Asus ROG Phone 6 Pro review

05 July 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • sUS
  • 09 Jul 2022

Kangal, 08 Jul 2022You mean "water resistant", right? Samsung S5 ha... moreHow come you didn't mention the ip68 rated Xcover Pros of 2020 and 2022? And re: Samsung's water damage policy, they also refused to fix water damaged S7 units.

And the fine ones (not water damaged) that only had battery replacement service? Samsung issued notice to some users I know that they shouldn't "wet" their phones ever again. What a sick joke.

    Anonymous, 08 Jul 2022You can have a removable battery on a waterproof phone.You mean "water resistant", right?
    Samsung S5 had this officially, but it wasn't great. More like IP55-66 depending on circumstances, despite the rating. They outright refused to cover or fix water-damaged devices. Whereas the Samsung S6 didn't come with any official rating, so they didn't have an obligation to fix water-damaged devices. But that was more like high-IP66 or low-IP67 rating, notably better than the S5.

    The LG G5 didn't have a rating, it also had a User Removable Battery. But secretly it also had a decent water-resistance. It was more like high-IP66 level, notably above the Samsung S5 and notably below the Samsung S7. Some say the LG V20 also had some hidden protection but I'm skeptical of that (it was probably IP55-level).

    So there really is a tradeoff between Removable Battery versus Ingress Protection.And I would posit that all phones should have a User Removable Battery.... and if they don't they should have at least IP67 protection. But that is NOT what we have. The majority of phones (+99%) are sealed, and only a minority actually have water resistance (under 20%). Even if we remove the entry (USD $70) and (USD $190) low-end levels, so that we only focus on the High-end (USD $450) and (USD $900) Luxury segments... the figures are not so great.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • m62
      • 08 Jul 2022

      Kangal, 08 Jul 2022You want to live in the past? Because of the pandemic? A... moreYou can have a removable battery on a waterproof phone.

        DMX, 07 Jul 2022let live in the pastYou want to live in the past? Because of the pandemic?

        Anyways, if you have a "gaming" phone and it is not water resistant (IP68), then what is stopping you from putting a User Removable Battery there? If you think about it, having the speakers loud, the screen bright, and the processor running... all these things will drain battery quickly. And all three things are expected for "gaming", which means you will churn through that full battery quickly. What is a better way to charge the device, then to simply swap Low Battery (5%) with a Full Battery (95%). You basically extend your battery life in mere seconds and not an hour (or potentially longer). I did this with my Samsung Note 4-Exynos, and it was a great experience. I had the freedom to choose to bring a spare battery and it was slim and light which slipped into my jeans pocket without effort. I cannot say the same thing about those PowerBanks.

        I also have a large library of Retro and Emulation Games. They're pretty fun. But you need a microSD slot, and to treat each card like a games cartridge. I do not understand the reasoning for opposing these "gaming features" and wanting them to appear on a "gaming phone". It sounds like what a company shill would say, so they could maximise their profits.

          • G
          • Ghanz
          • dWw
          • 07 Jul 2022

          Still have the first gen. Despite poor update policy ( only two years) it still works like a charm for 4 years already. I still prefer it over Zenfone 8.
          I will buy this one if they include the ( needed ) cooler.

            • H
            • Hmmm
            • 56h
            • 07 Jul 2022

            Anonymous, 07 Jul 2022Bogus company with bogus service centre.nothing is there to... moreWhich country. Mine they pick my rog3 from my house, repaired it and send it back to when done.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • Dky
              • 07 Jul 2022

              Bogus company with bogus service centre.nothing is there to repair the past Rog phone with huge cost.Even the device not lasting for two' years.

                • D
                • DMX
                • 8xr
                • 07 Jul 2022

                I personally liked this phone, the problem will always be its price... If Asus launches the pro version 200 dollars less you think about it

                  • D
                  • DMX
                  • 8xr
                  • 07 Jul 2022

                  Kangal, 07 Jul 2022I generally don't recommend Pixel phones. At least in... morelet live in the past

                    • y
                    • yalim
                    • T4}
                    • 07 Jul 2022

                    choyph, 06 Jul 2022but did you read that when you lowered it to 60hz, you get ... moreI read and already wrote 60Hz results of all phones in my comment. look again carefully please. LTPO does not involve in 60Hz setting and still asus has lower than older models' standards.

