Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 review

19 June 2020


Sort by:

Dear Readers,
GSMArena staff has wrongly written that all devices arriving are excellent at audio quality. They're also wrong when they say its only distinguishable by lab equipment, because if you have high quality/ impedence headphones, you can find the phones range from near excellent to incapable of handling high impedance...

I've tried debating with them, but it didn't work out.

After skipping this line for 1-2 reviews, they're back at spreading this again... Please be informed. Thank you.

  • MasEnha

Anonymous, 19 Jun 2020Ummm u forgot the amoled part. Samsung traded performance f... moreNot everybody like AMOLED. I have 3 devices of S series from samsung. I hate the green color which is unrealistic. Also, I found that non S phones have inferior color quality. Based on 2016 research, its predicted that AMOLED materials will be cheaper than LCD. Only, AMO have more difficult production process.

  • Shiva

AMMAR, 21 Jun 2020Worst ever device by Xiaomi. Poor front camera and very bad... moreWell it's your lost not Xiaomi's. All I can say is that you've wasted your money for a lesser device. Xiaomi has been producing durable and quality phones since 2010 while Realme is just 2018. They've more experience in creating smartphones, offering the best devices in the market today without breaking your bank. Xiaomi is constantly releasing updates for bug issues and optimizations. Additionally, the Redmi Note 9 is just new and will be having some updates soon to become more stable and for us to have a smooth user experience. That's the time you will realize that you shouldn't sold your device.

  • pajson89

For this price ok , but pro is far better

  • Anonymous

AMMAR, 21 Jun 2020Worst ever device by Xiaomi. Poor front camera and very bad... morelol u lie.. realme 3 is even worse performance phone....

If realme 6 has nfc, it'll be a real winner.

  • AMMAR

Worst ever device by Xiaomi. Poor front camera and very bad gaming performance. I sold after using 2 days. Now i buy realme 3. It's pretty nice

  • Will

Everyone is back to plastic phone

Pretty disappointing. All the fancy marketing on paper won't even be good as you're stuck with slow eMMC storage.

Geez, Xiaomi is doing really great job at confusing the hell out of everyone... Redmi 9, Redmi Note 9, Redmi Note 9S, Redmi Note 9 Pro, which is different from Redmi Note 9 Pro in India, where Redmi Note 9 Pro is actually Redmi Note 9S and where Redmi Note 9 Pro is actually Redmi Note 9 Pro Max... Also, they're going to sell ANOTHER Redmi Note 9 Pro Max as Poco M2 Pro in India.

Heavens have mercy on us when they release Redmi Note 10 series in a month... There's probably going to be like 50 version from Redmi Note 10 to Redmi Note 10 Pro Ultra Max Dragon Zoom

  • Anonymous

indlvarn, 19 Jun 2020Wow only 3 of 5 stars. Worst Redmi Note since...?This sould be Redmi 9 (without Note name). Anyway it have Redmi 9 spec (same screen, resolution, size... Brightness, SoC is 99% the same), also, same plasrick back and the frame, price is also the same.
Only better in this phone (for some), is than hole punch in the corner selfie cam (Redmi 9 have notch), also back camera design is more similar to those other 9 Note series (Note 9s, Pro), but, fps is in same place as in Redmi 9.. So like i said, this phone does not deserve Note in the name.
For 30$ more, there is a Note 9s, with brighter screen, Qualcomm (8nm) SoC, glass back

It's a choice between getting distracted by a hole in the center and getting distracted by a hole in the corner.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Jun 2020Have you ever heard the story about amazon gadgets for cheap?No. Just Cinderella adventures

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Jun 2020How is the same price when Samsung is 300 and Redmi 150?! Have you ever heard the story about amazon gadgets for cheap?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 19 Jun 2020Ummm u forgot the amoled part. Samsung traded performance f... moreHow is the same price when Samsung is 300 and Redmi 150?!

  • Anonymous

What happened to the HDR samples from main cam?

  • Essen

Essen, 20 Jun 2020Xiaomi could have distinguished this phone and diversified ... moreOops. My bad. I thought this was the Redmi 9. Aaargh. I am so thoroughly confused. Which makes my earlier statement even more true. This is far too similar to the Note 9S. Not that Redmi 9 is far apart from the Note range. But well. My bad.

  • Essen

Xiaomi could have distinguished this phone and diversified its range by making the 9 smaller, lighter than the Note 9 range. As of now they are just cannibalising each other. If you aren't extremely particular of chipsets, cameras and under-the-hood differences, you could buy over the other and be none the better for it apart from a few units of currencies give or take. But then, what do I know. You apparently can't have a phone unless it's 6.5 inches or more. Hope against hope that the 5.4-inch iPhone 12 sets off a chain of copies among Android OEMs.

  • kaz

when will the full review be uploaded on youtube

  • Anonymous

LilPhone, 19 Jun 2020Of course, because that extra money gives you extra quality.actually they sell 9 pro on the same price as the note 8 pro when its first release