Samsung Galaxy S21 5G review

21 January 2021


Sort by:

Shui8, 22 Jan 2021I've got GMS using DualSpace, with full Youtube (took ... moreI don't use Drive, neither Maps. I use Maps on desktop as for satellite imagery and street views etc. But map itself is unusable. It used to be good, but it's bad now and poorly maintained. Yandex Maps and 2GIS are far better here. I also use Yandex Disk.

Gmail will work with any email client. And there are a lot of them on Android. Including stock email client, Outlook, open source powerful K-9 etc etc etc.

There is a good open source Youtube client - NewPipe. But you can only read comments. There is no yet social functionality. You can only export subscription list thought a file.

There is YouTube Vanced version that doesn't require GMS, but didn't try it.

  • Anonymous

Lorelie, 22 Jan 2021Is the charger and ear buds included if I'm gonna buy ... moreThe charger not, the buds only in the initial promotion/pre-orders depending of your country or if you purchase it online. S20 series are a better deal anyways if you don't consider other brand with better value/money actually and better products.

But they removed S20 series from their online shop. Maybe they'll return at some point but people are angry because a lot of them prefer the previous models and now can't purchase them from Samsung. So you must to buy a downgraded phone wihout accesories, worse cameras, no expandable memory... lol I ask myself if they did on purpose watching the reaction of people rejecting the new S21 series and bad initial feeling with them.

T-money, 22 Jan 2021Anyone notice how blurry some parts of the snail picture is... moredude its the first thing u notice

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 22 Jan 2021I would love to know how GSMA justify giving the S21 a high... moreOverall score has nothing to do with chargers and what's in the box. It's how the phone performs

  • Anonymous

Whether you like the phone or not, GSM Arena does the best reviews.

  • Tito73

I am interested because of the dimensions and weight! But noticed I am from Switzerland I will get the Exynos chipset,...batterylife is really important, S20 FE is pretty decent but too big so should I switch to Galaxy S21? Cheers

  • T-money

Anyone notice how blurry some parts of the snail picture is? I am talking about the grass and bushes on the right half of the pic, taken by the wide camera

  • Lorelie

Is the charger and ear buds included if I'm gonna buy it?
Or is it sold separately?

  • Anonymous

I would love to know how GSMA justify giving the S21 a higher score than the iPhone 12 Pro. They both lack chargers/earphones but the iPhone is made from the most premium materials, as opposed to S21's cheap plastic build. It has a superior chipset, camera and user experience. They have similar battery life. The only thing it lacks is high refresh-rate.

pavichokche, 22 Jan 2021Is this review and tests for the Exynos or Snapdragon model?Exynos. If you scroll down in part 4, you'll see a small paragraph that states they use Exynos since they're in Bulgaria and don't get the Snapdragon version.

  • Anonymous

johnh3, 22 Jan 2021From a european perspective I would not buy the old S20. It... moreYes, but the S20 FE 5g comes with Snapdragon 865 in all markets...and with a larger battery, larger screen, SD Card slot but otherwise similar specs...with much better deals available... Personally I think it's the better phone but I'm just not sure I want the larger size.

They have reviewed Xiaomi phones. MI10 for example.

  • Alex

johnh3, 22 Jan 2021From a european perspective I would not buy the old S20. It... moreThat's a business model for Samsung now: giving the choice between bad and awful :-)

Just watch out for the camera issues, john: it could be the new Exynos to blame for the low image quality. Makes sense to wait for the software update at least.

From a european perspective I would not buy the old S20. It had a crappy Exynos processor. And the new Exynos at S21 seems have catch up the Snapdragon counterpart.
So for me the S21 are the better phone.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 22 Jan 2021It is not about price. S21 main camera = 44m2 area P... moreSensor size and sensor area are two different things.

cherry, 22 Jan 2021Let me know when you find a Xiaomi with a better chipset fo... moreThat "800" Euro easily becomes 900 after you buy headphones and charger...

And talk about being left behind year after year with Exynos, while some regions have Snapdragon. Xiaomi might not have the flagship chipset for exactly half the price, but they'll sure still be better buy than this. At the other hand I doubt you're psychic so you can know what Xiaomi will or won't have...

While Xiaomi is far from perfect, they have better battery life in general, and are actually worth the money they charge for them, while I cannot say the same about Samsung.

  • pavichokche

Is this review and tests for the Exynos or Snapdragon model?

Compared to the S20+, I'd rather take last year's camera. It looks far better than the S21. I couldn't understand how S21 photos can look so noisy. The S20+ doesn't exhibit such a serious noise level. I do believe that it has something to do with the new chipset's ISP because the camera's image processing software algorithm didn't show any significant change between the two.

  • Erdalinus

TURKEY , 22 Jan 2021i prefer OnePlus 8T it is cheaper and it is more impressive No.

Short review: better endurance and performance, worse cameras and more pricy.