Poco X3 NFC review

15 September 2020


Sort by:

it has been a week now and my order has not been delivered. pre-ordered it 08/09/2020 (it became available the following day 09/09/2020) from their global page and already paid for. there is progress in shipping, but each day as more and more reviews become available i am more inclined to cancelling the order instead. i have the legendary pocophone f1 and the poco x2 and i have been satisfied with them so far. i skipped the f2 pro because i was thinking they were just keep rebranding redmi devices, so what really compelled me to order this x3 is the fact that it is not a rebranded redmi. i was worried when i first saw from mrwhosetheboss regarding ads, as both f1 and x2 had ads turned off by default; then this ghosting mentioned by gsmarena. i also have read about some games optimized for 120Hz refresh rate not allowing the phone to utilize it. i ordered the 6GB/128GB variant for about USD237 (PHP11,000.00) cobalt blue. can i ask for your suggestions if should proceed with the order or should i cancel it instead while still undelivered.

  • Starfkrost

Impressive camera? Oh, really? Unimpressively sweet review. How can a phone with 1.5 useful cameras be called great in 2020? Same goes for other vendors smartphones - Realme etc. Wide, ultrawide, tele camera - that`s what can be called good setup. Even Xiaomi Mi 9T had that two years ago.

  • Anonymous

Anders, 15 Sep 2020So it's got a 120hz display but because they used a lo... moreInconsistant color? The reviewer said it is pretty darn accurate.
I've used many xperia flagships in the past and all have backlightlight issues. It is LCD problem. No LCD can have perfectly even backlight around cutout.

  • Anonymous

Anders, 15 Sep 2020It's that exact reason why I would never spend more th... moreNote 8 pro is budget device with mediatek chipset. I've seen many flagship devices with uneven backlighting such as xperia XZ and XZs. Xiaomi use OLED In devices that price upwards of $350. Xiaomi hater, go away lol.

  • Anonymous

Davy Jones, 16 Sep 2020It would have been perfect with stock AndroidNah..stock android sucks

It would have been perfect with stock Android

  • Anonymous

TechEnthusiast, 15 Sep 2020I dont understand how it only got 4 stars when there are on... more4 stars is up there with flagships from Apple. It's still a fantastic phone.

  • Anonymous

Anders, 15 Sep 2020So it's got a 120hz display but because they used a lo... moreHow many LCDs from those companies have a 120hz refresh rate?

I think that if this had a Snapdragon 865 it would have made a great and authentic Poco F2 (not the rebranded k30 they gave us) as it would have followed the formula of the F1 more closely.

Also the ghosting and camera issues mentioned here are a bit of a bummer to hear about.

  • Anonymous

Livius, 15 Sep 2020Glad I canceled my preorder. Thanks for the review guys.why ? its the best midrange phone performer for the price ??

  • Anonymous

Anders, 15 Sep 2020It's that exact reason why I would never spend more th... moreMi 10 Pro and Note 8 Pro is different league. Especially display. Can't be compared at all.

  • Anonymous

Battery test was on 60Hz or 120Hz?
Very important...

What, 15 Sep 2020Exactly. My note 8 pro display has inconsistent back lighti... moreIt's that exact reason why I would never spend more than €250 on a Xiaomi phone. I really don't know how people can defend the €900 price tag of the Mi 10 Pro.
Very high price for very low quality components. If Xiaomi can cut a corner, they will. It seems especially with displays.
And like I said I'm not an LCD hater either, there are some really good ones out there. It's just Xiaomi using terrible ones

  • Anonymous

Livius, 15 Sep 2020Glad I canceled my preorder. Thanks for the review guys.lol, why? the review is very good on this phone

TechEnthusiast, 15 Sep 2020I dont understand how it only got 4 stars when there are on... moreIt's not about the amount of negative points but it's about how those negative points effect the end user experience.

Between releasing a poco flagship with 60hz display and an entry level phone with 120hz display, I gotta say that xiaomi don't know how to build properly spec'd poco phone

  • Anonymous

Flashash, 15 Sep 2020Still scope of improvement - move 3.5 jack on top.. - ... moreWhy? To see the cable instead of screen?

  • jerry R

Anonymous, 15 Sep 2020Bizarre namePoco? X3? or the 'NFC' part? ;)

Glad I canceled my preorder. Thanks for the review guys.

What's the point of having 120Hz screen when display is ghosting and smearing when used in 120Hz?! Xiaomi really messed up with this.