Poco X3 NFC review

15 September 2020


Sort by:

4RedPanda, 18 Sep 2020I'm interested whether the screen is smoother than the... moreI think it is a mistake because you have better SOC on the K30 5G, as well as better graphics processor. The only thing I see you're getting more from Poco X3 is the stereo speakers. You're downgrading o

Anonymous, 18 Sep 2020I have a mi note 10 lite and I'm thinking of I want to... moreThe stereo speaker is good. The sound from the earpiece and the bottom firing speaker is almost balanced; it looks like they have used pretty similar size speaker units. Loudness is almost the same but the earpiece unit has a bit lesser bass in it. It doesn't seem to support surround sound though (Dolby ATMOS or DTS X). Stereo separation is greatt. I am thinking if they have made the speakers front firing like the ones in Black Sharks and Asus ROGs, it could have been alot better. Loudness is a bit lesser compared to Black Shark 3 and Asus ROG 3 to my memory.

Only thing I don't like with its sound through the speakers is vibration on the plastic back. I am not sure as of now if the phone uses its vibration motor to project an effect of low frequencies, but the vibration is a bit distracting when gaming or when watching content. I have tried to dig into the settings if it uses the vibration motor but I am not finding anything.

I guess if you can live with that and the fact that it is not that big in boost in performance compared to Mi 10 Lite's SD730G, the Poco X3 is a worthy upgrade if you want the stereo speakers.

  • 4RedPanda

I'm interested whether the screen is smoother than the K30 5g. According to some reviews pixel response isn't the fastest there either (normal story for most IPS)

Because I ordered it a while ago and wonder whether it wasn't a mistake :)

  • Anonymous

s-pen pusher, 18 Sep 2020My Poco X3 was delivered earlier today and as promised I wa... moreWell it sounds (little too) good thanks for writing this and letting us know your findings.

I assume you checked camera and no unpleasant surprise there. BT codecs surprise me a little since by quick check even Xiaomi doesn't mention it (unlike other phones which have it), either way it's better to be wrong this way and then learn good news than opposite. (sorry guys) I honestly still don't believe ghosting is not there, maybe its intensity is not same on all devices. It must be seen at least a little (HRR in action+black text like fast scrolling this forum I guess) but well I respect your finding. And usual SOT reports are 7-8 hours max. Maybe it's really slightly various quality of particular units (??) Phone lmay be worth of try in midrange and (I'll say it again) for a price of course. I yet miss SAR info around.

My Poco X3 was delivered earlier today and as promised I was going to comment my own take about the device. For start, let me just inform you that I blog about phones but because I am not popular I buy my own review units and just resell it a few weeks after. Then again there some devices I hold on to a bit longer if I like it that much. My biggest reason for getting the Poco X3 is because I was very much impressed by the Pocophone F1 and the Poco X2. Second is that the X3 is pretty much like the F1- a device designed by the Poco team and not just a rebranded Redmi model. Lastly, I was curious about the SD 732G.

Let me just go through those issues being thrown at the X3 that had me think twice about proceeding with the order. Firstly, the ghosting- I am not sure if I just got a good unit, but I don't see it at all. I have compared it side by side with the Poco X2 as it is the only other smartphone I have that has fast refresh rate (I had the Black Shark 3 at the beginning of the month but I had since resold it). I still have my old Razer Phone 1, but its screen keeps malfunctioning. I know about ghosting on the screen as I have seen it in the Realme 6, but it really os not present on my X3.

MrWhoseTheBoss told of copious amount of ads in the UI, but per GSMArena they did not see any ads. I had no ads as well on the Pocophone F1 and Poco X2, but I have seen some amount of ads in Redmi devices I have reviewed before. Well, GSMArena is right, I did not see an ad as well with the 6 hours I was using the phone. It gave me an option to turn off "personalized ads" when I was setting it up, but the device went on to warn anyway that there still will be ads in the UI, and then again I did not see any ads.

Cellular reception was great. Calls were never dropped and text messages were promptly delivered (the SMS may be due to that I was using the RCS feature of Google Messages in the devices I was sending test messages with). WiFi is good as well and it was my first time to witness being able to connect to 2.4GHz and 5GHz simultaneously. Bluetooth, for one of the commenters in this article, supports LDAC, AptX HD, and AAC. I guess the reason you were not finding documentation about this is because the SD732G is being highlighted for supporting the AptX Adaptive CODEC. I used AptX HD on 2 of my TWSes, and another prioritizes AAC, while our home HiFi system prioritizes LDAC- all 3 CODECS connected well and good.

