ZTE Axon 40 Ultra review

11 June 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • m62
  • 14 Jun 2022

alirezaasol, 13 Jun 2022please add thermal throttling test to your reviewsThey do that already..

    please add thermal throttling test to your reviews

      • J
      • JustSomeRandomGuy
      • EwD
      • 13 Jun 2022

      FatShady, 12 Jun 2022here we go again with that bullshit "once you try 120h... more"the 120hz on phones does almost nothing but consumes twice the battery"
      the only thing that's bs here is your comment. I use both the ROG Phone 2 and the Galaxy A52s 5G. I know, flagship vs midrange but the SoC used on both phones are nearly identical to one another
      I have the ROG Phone 2 set to 120 Hz all the time since I got it years ago while the Galaxy A52s set to 60 Hz. the difference is so damn clear, it's like night and day. the Galaxy A52s looks choppy as if it's stuttering compared next to the ROG Phone w/120 Hz.

      Heck, even removing the ROG Phone from the equation leaving the Galaxy only, 60 Hz vs 120 Hz, there's a stark difference on day to day usage. everything just "feels" fast and significantly more smooth and fluid.

      "why the hell would anyone want to scroll fast in social media"
      you seem to be forgetting that HRR works on all animations, not just socmed apps. it works the moment you unlock your phone, you drop the notif shade, shuffle through apps, gaming of course that supports it, all those stuff. we praise Apple for years for being smooth and lag free, now Android achieves it, even better due to HRR, now it's bs???

      "isn't the point to see posts and not to get pass by them"
      my goodness, do you even know how HRR works? it doesn't make the display go faster, instead it's the refresh rate. think about it like fps on a video, the higher the fps the smoother the video

      "consumes twice the battery"
      this is completely false. my ROG Phone 2 can easily get 8 to 9 hours Sot w/120 Hz, 10 to 12 hours SoT w/60 Hz. the A52s regularly reaches 6 hours Sot 120 Hz, 9 hours Sot 60 Hz

      you haven't said a single thing that's true. do you really have a phone w/120 Hz??

        YUKI93, 13 Jun 2022I'm actually impressed with the overall photo quality.... moreI actually like the hires+raw combo in vivo phones, this one gets just about 12mp kind of detail in stills. Wonder if different camera app can help to shoot better...

          I'm actually impressed with the overall photo quality. I do see oversharpened detail here and there, but it's still bearable to me. Not many phones can do that. Even the colour science and the dynamic range got my thumbs up. Definitely putting this on my wish list despite the lack of a headphone jack.

            • T
            • Thong Tran
            • PVb
            • 13 Jun 2022

            If you install other camera app and use it for selfie, can you see the front camera hole? (in Mi Mix 4 still see the hole).

              • ae86
              • vaS
              • 13 Jun 2022

              'humanity' but the way they mine the materials to make phones is most probably inhumane.

                Anonymous, 11 Jun 2022Main camera of this axon is 1/1.76" as well. It is ... moreNubia Z40 Pro also has a 1/1.76 inch main sensor.

                  • K
                  • Kuba
                  • uN{
                  • 13 Jun 2022

                  Don't bother with cheap Chinese brands, trust me, i had ZTE phone and software updates stopped after few months after launch with most bugs never fixed. So max 6 months update and you're left on your own.

                    • i
                    • i.m.bravo
                    • 40@
                    • 13 Jun 2022

                    Anonymous, 11 Jun 2022So, ppl between 2012-2018 could use outdoors phones with le... moreMy Huawei P30 pro maxes out at 605 nits and I've never had an issue in direct sunlight.

                    The reviews on the phone are all over the place. Some say it's mediocre, some say it's top of the line.

                    I say that for $800 USD it's great. It comes with charger and case in the box. Something other manufacturers stopped doing.

                      FatShady, 12 Jun 2022here we go again with that bullshit "once you try 120h... moreJesus Christ! You’re arguing about 120 Hz yet you clearly don’t know what it is all about…

                      You don’t scroll faster through media when your display has 120 Hz option turned on, scrolling just looks smoother because display is showing twice as many frames per second in comparison with 60 Hz frame rate. Scrolling speed stays the same, it’s just smoother and more pleasing to the eye, hence better overall user experience.

                      To me that is one of more important aspects of phone.

                        • A
                        • Again
                        • kq{
                        • 12 Jun 2022

                        "You still can't change the four bubbles, but you can rearrange the regular-sized toggles that appear on the second swipe."

