ZTE Axon 40 Ultra review

11 June 2022


Sort by:

Will ZTE open bootloader for this device?
I won't buy anything if I can't put a custom ROM in it

    • T
    • Tomio
    • 0r@
    • 12 Jun 2022

    My only real worry was the batterylife, given this review I will absolutely be picking this phone up.
    For that single annual selfie I take I still use my 2016 Huawei Mate 9 anyway

      NeonHD, 11 Jun 2022> 60hz is enough The majority of people would disagre... morehere we go again with that bullshit "once you try 120hz you won't go back to 60hz", such an absolute bullshit that is being said all the ignorants, my phone has a 120hz screen and its been on 60hz for the past 11 out of 12months, the 120hz on phones does almost nothing but consumes twice the battery, also, why the hell would anyone want to scroll fast in social media? isn't the point to see posts and not to get pass by them.

        Anonymous, 11 Jun 2022Another pathetic battery life, very disappointed 6.8 inches 5K mah battery at 104hrs of endurance with power sapping Snapdragon 8Gen 1 chipset is pathetic? I really think your expectations are over the top?

          Anonymous, 11 Jun 2022Main camera of this axon is 1/1.76" as well. It is ... moreThey're not the same one as last Axon since it's slightly customized and improved version of it.

            x3merrr, 11 Jun 2022i would actually buy this phone if they only used a normal ... moreZTE Axon 40 Ultra and Vivo X80 Pro definitely aren't in the same league. ZTE probably just wanted to prove they have potential and show what they would do to be called innovative. They fulfilled their goal. Whereas, X80 Pro is a complete package premium flagship with a big assertion for cameras but with subpar software.
            So you needn't have contained their names in the same comment, it looks like you're really comparing these two, and showing the latter as the real alternative to the former. If you're doing this for real, then you're mistaken.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • Lkg
              • 11 Jun 2022

              Bunt , 11 Jun 2022"Axon 40 Ultra = best phone ZTE has cmes with 1/1.76&q... moreMain camera of this axon is 1/1.76" as well.
              It is not same of the 64MP used by Zte Nubia 40 Pro.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • Lkg
                • 11 Jun 2022

                NeonHD, 11 Jun 2022> 60hz is enough The majority of people would disagre... moreAll phones that can go beyond 60Hz come from factory set 60Hz by default.
                Majority is still using 60 without knowing.

                Brands are wasting money on it.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • Lkg
                  • 11 Jun 2022

                  mobileman, 11 Jun 2022aaah! no,agsin dissapointment. cant use that phone sunlig... moreSo, ppl between 2012-2018 could use outdoors phones with less than 600 nits (cough cough samsung) but now somehow they cannot see those that have 650-700 nits?

                  Curious to know how it is possible ....

                    Anonymous, 11 Jun 2022Well , 104h is low for phone with FHD + 5000mAh .. Axon... moreAxon 40 Ultra and Nubia 40 Pro have the same camera sensor.
                    We initially thought it's a 1/1.3" type sensor but while we reviewed the Axon, we dug out the correct sensor size.
                    The specs page of the Nubia 40 Pro would be updated to say 1/1.76".

                      • B
                      • Bunt
                      • IbF
                      • 11 Jun 2022

                      Anonymous, 11 Jun 2022Well , 104h is low for phone with FHD + 5000mAh .. Axon... more"Axon 40 Ultra = best phone ZTE has cmes with 1/1.76", but Nubia 40 Pro has 1/1.3" ".

                      No. Only the telephoto lens has a 1/1.76" sensor. The wide and UW sensors are 1/1.33"

                        • c
                        • cyber
                        • S2D
                        • 11 Jun 2022

                        a lof of flaws considering the asking price,iphones and galaxies leaves almost no competition

                          i would actually buy this phone if they only used a normal selfie camera.
                          ...this way, ill probably go for x80pro or something like that.

                            mobileman, 11 Jun 2022aaah! no,agsin dissapointment. cant use that phone sunlig... more> 60hz is enough

                            The majority of people would disagree now. Once high refresh rate has become mainstream (which it already has), literally nobody would want to go back to 60hz.


                            > battery life is also lausy

                            Did you even read the review? The battery life is above average. According to another review, it gets around 8 hours SOT, which is slightly more than the S22 Ultra.

                              • P
                              • PakHuySun
                              • nrN
                              • 11 Jun 2022

                              MyOS 12 looks a lot like MIUI, but more polished and consistent.

                                The selfie camera photos are honestly looking pretty solid now. Their third gen UDC really is a major improvement. I mostly use my selfie camera for snapchats and I feel like this phone would be just fine for that.

                                  Missing hi res is a sad thing, so is the camera processing. Good thing there is a raw to save it, if you edit 64mp shots, it should look better.

                                    The curve on the front panel seems way 'worse' than what Samsung offer, I do hope that there will be an end to these ... 2.5D is more than fine and more 'solid' :)

                                    Glad to see how the UDC is perfoming though, hope it'll become standard! :)

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • iAE
                                      • 11 Jun 2022

                                      Another pathetic battery life, very disappointed

                                        • d
                                        • derrr
                                        • 2xJ
                                        • 11 Jun 2022

                                        I totally agree with your introduction to this review: quote "When did we decide that the 24-26mm focal length was the 'default' one for 'main' cameras on smartphones? " etc... liked the main, ultrawide and telephoto daylight pics very much but from there on unfortunately it disappointed with inconsistent and lesser quality pics and video. It was on my list of possible purchases to replace my gracefully ageing but still very good Note 4 with 31mm fl.