OnePlus 8T review

20 October 2020


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • D6e
  • 22 Oct 2020

Anonymous, 21 Oct 2020These are the most b.s cons I've ever read about a pho... morecons nevertheless

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • D6e
    • 22 Oct 2020

    Made for india, 21 Oct 2020This one is made for india because you can't find bett... moreand your point being?

      • m
      • mat919
      • D6e
      • 22 Oct 2020

      Anonymous, 21 Oct 2020For people who don't like the 699€ price The midrange... moreThat's why I don't even look at those. Remember... OP claimed to be a "flagship killer", not just another flagship.

        • a
        • anonymous
        • 7X1
        • 21 Oct 2020

        Oppo, Vivo, OnePlus all like to get endorsers that jack up the prices of their products. For OnePlus 8T its another Robert Downey Jr endorsed product. That's why the prices are so abnormal. I mean, am sure these endorsers are not doing it for charity? And who does these brands get to pay for these endorsers? the customers lol. Who didn't ask for these endorsements in the first place. Put out a good product, people will buy, we don't need endorsers to make the product super expensive.

          • a
          • anonymous
          • 7X1
          • 21 Oct 2020

          OnePlus is pretty hard to find in my country the philippines, also they are overpriced/expensive. Good thing we have Xiaomi. Even their Oneplus Nord has not arrived still and its almost november.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • d%u
            • 21 Oct 2020

            These are the most b.s cons I've ever read about a phone in gsmarena.

              • M
              • Made for india
              • 7tU
              • 21 Oct 2020

              This one is made for india because you can't find better device at this price. You can buy 3 OnePlus 8t's for the same price of iphone 11 or 12 pro's.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • fwF
                • 21 Oct 2020

                For people who don't like the 699€ price
                The midrange note 20 with handicapped soc is 1000€ and it throttle to 300k and it has plastic build and midrange display for 1000€ and with one ui wich has more bloat ware and ads than miui

                  • m
                  • mat919
                  • FEC
                  • 21 Oct 2020

                  Aspros, 21 Oct 2020Yet another huuuge disappointment, oneplus is going down ha... moreI agree completely

                    • Z
                    • Zohan
                    • GR%
                    • 21 Oct 2020

                    Anonymous, 21 Oct 2020And I'm here deciding whether to upgrade from Oneplus ... moreWhen the 9 series will come they'll start talking about 9t and 9t pro and when they will come they'll talk about 10 series. Its just a matter of requirement. I would say wait till 9 comes out because 8pro prices might go down as 8 and 8t are not even close to 8pro. And getting a 5g chipset is the only major upgrade you'll want in the coming time as Jio is working fast on it!

                      Yet another huuuge disappointment, oneplus is going down hard in 2020. This would have been an ok-ish phone, priced at the usual 550, but at 700 euros its just pathetic.
                      For such a premium price, we would ask for IP rating, Ddr5, better cameras and display etc.
                      It's embarrassing for them to be so greedy and try to make a fast profit in 2020 to balance all the value they had in the previous years.
                      Let's take the pocophone F2 for example, for nearly half the price it's a far superior device, a apart from the gimmick 120hz which is practically disabled since you can't use it on films and games...

                        • A
                        • Android user
                        • PB7
                        • 21 Oct 2020

                        c0nm4n, 21 Oct 2020Yes, at this price you will have 1 or 2 trade-offs, as I me... moreI understand that iphone has the best security feature.. like you said it's all about trade offs for the display that you get... iPhone year on year comes with some new discoveries which might have been a feature in other phones since a long time....I assume that iphone will next bring 90 hz in the iphone 13 version saying it's something new or hitherto not seen in any smartphones!!!

                          • S
                          • Srmharish
                          • 7t{
                          • 21 Oct 2020

                          Anonymous, 21 Oct 2020And I'm here deciding whether to upgrade from Oneplus ... moreI too upgraded from OnePlus 5, overall my experience was good. Like many said, I don't see many differences in 120htz display... But it's a big phone. Compared to OnePlus 5

                            Anonymous, 21 Oct 2020to be fair digital lossless zoom was a thing that Nokia use... moreOlder Nokia devices had regular Bayer sensors though, not Quad Bayer ones which would require sophisticated stacking algorithms to produce usable full-res images.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • qp2
                              • 21 Oct 2020

                              The US T-Mobile version does not have AOD. I repeat. No AOD for T-Mobile 8T. And they can't tell you if it's ever coming. The software feels like One UI. Just get the S20 FE. Or Pixel 5 if you want stock Android. Oxygen OS is no longer the happy medium.

                                Continued "CONS":
                                Absence of .....
                                1. microSD slot
                                2. Radio FM/IR port/DAC
                                3. Telephoto camera
                                4. PC mode(vide DeX)
                                5. Notification LED
                                6. Mini-jack

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • AJq
                                  • 21 Oct 2020

                                  Nick Tagataka, 21 Oct 2020"But here is something that few, if any, of the OnePlu... moreto be fair digital lossless zoom was a thing that Nokia used even before the pureview 808

                                    • m
                                    • mat919
                                    • Tcc
                                    • 21 Oct 2020

                                    I was soooo excited to get this phone. My OP5T is still not bad, but...
                                    OnePlus is no longer true "flagship killer". I wish they kept their old scheme:
                                    Regular phone in the beginning of the year and "T" variant by the end of the year. If it was $100 less it would be a steal here in the US. A lot of trade-offs to consider. After 9 years of Android, I am seriously considering iPhone 12 Pro, or I'll just wait for OP9 Pro.

                                      • M
                                      • Mateo
                                      • Tcc
                                      • 21 Oct 2020

                                      Anonymous, 21 Oct 2020And I'm here deciding whether to upgrade from Oneplus ... moreI'm on OP5T and have the sam dillema.

                                        "But here is something that few, if any, of the OnePlus competitors do - lossless 2x digital zoom. It is done exactly how we've mentioned numerous times in previous reviews it should be done - by cropping the center of the (enhanced) high-res output. In the case of the 8T, that's the 12MP center of the (multi-stacked) 48MP output from the sensor."

                                        "The 48MP photos have the same quality as the 2x zoomed ones - they are just not cropped."

                                        Isn't this just Honor View 20's AI Ultra Clarity 48MP mode back in 2018? Unfortunately though, detail wise the results look far worse on OnePlus 8T, probably due to poor sharpness uniformity of the lens.