Huawei P40 Pro review

26 Mar 2020


Sort by:

AnonD-925619, 03 Apr 2020I couldn't agree more. The P40 Pro is NOT a premium phone, it... moreHey boss, Huawei P series is meant for photography and not performance.U might have heard that the DXOMARK has crowned a new camera smartphone king. But actually u can see that the kirin 990 5g beat the Snapdragon 855+, check yourself the antutu score posted by gsmarena team themselves in mate 30 pro 5g review. And moreover the kirin 990 chipset is a 2019 processor whereas Snapdragon 865 is a 2020 processor. So u can't compare them.

AnonD-925619, 03 Apr 2020P40 Pro is not an ultrawide lense - stop spreading false informa... moreIt is UltraWide lens. I'm not the one saying it, its the basic rules of focal length philosophy - https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultra_wide_angle­_lens

And 'Emeline Shaw', stop creating new username so that u can troll Huawei here & there.

  • AnonD-925619

Shui8, 02 Apr 2020Wow will my statement encourage & affects big company? They ... moreP40 Pro is not an ultrawide lense - stop spreading false information. Samsung and Apple lenses can be characterized as an ultrawide lense. Huaweis lense is just a wide lense.

  • AnonD-925619

AHA, 03 Apr 2020I am sure the photos are if not the best one of the best...but i... moreI couldn't agree more.

The P40 Pro is NOT a premium phone, it's not a flagship phone. It's a upper midrange phone. Amazing that people can't understand that.

The Kirin 990 chip cannot even compare to the SD855 chip. The display is still fullHD, there's a freaking monospeaker and many many other midrange specs.

The Mate 40 Pro will be a premium flagship but the P40 Pro is a midranger.

Canko, 03 Apr 2020I confirm Dxo is not measure!Thats according to you. For me most of their points are spot on.

Nick Tagataka, 02 Apr 2020www.phonearena.com/news/Asus-ZenFone-4-series-gets-official-teas... moreThank you Nick for directing me to this - I didn't know about it:) Sorry.

  • Canko

Shui8, 02 Apr 2020My logic DxO are legit in some situation. And they usually got n... moreI confirm Dxo is not measure!

  • AHA

I am sure the photos are if not the best one of the best...but if you want a high end Soc you will bye Qualcomm, not a Kirin one!?!?! Lack of Google services is minus of course . Display is not high end too, Samsung a still top producer...And of course the big notch, man we are 2020!!! For 1000 euro area i consider Oppo X2, mi 10 Pro, One plus 8 or S 20 Ultra, although the last is without Qualcomm Soc for EU market !!!!

Anonymous, 03 Apr 2020I watched Huawei's presentation and it seems that their "Octa" a... moreIf that's the case then what was the point of showing 4 pixels at the same time? Doesn't it imply it uses omnidirectional AF along with dual pixel AF as well?

Morsel, 02 Apr 2020DxOMARK is a joke. Just like you said , using logic. in DxOma... moreSo that you won't necessarily have to sacrifice the image quality to get the wider field of view than the main camera? I myself prefer wider lens (I find 15-17mm to be a sweet spot that has the best balance between wideness, per pixel quality and distortion) for UWA camera, but I can definitely see the appeal of having a bit narrower one with a giant sensor.

  • Anonymous

Shui8, 02 Apr 2020How can you be so sure? You have the phone in your hand? Even... moreI watched Huawei's presentation and it seems that their "Octa" autofocus is actually just dual pixel autofocus for Quad Bayer sensors (not to be confused with the quad pixel autofocus from Oppo's smartphone).

  • Anonymous

Damn, that's ugly.

ypcx, 02 Apr 2020As for the ultrawide, this is the practical difference between S... moreThis are my samples using vanilla Mate 20 at 17mm (1mm different from latest Huawei). - https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=1Ck1bM61x­JVNUufvJMGpt-Hf9M2YNUWwp

For sure I'm really satisfied with it. Its true a little bit wider can be interesting but also will be harder to compose, as there are too many things in 1 frame.

Morsel, 02 Apr 2020Dual Pixel AF is still faster and more accurate. If they are f... moreHow can you be so sure? You have the phone in your hand?

Even in this review, it mention clearly in camera section, Octa PDAF should be better than traditional Dual Pixel. - https://m.gsmarena.com/huawei_p40_pro-review-208­9p5.php

As for the ultrawide, this is the practical difference between S10+ and P30 Pro (P40 Pro is even narrower).
https://i.ibb.co/pJhFzWM/P30-Pro.jpg
https://i.ibb.co/FhfJXpq/S10-Plus.jpg

Morsel, 02 Apr 2020Dual Pixel AF is still faster and more accurate. If they are f... moreHow can you know? You have the phone for comparison?.From all samples i've saw across the net, the Octa PDAF is indeed impressive.

'This camera has improved autofocus - now it's an all pixel omnidirectional phase detection autofocus. This means that not only are there autofocus detectors on each pixel but they are 8 of them per pixel. As a result, the camera's autofocus sensing has improved response to horizontal details whereas conventional dual pixel autofocus systems have a hard time with those. This also means autofocusing should also be generally improved in low-light.'

This are straight statement from GSMarena themselves. In theory, it should be better than Dual Pixel.

Shui8, 02 Apr 2020My logic DxO are legit in some situation. And they usually got n... moreDual Pixel AF is still faster and more accurate.
If they are faster and more accurate then how can P40 pro gets better AF than them ?

ypcx, 02 Apr 2020You should stop shilling. It's customers like you that encourage... moreWow will my statement encourage & affects big company? They better pay me some royalty lol.

I'm not just simply disagree with him, i just agree with basic knowledge on actual camera photography world. Like i said, its up to him, but doesnt change the rules of focal length philosophy.

Morsel, 02 Apr 2020DxOMARK is a joke. Just like you said , using logic. in DxOma... moreMy logic DxO are legit in some situation. And they usually got newer firmware (beta) for camera quality before retail version got it.

About video quality, maybe I dont agree with the score as well (those jitters still emerge), but its Octa PDAF? Its as good as X2 Pro. Its one of the recipe for its excellent lowlight performer. (Dual Pixel in Samsung & Iphone were great as well).

Shui8, 02 Apr 2020Its up to you if you wont consider it. Doesnt change the fact th... moreYou should stop shilling. It's customers like you that encourages companies produce inferior products.
No, in the smartphone world, this is not "Ultrawide" by any means, forget it.
And he knows the choice is up to him, what kind of argument i that, are you 6 years old?