Huawei P40 Pro review

26 Mar 2020


Sort by:

AnonD-925619, 03 Apr 2020I couldn't agree more. The P40 Pro is NOT a premium phone, it... moreCan you stop trolling ffs? The only thing you got right with is the mono speaker bit, other than that what you just said is an absolute BS. Mods blocked you so that they could shut you up, not so that you could make a new account and troll even harder on the forum.

  • Anonymous

Shui8, 03 Apr 2020Luckily my country pricing on P40 series seems good. P40 - $6... morenear to 1000 for a phone with so much flaw is not good . The mate 30 is $400 now in my country .

  • AnonD-925619

Morsel, 03 Apr 2020I think the P40 pro price will be higher in EU countries. The ... moreYou're right sweetheart, it will.

ypcx, 03 Apr 2020Display on the Pro Plus will be Samsung OLED. https://www.gsmar... moreAre you a Sony Fan ?
Nah. You can't be. They are not like this.
Possibly a Xiaomi or Oneplus fan.

Morsel, 03 Apr 2020Practically it is worse. This is how I got my doubt about DxOM... moreFor that, I have no exact answer.

The only think I could think of are, they test it in a proper lab, studios, professionally (over 1500 pics tested) over average youtuber reviewer. The conclusion are made by a lot of situation, and they indeed handles a lot of other brand for comparison.

And they did mention firmware used are newer than other review unit, which will be updated on retail unit later.

AHA, 03 Apr 2020I am sure the photos are if not the best one of the best...but i... moreDisplay on the Pro Plus will be Samsung OLED.
https://www.gsmarena.com/report_huawei_p40_pro_u­ses_samsung_oled_p40_pro_using_a_mix_of_oleds_-n­ews-42400.php
Still, I won't buy it due to the "ultrawide" screwup.

Shui8, 03 Apr 2020Luckily my country pricing on P40 series seems good. P40 - $6... moreOnly Chinese people and some Asian countries actually get real value while buying Chinese smartphones(except OnePlus maybe). In Western countries it's not like that. The price is much higher if you consider about Chinese or Indian pricing.

Shui8, 03 Apr 2020Its a theory at least, by physics. I dont think u will find h... morePractically it is worse.
This is how I got my doubt about DxOMARK's scoring. Until this I was not so sure about everyone accusing DxOMARK for ...... .
Practically youtubers showed it's not up to the level with others at this point. So, how the hell did the P40 pro get that much score for AF ?

Morsel, 03 Apr 2020I think the P40 pro price will be higher in EU countries. The ... moreLuckily my country pricing on P40 series seems good.

P40 - $684
P40 Pro - $953

Now, on the Pro+, a heavy $1222. Ouch. I know i wont spend that much money for a smartphone. Better buy good quality lens for my actual camera. Or even new camera to my collector's list.

Morsel, 03 Apr 2020These are hypothetical analyzation.Its a theory at least, by physics.

I dont think u will find huge gap differents on daylight regarding AF speed between others. Huawei's new AF shine in lowlight, where again in theory, should be better than conventional Dual Pixel.

Shui8, 03 Apr 2020Believe me, it is her. Or maybe he, using a girl's name. The ... moreBut I have seen that name before too. Even if it's her
I wonder what would she get out of it !

AnonD-925619, 03 Apr 2020Thank you for the info. I think they should lower the price b... moreI think the P40 pro price will be higher in EU countries.
The Mate 30 pro was almost 1200$ in the UK just a month ago.

Morsel, 03 Apr 2020You gotta be ..... . I don't think that's Emeline. I have se... moreBelieve me, it is her. Or maybe he, using a girl's name.

The profile just created 5 hours ago.

Ashl, 03 Apr 2020Hey boss, Huawei P series is meant for photography and not perfo... moreThat's not How SoC market works.
SoCs that are release in 2nd half of a year and first half of next year is considered as same generation as they have opportunity to use same technology.
In that regard the Kirin 990 will be compared with Sd 865.

Shui8, 03 Apr 2020It is UltraWide lens. I'm not the one saying it, its the basic r... moreYou gotta be ..... .
I don't think that's Emeline.
I have seen that name before.
The possibility is very less that it's Emeline.
So, Don't accuse people just because you have doubt.

Shui8, 02 Apr 2020How can you know? You have the phone for comparison?.From all sa... moreThese are hypothetical analyzation.

Shui8, 02 Apr 2020How can you be so sure? You have the phone in your hand? Even... moreDo I have to hand all the phones in the world to say anything about it ?
What is youtube and other sites are for ?
What are you even doing here if you are so much interested in practical knowledge ?

Now,
You can't compare the AF speed unless you hold it side by side. There are youtube videos where you will find how fast is Huawei's AF.
It's slower than iPhone, that means it's slower than the Galaxy note 10 plus too.

Nick Tagataka, 03 Apr 2020So that you won't necessarily have to sacrifice the image qualit... moreWhy did it always happen with you ?
You always get things a little distorted.
What I said and what did you reply with ?
I was complaining about DxOMARK's autofocus rating of P40 pro. And what are you replying for ?

  • AnonD-925619

Ashl, 03 Apr 2020Hey boss, Huawei P series is meant for photography and not perfo... moreThank you for the info.

I think they should lower the price by a large margin when they release a midrange phone like the P40 Pro. It's way too expensive in terms of what you get for the money. the S20+ is only a little more expensive and with that you'll get stereospeakers, much better display, 120 hz refresh sceen etc.

AnonD-925619, 03 Apr 2020I couldn't agree more. The P40 Pro is NOT a premium phone, it... moreHey boss, Huawei P series is meant for photography and not performance nor great display etc. Even though it has got only a single speaker it achieved an excellent score in the loudness test by gsmarena team.But actually u can see that the kirin 990 5g beat the Snapdragon 855+(1+7t pro), check yourself the antutu score posted by gsmarena team themselves in mate 30 pro 5g review. And moreover the kirin 990 chipset is a 2019 processor whereas Snapdragon 865 is a 2020 processor. So u can't compare them.