                        This phone could have the best cameras but the UI still kills ZTE phones. As somebody who doesn't use the flashlight or Bluetooth, why should they be forced upon my quick settings? And why are the quick settings so large that they literally take up half of the notification screen?

                        This is blatant bad design.

                          • W
                          • Whatwhatinthemargine
                          • 4XV
                          • 12 Jun 2022

                          NextGenGeek, 11 Jun 2022ZTE Axon 40 Ultra and Vivo X80 Pro definitely aren't i... moreYour comment sounds just as wrong and doing the exact same thing he is. As someone who actually works in technology and is a computer scientist I can tell you without any doubt at all that the 40 ultra is the better phone and complete flagship package whereas the 80 is lacking in countless aspects and your right the software and programming is crap making the hardware practically useless and lowing it's capabilities hugely, nowadays the software is much more important the. The hardware and with things like AI and etc the software itself is much more important the. The hardware for most things including photography. The Axon is undoubtedly the better of the two phones (I have tried and been through the API of both, or in other words through the programming).

                          I don't understand why people who obviously dont actually know much about phones and probably haven't used this phone keep trying to put it down? Are you guys being paid too or something? Legitimately just wondering, because this is an extremely reasonably priced and very high functioning well made flagship quality phone that competes against the best of them, even up there with the Samsung galaxy s21 ultra (which is better than the 22 imo, but also obv the 21 and even 22 ultra are better, just not even close to as much as you'd think), yet people are talking about it like it's some low tier phone. It's absurd to me and not based on reality so I feel like it's negative marketing campaigns being run by competitors. I do t see another reasoning for it besides dunning-kruger-esque belief in self and attention seeking, but for the most part I don't think it's that. Basically I am just wondering where did your negative views of this phone come from and what is it based upon?

                            • i
                            • i.m.bravo
                            • 40@
                            • 12 Jun 2022

                            Anonymous, 11 Jun 2022So, ppl between 2012-2018 could use outdoors phones with le... moreMy Huawei P30 pro maxes out at 605 nits and I've never had an issue in direct sunlight.

                            The reviews on the phone are all over the place. Some say it's mediocre, some say it's top of the line.

                            I say that for $800 USD it's great. It comes with charger and case in the box. Something other manufacturers stopped doing.

                              • R
                              • Rkm
                              • ypc
                              • 12 Jun 2022

                              You guys need to include some "portrait" photos from telephoto from now on.
                              You know, like you shot that 35mm without applying portrait mode. Similarly with the telephoto lens. If it has portrait mode on telephoto lens, well and good. Even if there isn't, it would be ideal and pleasing for human subjects. Give special credits if portrait mode can be applied on telephoto lens.

                                elmonch, 12 Jun 2022Will ZTE open bootloader for this device? I won't buy... moreSo far, the answer is no. It appears custom ROM for 30 Ultra wasn't produced either owing to locked bootloader and popularity of the device

                                  • R
                                  • Rly
                                  • nQY
                                  • 12 Jun 2022

                                  Anonymous, 12 Jun 2022When I got my last phone which had a 90hz screen, the diffe... moreAs your feelings with 60hz-90hz, i feel the same. And the same feeling i get with 90hz-120hz

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • pEd
                                    • 12 Jun 2022

                                    FatShady, 12 Jun 2022here we go again with that bullshit "once you try 120h... moreIt doesn't a actually consume twice the power despite what you think. Logic doesn't work like that. The power consumption of a panel is not majority based on its refresh rate. So you don't go from 1x to 2x by doing 60 to 120.

                                    And you CAN see a difference, objectively and subjectively. Whether or not you care, that's you. But dont take away the benefit that is there just because it is not important for you

                                      • d
                                      • dustyballs
                                      • 3xh
                                      • 12 Jun 2022

                                      x3merrr, 11 Jun 2022i would actually buy this phone if they only used a normal ... moreLIterally, non-normal selfie camera is the main selling point of this phone, as it provides fully uninterrupted screen viewing experience... every other aspect of this phone is better done and performs better in other smartphone models, even for less money..

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • BiP
                                        • 12 Jun 2022

                                        NeonHD, 11 Jun 2022> 60hz is enough The majority of people would disagre... moreWhen I got my last phone which had a 90hz screen, the difference between that and 60hz was very noticeable, but I can't really tell any difference between 90hz and 120hz.

                                        As with everything, some people couldn't care less if the text on there screens blurs when scrolling, the same as on PC monitors.