Samsung Galaxy S21 5G review

21 January 2021


Sort by:

P C M, 24 Jan 2021I completely understand what's those IP ratings are. ... moreFrom Wikipedia:
"The ratings for water ingress are not cumulative beyond IPX6. A device that is compliant with IPX7 (covering immersion in water) is not necessarily compliant with IPX5 or IPX6 (covering exposure to water jets). A device that meets both tests is indicated by listing both tests separated by a slash, e.g. IPX5/IPX7."

Sorry, even if the device is being certified for IP65, that doesn't necessarily mean it also has IP68 rating and vice versa. It's safe to assume that Galaxy S21 series doesn't come with IP65 certification as Samsung does not mention it anywhere in its spec sheet, unlike Xperia 5 II which Sony actually describes as being IP65/68.

So you "completely" understand what they are, huh.

Meh smartphones are getting boring anything within the pass 3 yrs is more than what anyone truly needs in a pocketable device. Time to move on to EVs.

P C M, 24 Jan 2021That was a joke to him. Anyway why do you even care ? Y... moreI didn't take it as a joke but rather an attempt to piss me off. If you meant it as one, then let me tell you that to me it was not even remotely close to being funny.

  • Ewl

Anonymous, 24 Jan 2021Next year if they sell it to you in a plastic bag with a si... moreActually this (S21) is my first Samsung ever. I'm not saying you have to buy it - please don't if you don't like it.
But really I don't see why people being so angry and sad about a silly thing a missing charger. When I get the phone next week I'll just put it on my existing qi-pads or usbc-cable. The included cable will be left in the box. If Samsung would put a headphone in the box it would be left unused, same as existing phone and the phone I had before..
Sure it would be cool if they did something new and exciting with the cameras in S21 and not just kept it from S20 but.. it's still a good camera?

Nick Tagataka, 23 Jan 2021That came out of nowhere and completely caught me off guard... moreI completely understand what's those IP ratings are.
But I used to know something more.
What's IP68 certified are usually IP65 too.
On the other hand, If something is IP65 is IP68 too.

Shui8, 23 Jan 2021Act smart, confuse with yourself, dissapoint with other peo... moreThat was a joke to him.

Anyway why do you even care ?
You didn't reply to the comment to you from me, because that was a on your face kinda truth. You're sticking your nose to another person now.

  • Anonymous

Why no test of low light video? This is the area most in need of improvement

Numbers don't look good for the Exynos 2100, but the latest benchmark from 3D Mark, called Wild Life, favors heavily Exynos and iPhones, with SD ones in clear disadvantage. I ran the Wild Life benchmark in both my Galaxy A71 and Note9, and, as it turns out, the SD845 in my Note9 performed way worse than its Exynos counterparts, and the SD730 in my Galaxy A71 scored lower than even the Galaxy A50 (Exynos 9610). In Slingshot Extreme, it was the other way around.

Conclusion: don't take benchmarks too seriously.

  • Anonymous

Ewl, 23 Jan 2021It's all about who you ask or what your looking for in... moreNext year if they sell it to you in a plastic bag with a single smile sticker inside, sure that you'll find a justification for Samsung. For a lot of us, and sales will show if a majority this are a downgrade and more expensive so no buy and a closed wallet is our best answer for Samsung. Even better choose other brand and great phones from them to try something different while Samsung don't watch a penny until they change and add more useful features to their phones. For example an USF card slot for expand the memory with the new memory cards.

  • Anonymous

cpu slightly faster due to clock speeds exynos
gpu still lacking 20 30% behind mp 14 should been mp20 or full set of mp24 in kirin 9000
reports of snapdragon 888 silicone running very hot could well be another 810

  • Anonymous

nanagdad, 22 Jan 2021Memory cards are history mate. Accept the new normal. Just ... moreIf you have more devices you will instantly know how practical memory card can be...simply switch betwean devices and done...no cloud, no cables no issues

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Jan 2021downgrade from S20? even S10 Snapdragon is better!.. Stunni... moredowngrades started from s9
New exynos 2100 is barely ahead of the 865+ the 888 is 20% faster than the 865/+

  • Ewl

Anonymous, 23 Jan 2021downgrade from S20? even S10 Snapdragon is better!.. Stunni... moreIt's all about who you ask or what your looking for in a phone.

Personally I don't care at all for sd-card or 3,5mm - haven't used either in years. Same goes for earpiece normally in the box. I think the missing charger is a bit silly but really; who doesn't have like 5 perfectly fine chargers and usbc cables already?
Cameras are pretty much the same to S20 but better than S10. Sure screen has a few less pixels than last year but it's seems to be brighter and the 'smart' 120hz seems like a good thing. And if your going 120hz on a S20 your down to that resolution anyway? Who cares about the lack of edge? And both sd888 and exynos2100 seems good. And it's a much cheaper phone than both S20 and S10.
Sure it won't solve world peace and it's not perfect. But seems like a great phone!

  • Anonymous

Anders, 23 Jan 2021The entire S21 series is a downgrade from the S20 series. A... moredowngrade from S20? even S10 Snapdragon is better!.. Stunning design, perfectly lying on the table with cameras in center, display is more wide (not only betterr resolution), headphone jack, microSD slot, curved lcd...and inside? easy oneboard design...

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Jan 2021That only makes my point more strongly. iPhone 12 Pro blitz... moreNo it doesn't, and 60hz will give you siezues

  • Ewl

At the end there was a paragraph comparing to iPhone. About the price.. When I was comparing phones and thinking what to get.. the price difference S21 and iPhone 12 was about $370. And the S21 is about $230 cheaper than S20..!

  • Yeo

SamsungApple21, 23 Jan 2021But in real world usage they both feel similar, so for most... moreYep

The entire S21 series is a downgrade from the S20 series. Anyone who says different is lying, probably for financial gain

  • Steve

Anonymous, 23 Jan 2021That only makes my point more strongly. iPhone 12 Pro blitz... moreBut still you will have a better gaming performance on the S21. iPhone is limited to 60hz.

  • Sridhar

Is it true that the One UI3 is having lot of issue battery heating and battery draining ....