OnePlus Nord 2 5G review

22 July 2021


Sort by:

Anonymous, 23 Jul 2021Curious why people want a glass back when it makes the phon... morePreach! That is why I never care about the plastic back panel of the Samsung Galaxy S21, I'm going to put a phone case to it anyway.

  • Anonymous

960, 23 Jul 2021It's not just that we'll miss it, it's that ... moreBut why do you need 3.5 you can just use charging port I like it more when phone has less holes

  • Anonymous

Hemedans, 24 Jul 2021So if it's cpu hog then you throttle it? Someone paid ... moreLol your entire analogy is wrong.
Core i7, i9, celeron? You can't have celeron and core i7 in the same laptop.
But you can have cortex a55 and cortex A78 in same phone.
OnePlus isn't running on cortex a55 alone, they just blocked some excessive power consuming apps like Chrome from accessing high performance cores. Browsing isn't a heavy task Junior.

The real world difference is hardly a few milliseconds in chrome, barely noticeable to the end user.You didn't answer his question.. What other apps show lower performance ?

  • Anonymous

Hemedans, 24 Jul 2021So if it's cpu hog then you throttle it? Someone paid ... moreThe thing is that cortex a55 clocked at the speed it is, will run chrome as fast as cortex A78 but without the excessive power consumption.

Real world users didn't notice any difference.
The whole point of big little architecture is to balance the load between powerful and less powerful cores in order to consume less battery.
Web browsing isn't a heavy task like benchmarks or hardcore gaming where performance difference is noticeable if operating on cortex a55 cores.

Your questions were already answered in another comment section. Looks like you just hate OnePlus. Btw OnePlus already pushed an update giving the option to use powerful cores in those apps, enjoy your low battery life for basic task like web browsing.

i0S.- Never.- Again, 24 Jul 2021Which popular apps? Are you referring to the lopsided bias... moreSo if it's cpu hog then you throttle it? Someone paid close to thousand dollar to get cortex A55 perfomance?

Assume you are building pc for chrome or you buy laptop for chrome, and you know it eat lot of cpu, would you choose celeron or better core like i7 or i9?.

Hemedans, 23 Jul 2021They intentionally assign cortex A55 to run popular apps th... moreWhich popular apps?
Are you referring to the lopsided biased tests that Anandtech conducted??

Lol chrome is a huge cpu hog, no need to assign cortex X1 or cortex A78 cores and drain down battery. What other app? Vivaldi browser? Lol never heard of it...
What popular apps are you talking about?

Hemedans, 23 Jul 2021review was published earlier, Oneplus got caught recently ... moreOnePlus already fixed it with an update, giving an option to turn it off

captain fokou, 23 Jul 2021I hope you are joking. MIUI and EMUI are better in my opini... moreyep I prefer clean software than full bloated that need tweak to remove it.
for your Information, I have a redmi phones, and usually after 1 year I bought it, I will install custom rom based on AOSP

Anonymous, 23 Jul 2021Go read performance section of the review again. GSMARENA a... morereview was published earlier, Oneplus got caught recently

https://www.gsmarena.com/oneplus_responds_to_app_throttling_fiasco-news-49937.php

Anonymous, 23 Jul 2021Curious why people want a glass back when it makes the phon... moreNever understood it either

  • Anonymous

Hemedans, 23 Jul 2021They intentionally assign cortex A55 to run popular apps th... moreGo read performance section of the review again. GSMARENA addressed the that it is a non issue in real world

  • Anonymous

960, 23 Jul 2021Yes, we don't blindly accept rubbish trends by these m... moreCurious why people want a glass back when it makes the phone heavier and also more likely to break from drops. If for aesthetics, then what's the point of slapping a cheap plastic case?

  • JustSomeRandomGuy

"outstanding design"

wow seriously? it literally looks like a cheap Chinese phone with a OnePlus logo slapped to it and called it a day. what is so outstanding about that?

Ossvar, 23 Jul 2021I would buy this phone only if mediatek releases their sour... moreWhat's the source code mean?

  • Anonymous

The RTT function can't be turned off on this phone causing calls to not go through or drop. It doesn't do it on every call only certain numbers but its a real inconvenience because the only work around is using google assistant to call the number. I talked to OnePlus and TMobile and no one has and answer as to why this happens or why there isn't a toggle switch to turn the function off. It makes the phone function worthless with a good portion of my contacts. One month of the phone and I'm regretting ever getting it. If your in the states and have TMobile(It's exclusive so I guess you have to ) don't get it unless you want a lot of headaches with no solutions.

impinas, 23 Jul 2021The day shots are dreadful. It's been a while since I ... moreOh really? Check the non hdr photos. Hdr is broken in color is camera app as usual.

Hemedans, 23 Jul 2021They intentionally assign cortex A55 to run popular apps th... moreWhile I am aware that the small cores are being used in the oneplus 9 series for most tasks as part of Oneplus' "optimization", that's not the underperforming that I'm talking about. On tasks that push the chipset to its maximum (such as 3d mark wild life stress test and games such as Genshin Impact), the Oneplus 9/9pro cannot sustain a high level of performance. As stated, the 3dmark stability score of the 9 series is around 60%, similar to phones that don't have cooling solutions in them. This makes the actual usability of the Oneplus 9 phones lower than other snap 888 phones, as opposed to previous oneplus phones that are overperformers for their respective chipset.

  • Al

Do we know how many Android Updates this phone will be getting.
Being Mediatek cant rely on those Custom Roms.

48-hours hands-on review on Polish website says that software is very buggy, especially camera app that frequently closes, freezes or focuses on random parts of the photo. Mobile CP2077 or maybe they've got a faulty unit?

Very detailed review. I hope Tecno Mobile could learn something from this