The battery, oh God. The device came with 64% battery and I got through a little more than 6 hours of screen on time before I plugged it in with 10% left. With that in mind it could easily attain 11 hours of screen on time. This is with about 45% brightness, mostly connected to WiFi, on adaptive 120Hz refresh rate, and light gaming. Then for the charging it did top up the battery from 10% in an hour and 17 minutes. The bottom part got a bit warm while I played PUBG for about an hour, but not so hot to scald you. I have not thoroughly tested it for gaming, but so far with the 1 hour I played PUBG on high graphics setting I did not see the X3 stutter nor drop framerates.

I just have to mention the speaker here- it almost is like the Black Sharks and the Asus ROG.

  • Anonymous

I have a mi note 10 lite and I'm thinking of I want to switch to the Poco X3 I'm just worried about the lcd because I like a lot the amoled display but I really want the stereo speakers is it worth it or should I wait to see the price of the realme X7 Pro I leave in Europe also just saying. Is it worth it?

Great specs for the price, but the design is very disgusting. I can't imaging anyone using it without putting on a thick case that masks it's ugliness.

  • MrPaco

How on earth can we eat this?

----------------3G-------WEB-----Video-------TOTAL endurance
F2 PRO: ---36:26----16:45-----25:16-------120h
X3 NFC: ---31:50----17:06-----14:09-------125h

so, the F2 pro is BETTER in everything but 15 minutes web, even 11 hours more of video and the endurance is lower?

like wth gsmarena? How on earth do you calculate the battery rating? It makes no sense.

  • Adaptive

nEW USER, 17 Sep 2020I just recived POCO X3 and i like it except one thing. Batt... moreThe battery life will improve once the phone learns about your usage pattern.

Dragonx444, 17 Sep 2020I got the Poco F1 since launch. Is it worth switching over?... moreX3 is an upgrade in everything except the SoC and the front IR camera. IF you prefer a power efficient SoC, don't game on a daily basis and just wants a phone that lasts a lot more (battery runtime) then buy the X3. Otherwise, staying with your F1 is still fine.

  • Anonymous

Dragonx444, 17 Sep 2020I got the Poco F1 since launch. Is it worth switching over?... moreThe 845 is by far better than the 732G , performance wise that would be a downgrade not an upgrade. If you feel like you Poco F1 is getting slower flash a custom rom, trust me it gives the phone a new life

  • Anonymous

splus, 17 Sep 2020Are you sure about that? Chipset of this phone should suppo... moreI'm pretty sure it's not supported. Even though 732 supports, Not sure where physically those codecs are that doesn't matter though. MIUI (OEM) may just not allow and that's it. Simply this is not 200+ phones' feature so it's just not in this package. Just take a look which phones have it. I've also quickly checked the internet but haven't found any support.

aReefer, 17 Sep 2020I saw on a site or 2 that it was specifically mentioned tha... moreI use mi 8 se with snap 710 and it support ldac + aptx + lhdc so this phone should support it with that superior soc and newer os

  • Dragonx444

I got the Poco F1 since launch. Is it worth switching over? Is the difference in architecture good enough to upset the 845? I play games which are capable to heat up the F1 after a while. Could the x3 be a good replacement?

  • salvop

"The low-light photos from the main camera are okay, but nothing extraordinary for the mid-range class. In fact, we've seen better. "

For example ?

the ghosting you mention is in comparison to OLED pixel response times which is faster. Hhigh refresh OLEDs are expensive and not as sharp as LCDs.
I so want this phone because of its value but I have an old Samsung flagship which is as good except the high refresh display­čśö

  • nEW USER

I just recived POCO X3 and i like it except one thing. Battery live isnt great comparing to Redmi note 4X (with SD 625) even though it has 1100mAH bigger battery.
It doesent lose much battery when offscreen but onscreen watching films drain battery much faster than in my 3year old RN 4X. Genneraly if you are active onscreen(im not talking about gaming) you have to charge this phone everyday.

  • Ar Rahim

Poco x3 this is very nice and coplyceted i impress

  • Anonymous

Can anybody with an X3 explain how much its screen "ghosts"? Does it ghost like a cheapo TV VA panel? an overclocked monitor? or like a cheap IPS display?

splus, 17 Sep 2020Are you sure about that? Chipset of this phone should suppo... moreI saw on a site or 2 that it was specifically mentioned that it didn't support AptX HD or LDAC. I'd be happy to be proven wrong though.