Samsung Galaxy Watch4 review

09 Sept 2021


Sort by:

  • Sasch

Jostian, 10 Sep 20212 days battery! Just pathetic... really after so many itera... moreI got a phenix 6 pro and febix delta which I love but you can't compare apple with oranges . It's totally different oled screen is so much nicer to look at the the boring screen of Garmin . But this is why you get better battery life . It's a trade

  • Anonymous

YUKI93, 10 Sep 2021"Overall, you shouldn't expect more than two days... moreI've never been able to get three days with Tizen. 36-40 hours at best. If the sensors were accurate, I'd have lived with it, but since they are not, I've moved on.

dfbj, 10 Sep 2021So many complaints here and so much spoiled kids around. Lo... moreMmm no, with my Garmin, with all notifications and sensors active, including Garmin pay I'm getting 16 to 20 days! 2 days is pathetic...

2 days battery! Just pathetic... really after so many iterations this and the iWatch manage 2 days!! laughable... my Garmin with all notifications active etc. gives me 16 to 20 days. I cannot imagine the irritation of having to charge my watch everyday! No thanks!

ME , 10 Sep 2021Very nice but the battery .. My Gear S3 is still good for... moreI'm still keeping my Gear S3 since it is the only Samsung smartwatch to date that supports MST payment machines for Samsung Pay.

"Overall, you shouldn't expect more than two days of battery life from a single charge."

Well that's a shame since Tizen-powered Samsung smartwatches can go up to full three days with everything turned on. My worst fear about Wear OS seems to hit the point.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2021Tech pretty much stayed still in this particular form facto... moreApple fills most of the "niche" and will like ship around 40 million watches this year, and will take over half of the total revenue generated by watch sales. But it makes a genuinely good watch with highly accurate sensors.

  • Anonymous

The fitness watch reviews here are way too light on actual fitness tracking. GSMArena should get someone to run with a chest strap and a real sports watch and compare it to the watch it reviews, otherwise, the reviews are misleading.

So far the Galaxy 4 is a dud in the fitness department, based on most reviews. Its HR tracking is almost as inaccurate as its predecessors and basically on par with all the Chinese watches. Fitbit is better. And if you want a real fitness watch, buy a Garmin, Polar, or Suunto.

The Apple Watch also has sensors and algorithms that are on par with the best, and with the 7 being unveiled soon, Samsung has no chance. Look for steep discounts in a couple of months....

  • dfbj

So many complaints here and so much spoiled kids around. Look, it's a smartwatch. It runs on small battery which is actually biggest possible which can fin into that case. Want 2 years baterry - pick up some Casio nonsmart watch. Want to use pay, fitness, ecg, messages, music, whatever - you will charge it every 2 days. Simple as that.

  • Anonymous

pw88, 10 Sep 2021Another review without clarifying how is the watch connecte... moreIt connects through the Samsung Galaxy Wearable app. The process is similar to the one of Tizen watches, with the additional step that you need to also input your Google account.

I've tried classic one in store and it is huge and heavy! I can't imagine wearing this even for free. and with al this, Wear OS kills battery pretty fast (and you will charge it each night)

  • ST

Early bird, 10 Sep 2021I bought it only few days after it came out. The battery du... moreMine works flawlessly

  • pw88

Another review without clarifying how is the watch connected to phone - wearOS app? samsung app??

  • Early bird

I bought it only few days after it came out. The battery duration is abysmal, it overheats frequently and Play Store is very poor, specially on watch faces. On its favor, its well constructed and the bio sensor works better than Watch 2. Definitely half baked, it is going to need from 6 months to one year to be truly reliable.

  • cherry

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2021Have an Active Watch 2 which is the right size and works we... moreMe too, I am very happy with my pink active 2 watch. I get a lot of compliments on the look of it, works great even with iPhone and the price of 130€ was a bargain. :)

  • Anonymous

Tech pretty much stayed still in this particular form factor. What a waste. Give it another decade or two , until then the whole segment remains a niche/gimmick.

Duck of death, 10 Sep 2021People seems to disagree a lot with you on the Reddit abou... moreRegarding body fat, it's not accurate at all, it adds a few percentage of fat, perhaps because of the small area to pass through the current :p

gmit, 10 Sep 2021I'm very disappointed with the watch: - two days of ... moreFor continuous heart rate monitoring
Open Samsung Health on your watch > Settings (scroll to the bottom) > Measurement.

Duck of death, 10 Sep 2021People seems to disagree a lot with you on the Reddit abou... moreJust like the reviewer said "Then there's the accuracy. Samsung claims 98% when compared to industry scanners, but we have no way of verifying this.". I can't verifying this too, because I don't have the professional equipment. But my smart body scale measurement represents my body than the Watch 4, I'm trying to gain/recover my body fat to my ideal, but the Watch 4 said I have excess body fat.

I'm very disappointed with the watch:
- two days of battery life would be fine, but it's slightly less with doing almost nothing and without Always on
- very slow charging (20 minutes would be acceptable, hour and a half every day is just terrible)
- heart monitor isn't realtime, the numbers doesn't update regularly
- during the exercise, I get periods of 15+ minutes without Samsung Watch being able to read my pulse; adjusting the watch doesn't seem to help. The unit is not defective, a friend of mine has the same issue.
- Watch is unable to read my Wahoo cycling sensors from my bike

My previous 'watch' was Fitbit Charge 4 which is a toy, but it had a battery life of more than a week and the pulse readout was absolutely perfect and continuous.