Samsung Galaxy A52s long-term review

25 June 2022


Sort by:

Noneone, 26 Jun 2022The A53s will probably not be released so A52s is better. 🤷🏻‍♂️A52s came late Too, it was not released with A52. A52s was released Aug/sept so there is time before A53s release. It was Reported earlier this Year Samsung made order for Dimensity Highend soc, with s22Fe canceled definetely That phone will be Highend A series.

    • T
    • Tiramisu
    • dZu
    • 26 Jun 2022

    Anonymous, 26 Jun 2022Does it matter? What's important is that there is a be... moreWhere I live, the Galaxy A53 is priced lower than the Galaxy A52s.

      • G
      • Grey Wolf
      • ppq
      • 26 Jun 2022

      Anonymous, 26 Jun 2022Samsung has gone a long way in the software department with... moreLol, you don't buy Chinese phones for good timing software updates. You buy them for good specs at nice prices (at least they were like this, sadly they started increasing prices too).

      If you want good regularly software updates, at least in Android world, you are kind of stuck with Samsung.
      If you want the best specs on paper and relatively ok prices and don't care that much about software updates, then buy a Xiaomi or Realme. If you are lucky and find a stable model, is ok. If you are unlucky and got a buggy phone, just change it with the next model that will appear in 3 months. Lol.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • Lkg
        • 26 Jun 2022

        Anonymous, 26 Jun 2022Does it matter? What's important is that there is a be... moreIt matters when people here b***h about A53 being inferior to A52s, despite the fact it replaces A52.

          • t
          • techois
          • s3X
          • 26 Jun 2022

          rizki1, 26 Jun 2022that's launch price in Europe, you called A52s is chea... morebut now you can buy an x3 nfc for 200 euros while an a52s brand new ranges from 200-250€

            • J
            • James Tont
            • as2
            • 26 Jun 2022

            in my opinion it is the best mid-range.
            The audio quality is also not bad, although the volume is not that high.
            the software does not give me particular slowdowns or bugs.
            And finally I paid € 250 with guarantee, you tell me what could be better.

              • a
              • a 52s
              • BRJ
              • 26 Jun 2022

              I bought it for about a month and at the moment I'm fine.
              I bought it in a physical store and paid € 259.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • Sjp
                • 26 Jun 2022

                Anonymous, 26 Jun 2022No 4k EIS on the latest update. It is there for me, on the same software version as in the review, and has been since like April I think.

                  • N
                  • Nikojas
                  • 8pK
                  • 26 Jun 2022

                  I thought it was me who got unlucky and had a unit with a lot of lag so interested to see it's also your experience.
                  After updating to android 12 the lags got worse as well as a rolling stuttering to the point it annoyed me so much I sold it. Pity because on paper it's a great phone. But in practice it was infuriating!

                    Anonymous, 26 Jun 2022Repeat until you understand A53 is not his replacement,... moreThe A53s will probably not be released so A52s is better. 🤷🏻‍♂️

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • Kxv
                      • 26 Jun 2022

                      Anonymous, 26 Jun 2022Repeat until you understand A53 is not his replacement,... moreDoes it matter? What's important is that there is a better option at a lower price point.

                        • A
                        • AngryLithuanian
                        • my5
                        • 26 Jun 2022

                        Samsung's "swiss army knife" of phones 👍

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • Lkg
                          • 26 Jun 2022

                          Repeat until you understand

                          A53 is not his replacement, A53s will be.
                          A53 is not his replacement, A53s will be.
                          A53 is not his replacement, A53s will be.
                          A53 is not his replacement, A53s will be.
                          A53 is not his replacement, A53s will beL

                          Repeat 1000x if necessary .....

                            Pedz, 26 Jun 2022I have my a52s for 6 7 months now and its strange u say its... moreSamsung Galaxy A52s is indeed a great phone. What is more important is at INR25.5K ($330, €315) it poses a great value, a rarity among Samsung devices.

                            The more I use the phone, more I fall in love with it. And I am no Sammy fanboy, quite opposite actually. A smartphone needs to get the basics right, to me every phone needs to have great call quality, reception quality. This is where I find my A52s excels, as the earpiece is loud and clear while taking calls. Not only does it supports dual SIM 4G VoLTE, it also have support for 12 (5G) bands with the most important N78 band included in the list. The only gripe is the phone supports single SIM 5G as other runs on 4G. However I am least bothered as it will take another 3 years in my country to start 5G. The phone has excellent 4G carrier aggregation support which is more important to me as of now.

                            And we should not forget in two aspects A52s has no competition, first the image quality that is coming out of the Samsung ISOCELL GW1 (64 MP) main sensor coupled with OIS. Ofcourse Samsung image processing and color science is adding a lot of magic in it. Second, it is rated IP67 for water and dust resistance. An absolute rarity at this price bracket. I now have the peace of mind as a light drizzle will not make my phone dead.

                            The trump card of the entire A52s package is undoubtedly the Qualcomm Snapdragon 778G SoC built on latest 6nm TSMC nodes. Its performance comes very close to that of an Snapdragon flagship 8-series chip like Snapdragon 860. The other aspect of 778G is it runs super cool. To run a highly customized heavy skin like OneUI over Android 12 you need ample amount of performance which 778G provides with ease coupled with 8GB of RAM. To me for the current OneUI 4.1 you need at least Snapdragon 750G with 8G RAM to provide that butter smooth feeling. Anything less and you feel slight stutters in OneUI.

                            I hate TWS replacing the wired headphones, because TWS is technically incapable of reproducing the sound quality of a high quality wired earphones. Unfortunately even the $400 Samsung S20 FE 5G lacked the headphone jack. The bright Samsung AMOLED HDR10+ certified display of A52s is gorgeous and so are the stereo speakers. However the display has screen flickering issue, may cause headaches under low light conditions. Performance and fluidity of OneUI 4.1 @ 120Hz refresh rate is a joy to use. I truly love the software experience provided by this phone and how fluid and stutter free the powerful SD778G is keeping it. You get premium features like Knox security and secure folder too which are good add ons.

                            So in the end I will reiterate, and this comes from the mouth of a prior Samsung hater, that A52s is a fantastic phone for its price, perhaps the best Samsung phone to ever adorn the A series tag.

                              • H
                              • Hi gsmarena
                              • arT
                              • 26 Jun 2022

                              This A52s or Realme 9 pro+ with pros and cons?

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • mt4
                                • 26 Jun 2022

                                rizki1, 26 Jun 2022what samsung device for around $100 get 3 years updates? Re... moreDo you research before leaving an useless comment.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • fwr
                                  • 26 Jun 2022

                                  Cortex, 26 Jun 2022👍 I am ought a Samsung galaxy 52S in Nov 2021. In April 2022 it stopped picking network. The phone is still under warranty and Samsung told me to take it to certain shops for attention. The first place had it for 6 weeks and failed. Samsung then told me to take it to a second place. It is there for 2 weeks now but still not repaired.

                                    • P
                                    • Pedz
                                    • M8B
                                    • 26 Jun 2022

                                    MRSTEK, 26 Jun 2022I've tried my friend's A52s and can't help t... moreI cant agree more.

                                      • P
                                      • Pedz
                                      • M8B
                                      • 26 Jun 2022

                                      I think a galaxy s22 with a snap 778g would be THE phone for me. Like or reply if u agree

                                        Noneone, 26 Jun 2022Let them praise Xiaomi. I don't understand people, why... morewhat samsung device for around $100 get 3 years updates? Redmi 9 get 3 years updates.