A month with the Huawei Mate 40 Pro

16 December 2020


Sort by:

Davidsic, 17 Dec 2020I notice this same flaw of the main camera with the little ... morePurple fringe around light sources has already been resolved on Mate 30 Pro and so it's not applicable to this year's Mate 40 Pro.

Also this phone will never have to compete with S21 - Western people won't buy Mate 40 series just like Chinese people won't be very interested in any Samsung flagships. Besides, if anything it's upcoming P50 series that should be compared to the upcoming S21 series, not Mate 40 series.

Anonymous, 17 Dec 2020Hah, don't waste your time on this brick. From what ... more"A camera that doesn't take good night photos"
Man, you must have been living under a rock for quite a long period of time..

Anonymous, 17 Dec 2020sadly the UI is one of the worst, it makes miui look good lolI have zero problems about the UI. In fact its the smoothest Android system that I've ever used. Its been 2 years + already using Mate 20. As fast as day one after various of updates. But gotta say that I hate stock Huawei launcher looks, square icons & its notification panel though.

Easily solved by using Lawnchair V2, Power Shade notification (can scroll down anywhere from screen). Enjoying best of both worlds. - https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=1H727w8v8iFYPjRYqImIrH8PZTV6yixgp

Anonymous, 17 Dec 2020sadly the UI is one of the worst, it makes miui look good lolSounds like you never used EMUI at least for a last few years. The most recent version is actually very refined usability and performance wise and now easily one of the best if not the very best Android UI around there.

I see ads in romanian, yet you are bulgarian... Hmmm
Do I have any gsmarena quarters in my country?

  • Anonymous

Shui8, 17 Dec 2020'if the Google apps and services situation wouldn'... moresadly the UI is one of the worst, it makes miui look good lol

  • Anonymous

AnonD-972548, 17 Dec 2020I am a simple man, I like simple things. Too much workaroun... moreFair enough, it's just that those who make the effort will:

1. Have an amazing and stellar phone.
2. Be free of Google and their incessant user tracking, ads targeting and data collection.

  • AnonD-972548

I am a simple man, I like simple things. Too much workarounds for me, as stated in this review.
Yeah, you can install this and that. But do they work the same like Google apps and have the same smooth interconnection with other apps? Looks like not, according to this review. So then, why buy a Huawei phone, just to be or try something different? No, thank you. I'll stick with my classic google account and apps for now.

  • Anonymous

You forgot to write, long term review. Usually that's what you do.

  • Honor

Windows Phone part 2. No matter how good the built quality is, if the software and security sucks then Big no for Huawei phones.

Anonymous, 17 Dec 2020Hah, don't waste your time on this brick. From what ... more'A camera that doesn't take good night photos'

Its the most capable point & shoot smartphone camera daylight/low light currently LMAO. Forget the Night Mode. Its Auto that took only in split second beats pretty much everything out there in Auto, even with others using Night Mode.

  • Anonymous

Hah, don't waste your time on this brick.
From what I'm reading here you're paying $1000 for a phone without a global standard of services (G-suite) and need to work around with possible 'shady' chinese apps taking your info. A camera that doesn't take good night photos (something hauwei was touting 2 years ago to be the best at) and the OIS is poor?
Keep defending a subpar phone people.

wongwatt, 17 Dec 2020They kept it back for the Pro + - that has OIS on the main ... moreMeanwhile back on previous P40, even the vanilla version priced at $560 currently has OIS.

*scratch your head harder*

Anonymous, 16 Dec 2020"But maybe they would've been even better, especi... moreThey kept it back for the Pro + - that has OIS on the main lens, it's a odd decision but there you are. They both have it on the telephoto lens...a real headscratcher.

  • Anonymous

Huawei, 16 Dec 2020It's a nice phone, but it's a shame there are no ... moreYou like all your data to he collected and sold to advertisers and surveillance companies?

  • uuh

such an amazing camera....

szk, 16 Dec 2020Is there a full Widevine support with EMUI 11? There are so... moreFull support is there but due to lack of play services, Netflix and other streaming sites won't be able to give you high definition playback.

Actually, 16 Dec 2020Been fiddling alot on the apk without GMS as well.....and o... moreIt's as safe as Windows telling you it's not safe if you don't update your Windows PC.
An OS is as secure as the end user.
An intruder can easily get access to your PC even if you are all updated.

  • Tharun Thejus

There has been no news on Huawei Mate 40 Pro + variant? Will it be making its way to stores or is it just a concept kinda phone?

  • Anonymous

Thanks for the review. Could have been nice to know if GSMarena thought the lack of GMS is deal breaker. Shall be interesting to hear about the Harmony OS. Its supposedly a microkernel OS as opposed to a monolithic one such as Android, Linux, Windows, iOS, Unix.