Sony Xperia 5 II review

28 Sep 2020


Sort by:

  • A7sii

Stanley Kubrick, 29 Sep 2020Well, upon further research it appears as if the fancy Batt... more Nobody held a gun to your head and said buy it! You hate the phone for a button and because it can use the HS Power control only for gaming? Please stick to your Exysh** and ICr**...Leave these for us Sony fans!

Stanley Kubrick, 29 Sep 2020Well, upon further research it appears as if the fancy Batt... moreIf I am not mistaken, on XDA there is workaround for that battery saving feature to work every time and not just in games.
It's a shame there has to be a workaround to begin with.

If the Xperia 5 II had a five inch screen and Gorilla Glass Victus then it'd be an even more compelling device. I'd really like to see their little phones again. Can't wait for next year's products, would be pleasant to get an Xperia phone again after long

Well, upon further research it appears as if the fancy Battery bypass only works when in gaming mode = FAIL
On top of that it appears as if there is no way to remap the STUPID assistant button which = double FAIL!
Now I could live with the battery bypass not doing what I had hoped...but to be stuck with an assistant button when I never use any assistant is unacceptable and I will not buy it. Hopefully, this will change before it's time to lay down any cash. Makes me sick that Sony contracted with Google to force this useless, obnoxious crap on its customers. Talk about shooting yourself in the eyes!

  • Victor

Nick Tagataka, 28 Sep 2020It's honestly surprising that Sony is sticking to such... moreDim Screen?? It's easy to see the table with much brighter screens in the lab and think "dim." It's like seeing a USD100K car ranked thirtieth amidst cars that cost USD150K then saying the 100K car is cheap. Understand your numbers boss.

  • Anonymous

If you have 5 mark i, wait mark iii ...

Gorilla Virtus, ufs3.1, maybe more functions for Pro apps, maybe usb3.2 , surely Snap 875. I also suppose 12GB because 1ii has one version in Japan (I think China will get as well). Maybe micro matrix tech.

Not sure about cmos size, but triple 12MP is high probability.

* just as curiosity, the hexa cam that rumor showed up in late 2019 was real. Two version , one with monochrome wide camera, the other with periscope. Someone said no, both got killed.

SM25, 29 Sep 2020Is it worth waiting 5mk ii or to go now with 5 from 2019?As an Xperia 5 owner I would say - pick the new one, they fixed to many Xperia 5 issues.
Camera, jack, fps sensor, battery are probably the best improvements that come to mind + at least you get some preorder bonus to ease your pain.

Anonymous, 29 Sep 2020Do I buy phones based on reviews? LOL ...... First th... moreYour decision making process is certainly different than mine - I read a ton of reviews for every phone that comes to my mind.
Checking the device in store has close to 0 value for me, since I do not usualy have my rig with me and testing conditions are more than poor.
I simply buy the best looking phone or phones and the one I do not like travel back in 14 days of my personal evaluation.

+ I can't personally test thing like brightness, response rate, I do not have consistent battery tests etc.
I do not mind letting professionals with proper gear to do their job of making my final decision based more on fact than my own personal delusion caused by placebo effect.

  • Anonymous

The bastards...

I bought the "1 II" a month ago, and they never announced a smaller "easier-to-hold" version.

If only my previous phone held out just a little longer...

Davy Jones, 29 Sep 2020And what is guarantee of that wireless charging coil isn�... moreNo guarantee but with Sony quality, it's as good as a guarantee

Anonymous, 29 Sep 2020LCD still use led as backlit............They never said that they didn't? He never said that LCD screens didn't use an LED backlight?

Is it worth waiting 5mk ii or to go now with 5 from 2019?

  • Anonymous

Fearghast, 29 Sep 2020A) Said literally no one ever. B) Not accurate as well bec... moreBased on what? Dxo mark? If you knew what happens there ....
Photographer knows more about sound than senior engineer from Sony Music .
LOL.......

The graph shows performance.
LUFS is just loudness.
Lines closer to zero more often mean better audio.
Xperia 1 ii and 1 have better graph.

Ubersonic, 29 Sep 2020Is the intro to this article a joke? How can you call a ph... more6.1 inches in 2020 is considered a regular size now, and could even be considered on the small side, and the tall 21:9 aspect ratio makes the phone less wide, and therefore easier to hold in your hand.

  • Anonymous

Fearghast, 29 Sep 2020If you pick your phone based on a score and not based on th... moreDo I buy phones based on reviews?
LOL ......

First things I check if phone has what I want.
My current phone was bashed by this site.
I am very satisfied with the device. 4 years already.
Could not have chosen better back then.



  • Lgfan101

No wireless charging? My $200 lg from 2 years ago has it๐Ÿ™„

Anonymous, 29 Sep 2020Cons pointed for 5 . Almost all solved. But same score. O... moreIf you pick your phone based on a score and not based on the review I feel seriously sorry for you.

Anonymous, 29 Sep 2020Haters excuses: A) 2015 : only Htc, Sony and Motorola h... moreA) Said literally no one ever.
B) Not accurate as well because not only is the volume lower than competetion, competetion often sounds better without front facing speakers.
Isn't Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro still the king of mobile speakers? And those are not front facing ;)

  • Anonymous

Cons pointed for 5 . Almost all solved. But same score.
Of course, sites need to find more cons to avoid better scores than apple and samsung.
None wants to lose readers.

No audio jack.
No 4K@60fps video recording.
No night mode (though regular low-light photos are superb already).
We wish the ultra wide cam had autofocus.
Audio output quality is not on the level of competition.
No Wireless charging.
No Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) support even though the chipset supports it.

Is the intro to this article a joke? How can you call a phablet "compact" xD

Its mentalities like this that have stopped Sony making a regular sized smartphone since the XZ2c :(