficult to see. Mi Mix 3 has better zoom range (biggest difference), less noise and better color rendition. The low light sample (comparison) here at gsmarena for oneplus 6t is very yellow, even compared the Mi Mix 3 which has quite warm colors already, compared to SGS9+ and Pixel 3 in example.

Is it just me or the photos from the GSMArena 6T review look mostly better than the ones for Mix 3?
I wonder how DXOMark justifies their higher score for the Mix 3 than for 6T.

Vlad, 11 Jan 2019Not sure how the Selfie Camera figures add up: 24 MP, 0.9 pixel ... moreDiagonal measurement :-)

  • Anonymous

Dolanescu, 11 Jan 2019Just imagine this device with Android ONE software at this price :DI hate stock android

  • Anonym

Vlad, 11 Jan 2019Not sure how the Selfie Camera figures add up: 24 MP, 0.9 pixel ... moreIn order to double a surface, you need to double both width and height. If each unit is a pixel, then you need two for the horizontal and two for the vertical, so four pixels to get the equivalent of a double-sized *surface* unit.

  • Anonymous

Bring on the Mi Mix 3S with SD 855 ;)

Anonymous, 11 Jan 2019Too bad it can't be an official Android One. But, if you're will... moreYes, you have a point of view, but I can buy a pixel... is true... more money and probably overall(except the stereo speakers :D) low hardware...
But today all flagships have enough hardware power so we have the interaction with the software and here android one/pixel experience is the best... all popular apps(youtube, facebook, mail app...) are always working and interaction with the OS very good... on MIUI and other GUI's sometimes you need to wait few months or a year to solve some software issues...

P.S. I used 2 XIAOMI flagship phones... at that time I believed the hardware is most important... but you know how easy is to maintain a pixel? take a lot of photos and I never lose time to backup or move them? how easy is to find a 3 years old photo in over 10k files?
For one year on a mi5s, I was not able to switch the camera in the FB messenger... you know how frustrating is this? etc... etc...

  • Anonymous

Dolanescu, 11 Jan 2019Just imagine this device with Android ONE software at this price :DToo bad it can't be an official Android One. But, if you're willing, you can unlock bootloader and install a custom ROM based on stock Android such as Pixel Experience and the like.