Sony Xperia 1 IV review

11 May 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • r3b
  • 11 May 2022

BETTER at least 🤷‍♂️....well for those who thinks SONY is doing it better than SAMSUNG,camera-wise it's a big "NO"

Mathematically they are doing same thing....(only Genius in this field will understand) the fact itself is hiding market-wise 🙃.

Take it from me,big sensors with unique module set ups (undermining pixel counts) have always been the best in photo/videography world....but thinking twice,with this formula,expected solutions are hard to archive except you are ready to maintain these key-pionts.

Better processor (which will spoil Sony's show,and that is why the formula works better for Apple)..;P1

Consider pixel counts (even with big sensors) besides it's an android with less superior processors(anti-bionic😂 if I may say), at least 50megapixels (the reason xiaomi mi 11 ultra triumph on DXO score board,then the Google-pixel too)..;P2

Like I said earlier...Sony with better sensors but poor pixels and Samsung with rich pixels but poor sensors 🙃🙃🙃

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • vjX
    • 11 May 2022

    vrvly, 11 May 2022How many cables and chargers you need, I got plenty of them... moreBy justifying Sony's actions, you are opening a Pandora's box. Imagine electrical appliances, monitors, laptops, desktops not coming with cables.

      AnonD-1039478, 11 May 2022It's same price as S22 Ultra in UK I mean price is ok, hw not.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • 70d
        • 11 May 2022

        [deleted post]What he means is that it seems that only fans praise Sony phones, but most people don't want them, as demonstrated by the low sales. He doesn't forbid you from being a fanboy.

          • D
          • AnonD-1039478
          • nw}
          • 11 May 2022

          vrvly, 11 May 2022It's a bit sad seeing it's price tag and looking ... moreIt's same price as S22 Ultra in UK

            • D
            • AnonD-1039478
            • nw}
            • 11 May 2022

            Samsung pleasant processing?? Are you having a joke?? Over exposed,noisy,mushy,over processed,over sharpened. I could go on

              • G
              • Grave
              • 6v1
              • 11 May 2022

              Big progress for Sony but, speakers aside, S22 ULTRA (which I own) is still overall better much more refuned smartphone.

              What blows me away in S22U is exaxtly the same which Sony lacks : superb front camera especially at night, great back camera especially 10x zoom ones, pleasant processing, vibrant colors, tons of details and second to none noise handling.

              Second thing is screen.

              Sony's one just cant stand against much bigger, extremely bright (1700 nits at auto) vivid, colorful S22 ULTRA AMOLED screen, absolutely the best I've ever seen with great dynamic range and excellent sunlight legibility.

              So sorry sony.

              Although my very first smartphone was Xperia Z and once like very much its design (from that point only Galaxy S because of poor quality of Xperia cameras ) I have no doubts that Xperia I IV is overall inferior to S22 U.

              With smaller, dimmer screen, after all still worse cameras set (no night mode, no AF at front, smaller zoom etc), worse battery life and dated design with thick frames and above all - without S pen.

              And to make things even more unatractive- Sony sets as always steep price .

              I've notice that among gsma community are many die hard sony fans/fanboys who praise anything Sony release but the market verify that anyway.

                It's a bit sad seeing it's price tag and looking at size of ultra wide sensor and it's corner softness. Tho center is crazy sharp, it's not exactly ultra in being wide, so I wonder why.
                Low light get is also obvious with such small sensor...

                  Anonymous, 11 May 2022Possibly the first brand to omit the cable from the retail ... moreHow many cables and chargers you need, I got plenty of them because they were with every device(not just a phone) and when I charge them, I don't need all those, I need just few.
                  Maybe if I wanted to charge everything at once it would made sense, I got no such needs tho.
                  So no need for cable.

                    Well Sony finally did this. I was surprised to see that the speakers are finally flagship grade, and the cameras got a huge upgrade as well in terms of dynamic range.

                    I've read the whole review, and I can say that, if I was employed and got the bucks, i would still 50/50 about buying it. It's too expensive for my pockets. Even if I had a job, I wouldn't pay this much for a phone.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • wrb
                      • 11 May 2022

                      Shadocx, 11 May 2022Big pass, this phone is just not for me, it has features th... moreIt is, yet they still has pretty high screen to body ratio (84%), compared to iphone 12 and 13 (around 86-87%) it's still close. Plus, your display isn't disturbed by any notch or hole. But i agree with you in terms of its aspect ratio which is too tall (at least for me). Perhaps, this phone is good for those who cares more about multimedia and things.

                        • Z
                        • Zteam
                        • Tm9
                        • 11 May 2022

                        If you are choosing a phone in this price segment, you should definetly go for the Iphone 13 Pro Max, you get far longer software upgrades, it will keep it's value far better, the day you decide to sell it, and buy something else.

                        Otherwise, Xiaomi Mi 11 Pro or Samsung Galaxy S22 Ultra are great choices too.

                          • Z
                          • Zteam
                          • Tm9
                          • 11 May 2022

                          Asphalt-nation, 11 May 2022I think it's priced fairly. Apple & Samsung hav... moreThere is a very big difference in software support (os upgrades) though, Sony isn't promising anything more than two years of system upgrades, while Samsung is promising four years of os upgrades (not just security updates. but full android upgrades) for it's newer flagship devices, and Apple is an completely different league then it comes to software updates,

                          I'm no fan of either Samsung nor Apple personally, but they do offer a lot more value than Sony honestly (sorry Sony but it needs to be said)

                            Nick Tegrataker, 11 May 2022This is actually very surprising for me to see from Sony, a... moreApparently, it might be a regional thing, some reviews have said that they have the charger in the box and some said they don't.

                              • j
                              • johnny
                              • 8n3
                              • 11 May 2022

                              Sony just did what Apple does same design phone nothing uniqie or new Sony used to be one to look to like LG but unfortunately they have failed.

                                • H
                                • Hogan
                                • nEU
                                • 11 May 2022

                                Shadocx, 11 May 2022Big pass, this phone is just not for me, it has features th... more21:9 is amazing. I can't go back to a phone that doesn't sport it. The screen real estate is unreal and in landscape you have amazing wide-screen film viewing. As for bezels, they're hardly that pronounced and the design kills notched garbage in my personal opinion.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • sUS
                                  • 11 May 2022

                                  skzm, 11 May 2022People can't seem to fathom the idea that Sony's ... moreAnd that is a good thing as it doesn't make them listen to wireless earphone users who complain about the existence of a headphone jack.

                                    • R
                                    • RecklessR
                                    • mGi
                                    • 11 May 2022

                                    People drop things, why does the back have to be made of glass.
                                    £1299 are you kidding me! Phones are now stupidly overpriced

                                      • A
                                      • Anon
                                      • MMe
                                      • 11 May 2022

                                      jason, 11 May 2022£1600 almost in the UK, what an absolute joke of a phone, l... moreAvailable on Sony website for £1300...

                                        • L
                                        • Lonewolf
                                        • XTi
                                        • 11 May 2022

                                        hdsisqhdisq6896899, 11 May 2022Looks huge and 185gr is a lot to keep this in your pocket, ... moreAre u stupid or what?
                                        Do u know how much the iphone 13 pro max weighs? - 240g
                                        S22 ultra - nearly 230 g
                                        This has got to be the lightest flagship of them all and u are here to complain about weight 😂😂😂