Huawei P40 review

8 April 2020


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • XRg
  • 10 Apr 2020

Nick Tagataka, 10 Apr 2020No way to get true to life colours? Just turn off the Maste... moreHaha, you should have mentioned that earlier instead of going on long rants as I am simply comparing images out of the box instead of just blindly believing reviewers.

    Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020Don't care about your preferences. The images are unnatural... moreNo way to get true to life colours? Just turn off the Master AI, end of story.

      Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020Never talked about noise, but EIS does make the footage sta... more"which are kept in control on other flagships"
      Because the footage is so dark on those phones that there isn't anything much to show in the first place. In regular low light P40 Pro's video doesn't show any artifacts, apart from bouncy light sources that are common phenomenon among most Android smartphones. Also the stutter in frame in extreme low light in the comparison you linked is most likely due to the RYYB filter not being very suitable for video recording and auto frame rate adjustment that newer Huawei flagships have on by default.

      "combination of AI with EIS/OIS"
      ...which is essentially the same as hybrid stabilisation that other companies frequently use, but with EIS bit being assisted with NPU. I don't know why you think it is the cause of the artifacts when there are clearly more important factors that should be taken into account.

        sabineblog, 10 Apr 2020even though Google android is no longer supported, I'm sure... moreyea the people are panicking way to over. They already set up apps like messenger viber watssap who most of the people use. In time they will bring the rest of the apps.

          • G
          • GrahamD
          • nw}
          • 10 Apr 2020

          I can't be bothered with any phone that uses proprietary memory cards in 2020. No excuse for it.

            even though Google android is no longer supported, I'm sure huawei will still be successful.

              • S
              • Shui8
              • KZK
              • 10 Apr 2020

              Anonymous, 10 Apr 2020What you call washed out is what the image looks in real ti... moreNope. Lots of reviewer says while its color science are spot on, X2 Pro produce color duller than actual scene.

              You could also argue that most of the reviewer test P40 Pro on its default state, which is with Master AI on. It adds a bit of saturation, contrast base on certain scene (still tolerable, unlike P20 days).

              I always disable Master AI on my Mate 20, edit later base on my style for final images.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • XRg
                • 10 Apr 2020

                Shui8, 09 Apr 2020Its far from unnatural looks lol. Like i said, the differen... moreWhat you call washed out is what the image looks in real time.
                P40 pro is far more color accurate compared to Mi 10 and others but lags behind Find X2 pro.
                As I said, If I want oversaturated, punchy colors, I'll simply check chroma boost option on the Find X2 pro.

                  • S
                  • Shui8
                  • KZK
                  • 09 Apr 2020

                  Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020Don't care about your preferences. The images are unnatural... moreIts far from unnatural looks lol. Like i said, the differents mostly on the contrast level side.

                  'never get true to life colors'
                  - actually on X2 Pro colors look a big washed out. Color accuracy on P40 are way better than any Iphone & Samsung.

                  'oversharpening & oversaturate like Samsung'
                  - Good joke. Go compare between P40 again, please, Samsung color cast on shadows looks cartoony. P40 indeed a bit oversharp, because of cropped sensor in 12.5mp res. Its BM3D tech used are far from oil-painting plasticky looks that Samsung has.

                  X2 Pro indeed looks clean, but details a bit smudge & loss compared to P40. Mate 30 Pro still has the best details, great balancing between texture & noise reduction used, until this day.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • XRg
                    • 09 Apr 2020

                    Nick Tagataka, 09 Apr 2020EIS is not what introduces noises and artifacts to an extre... moreNever talked about noise, but EIS does make the footage stable at the cost of introducing a few artifacts especially during action scenes.
                    In low light on a smartphone, you can clearly see those visible artifacts which are kept in control on other flagships.
                    That's coz Huawei is using AIS which is different from EIS.
                    It is combination of AI with EIS/OIS to give more stable footage. And the price to pay are those artifacts in low light since there is no way to turn it off.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • XRg
                      • 09 Apr 2020

                      Shui8, 09 Apr 2020Honestly, judging by those comparison, both are very good. ... moreDon't care about your preferences. The images are unnatural looking. If I want p40 pro type images, I'll simply check the chroma boost option on Find X2 pro. But with Huawei, no way to get default true to life colors in pics. Images Coming out with a Instagram type of filter. The same oversharpening and oversaturared image processing like Samsung. That is exactly what I said. Read my initial post.

                      Everything I highlighted in that post is correct.
                      Stop shilling for Huawei. Never said it was a bad camera, just pointed out some issues which you have a hard time acknowledging.

                        • S
                        • Shui8
                        • KZK
                        • 09 Apr 2020

                        Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020https://youtu.be/Xn1zznLTo8AHonestly, judging by those comparison, both are very good. Only a matter of contrast level differences, (Huawei higher, Oppo lower), & in lowlight, definitely Huawei are superior by controlling highlights better. They are no filter-like added feeling, mind you.

                        And as an actual Leica camera owner, I love the high-contrast style from Huawei, spot on with my preferences. But that doesnt mean Oppo X2 are bad either. Definitely way better than any Samsung's image algorithm.

                          Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020They are too focused on updating the Huawei app gallery and... moreEIS is not what introduces noises and artifacts to an extreme low light video. And how's my comment on sensor cropping/lens quality anything to do with App Gallery situation??

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • XRg
                            • 09 Apr 2020

                            Nick Tagataka, 09 Apr 2020Care to explain that "filter look" you're talking about? Co... moreWatch the link I gave you on a big screen 4k TV, not a smartphone.
                            You'll notice the differences.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • XRg
                              • 09 Apr 2020

                              Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020But when real time battery usage,it have good battery live,... moreP40 pro with 90hz giving better battery life than p40 with 60hz.
                              That's what I am talking about.
                              Phones with 60hz cannot be considered to be having great battery life unless it's above 110hr endurance rating.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • XRg
                                • 09 Apr 2020

                                Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020What!? Gcam runs terribly on my Mi Note 10 Pro! Desaturated... moreI was talking about gcam for the 108mp sensor on the MI note 10.
                                The MI 10 Pro has just been released. Give it 2-3 months, it will surprise you with the quality.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • XRg
                                  • 09 Apr 2020

                                  Nick Tagataka, 09 Apr 2020Care to explain that "filter look" you're talking about? Co... morehttps://youtu.be/Xn1zznLTo8A

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • XRg
                                    • 09 Apr 2020

                                    Nick Tagataka, 09 Apr 2020After looking at photos taken by this regular P40, I'm even... moreThey are too focused on updating the Huawei app gallery and still haven't recovered from being boycotted by Google.
                                    Even in videos, the AIS is turned on by default with no way to turn it off, giving regular videos weird artifacts in low light.

                                      • S
                                      • Shui8
                                      • KZK
                                      • 09 Apr 2020

                                      Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020So you compare pixel 4 gcam processing to Huawei p40 pro? ... moreIts the closest option comparison that can get. Unless you can show one. If not its nonsense. U can find comments below GCAM even worsen in some situation.

                                      It can definitely show more details & wider DR, but it will always has a downgrade part. Do you own one to begin with? Or judging just by watching some indian Youtuber?

                                        • S
                                        • Shui8
                                        • KZK
                                        • 09 Apr 2020

                                        Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020Gcam is usually used in night mode on most phones seldom in... moreIf u could take even better quality than long exposure shot with single take, why bother?

                                        Huawei got Light Painting, Silky Smooth & Milkyway mod for that certain purposes.