Xiaomi Mi 10 Ultra review

04 Sept 2020


Sort by:

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2020I have a 108mp sensor and the stock Xiaomi app is really ba... more108MP? I see, so basically you were basing your opinion on your experience with Mi Note 10/Mi 10 and making a comment about Mi 10 Ultra's camera that uses entirely different 48MP sensor and revamped image processing. No wonder I couldn't spot the issues you mentioned in the sample photos included in this review.

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 05 Sep 2020I guess GCam won't be a whole lot better on the main c... moreI have a 108mp sensor and the stock Xiaomi app is really bad with grass color and texture. I would have given it away if it wasn't for GCam.

The stock app also overprocesses faces and if look at them on a large screen, the artifacts are bad. GCam is much better for shots like that too.

Shui8, 05 Sep 2020I heard that the main camera using 8p lens. It so good. The... moreTo be fair, Mi 10 Ultra uses wider 25mm equivalent lens vs Mate 30 Pro's 27mm so it's already in a disadvantageous position from the start for the detail clarity segment. But yeah I agree that last year's Mate is still impeccable in terms per pixel detail level at least in a well lit environment, the combination of always-on super resolution image fusion and BM3D NR they use can't be beaten so easily. I really wish Xiaomi will adopt similar software processing techniques in future.

As for GCam - On top of the reason you described, since it doesn't even rely on "real" HDR processing that combines multiple exposures, it will struggle a lot in high contrast scenes compared to the stock camera app. I think either darker areas would be too noisy because of excessive shadow lifting or highlights would get burnt badly. On the upside, though, it would handle subject motions better and be more suitable for RAW capture.

  • NLDXB

curved screen? YES
no thanks, next phone

Nick Tagataka, 05 Sep 2020While the daylight photo quality is nothing short of impres... moreI heard that the main camera using 8p lens. It so good. The best part are both of their telephotos sensor are one of the biggest around when it comes to a smartphone (And finally confirms that IMX586 are actually 1/2.3" sensor, not a 1/2" as their marketing). Image clarity still not on par with BM3D rendition that Mate 30 Pro ISP currently using, but its a close call.

About Gcam, yes it will eventually got the support as all previous Xiaomi phone does, but with in-chip HDR on the OV sensor, I doubt Gcam will improve much using their software HDR.

  • Xioami4life

I got mine 4 days ago, ordered it off alibaba, took 2 days from Hong Kong to USA. It's been a wonderful phone, one thing to note is you need to mess with permissions for notification issues people have reported, xioami locks apps down for security and your safety, but if you give them all the permissions, WhatsApp, Google, YouTube, display them fine after. Google takes about 3 min to install, and Google pay even works as this is a lvl 1 secure device passed by Google.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2020Both the Pixel and the iPnine are much better and natural f... moreI don't see how that's possible. iPhone and Pixel use 12MP sensors which capture way less detail than the 48MP on the Mi 10 Ultra. If they compensate with software, all you'd be seeing is smudgy software rendered fake grass and not the real stuff captured on better camera hardware.

YUKI93, 05 Sep 2020I wonder how this phone's camera will perform using a ... moreI guess GCam won't be a whole lot better on the main camera since the stock camera app's processing already seems to be mature enough. I suspect you'll see a noticeable jump in quality on telephoto lenses, however, especially during nighttime.

I wonder how this phone's camera will perform using a GCam port. The hardware definitely has won me over, but the software definitely isn't. Really not happy with the reproduction of grass and leaves. Even in low light conditions, I can definitely see noise reduction effect going on just like in the Sony Xperia 1 ii.

Makes me wonder how this phone compares against the Vivo X50 Pro+. That is quite possibly the most logical competitor to this Xiaomi phone.

  • RS84

the best phone for 2020 so far ...

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2020Both the Pixel and the iPnine are much better and natural f... moreUnfortunately I'm not seeing what you're seeing. This phone is easily on the same level as Pixel in the scenes you specified and well above iPhone that applies excessive amount of sharpening and clarity during the day. And in case you're wondering, no, I'm not pixel peeping those photos on a phone display.

While the daylight photo quality is nothing short of impressive, its low light performance is truly outstanding even if you consider the fact that the sensor is 1/1.3" large. Giant sensor + sharp lens + good processing = recipe for excellent image quality.. They really nailed it this time around.

While I would say that Xiaomi's overall image processing is still slightly behind Google, Apple and Huawei's, looking at the sample photos from this phone I suppose it won't take too long for them to catch up to those big 3 in this area as well. Congratulation Xiaomi, you proved us all that after all you do deserve the top spot in DxOMark.

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 05 Sep 2020I'm sorry but iPhone and Pixel are not doing any bette... moreBoth the Pixel and the iPnine are much better and natural for grass texture and color.

The only saving grace for Xiaomi is the GCam ports. Take a look at grass images taken with GCam.

[deleted post]Horrible low light performance? Seriously, why don't you just go troll somewhere else? None of what you said so far in this comment section is even remotely close to be true.

cheapsk8, 05 Sep 2020The OV48C is *not* a Quad Bayer sensor, it's a true 48... more"The OV48C also integrates an on-chip, 4-cell color filter array and hardware remosaic, which provides high quality, 48MP Bayer output, or 8K video, in real time. In low light conditions, this sensor can use near-pixel binning to output a 12MP image for 4K2K video with four times the sensitivity, yielding a 2.4 micron-equivalent performance" - From OV's product page.
It is Quad Bayer, after all.

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2020As all Xiaomi stock camera apps, this one turns to grass an... moreI'm sorry but iPhone and Pixel are not doing any better than this when it comes to texture rendition.

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2020As all Xiaomi stock camera apps, this one turns to grass an... moreYou are wrong.

  • Anonymous

As all Xiaomi stock camera apps, this one turns to grass and foliage into wispy painted textures with electric, velvet painting colors.

Take a look at the closer images with grass, such as the one with the snail sculpture. It's terrible, if you compare it to a Pixel or an iPhone.

  • Mike

Anonymous, 05 Sep 2020And still cost as expensive as note 20 ultra, iPhone and ma... moreLol it costs 800 dollars for the base variant what are you talking about

The ultrawide will not work with gimbals!!!

The ultrawide is located in the middle of the phone, the closest to where the phone clamp will be on smartphone gimbals.

The ultrawide will definitely get a lot of the phone clamp and the gimbal motor in the frame.