                      Yoedi16, 06 Jul 2022Just buy pixel, stock aosp is fast but lack brand identity ... moreI generally don't recommend Pixel phones.
                      At least in my demographic they are released later, cost more, and have QC issues. Not to mention the downgrade you get in features, and the buggy updates. There's a lot of USA centric features in the Google Services which does very little for the international market. I generally recommend other brands like LG (RIP), Samsung, or the occasional Motorola. But the Pixels' cameras are good, the updates are long, and the UI isn't distasteful.

                      Anyways, if my objective is for "gaming" on my phone, then you would hope to see features like Headphone Jack (ROG 3), microSD slot, User Removable Battery. Because you'll NEED hot-swappable memory for the large files, and the battery because it runs out quickly, and you'll need a good audio experience to match the visual experience.

                      But where a lot devices fall apart is when it comes to ergonomics. Sure, the ASUS RoG 6 is slightly better than the ASUS ZenFone 8, because it's larger and has "air triggers". But then compare the ergonomics to the Razer JungleCat (with Samsung S10+). Or compare it to the ergonomics on the PS VITA. Touch controls are horrible when it comes to FPS or Open-World titles. You can compare something like Killzone Mercenary to something like CoD Mobile, to get an idea. Or all three platforms support GTA San Andreas, Minecraft, and Fortnite (PS-Share).

                      ....see my requests weren't frivolous afterall. And if I had the money to open a factory, I would!

                        Anonymous, 05 Jul 2022WOW the energy efficiency is poor. Only 16hr web browsing ... moreyou dont even heard that rog uses 165hz thats why it only achieved 16 hours of web. You didnt even read that Gsmarena says if you lower the refresh rate to 60hz you'll get 18 hours and 53 minutes of web browsing. Read the whole page of the battery life section. Dont even compare Rog 6's battery to S22 Ultra and Iphone 13 pro max bcos they have LTPO 2.0 panels(rog 6 doesnt have this). You dont know what's LTPO panels? Then search it. Not a fan of whatsoever, Im just sick of these blind people

                          Anonymous, 05 Jul 2022WOW the energy efficiency is poor. Only 16hr web browsing ... moreyou dont even heard that rog uses 165hz thats why it only achieved 16 hours of web. You didnt even read that Gsmarena says if you lower the refresh rate to 60hz you'll get 18 hours and 53 minutes of web browsing. My god this newbies. Read the whole page of the battery life section

                            Anonymous, 05 Jul 2022WOW the energy efficiency is poor. Only 16hr web browsing ... moreyou dont even heard that rog uses 165hz thats why it only achieved 16 hours of web. You didnt even read that Gsmarena says if you lower the refresh rate to 60hz you'll get 18 hours and 53 minutes of web browsing. My god this newbies.

                              Eric20, 05 Jul 2022Check again. Without the attachment(to be fair to phones wi... morei think asus is following samsung's method. Asus are throttling their rog's performance if the x mode isnt turned on. Its the opposite situation by samsung, samsung throttles the phone if GOS is turned on

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • PGq
                                • 07 Jul 2022

                                Anderanerin, 07 Jul 2022In the Introduction section of the review: "The situat... moreYes

                                  finally Snapdragon manufactured by TSMC, showing its true and maximum potential, matching an iPhone with the cooler on. but then, at this price, I might as well buy an iPhone, not losing much except the headphone jack but still better SoC, better cameras, better longer OS support, better resale....

                                    In the Introduction section of the review: "The situation was complicated further by introducing Pro and Ultimate skews to the mix", and "Asus previously had white reserved for its Ultimate skew" - is "skew" a typo? It seems like it should be SKU (Stock Keeping Unit)

                                      • D
                                      • DMX
                                      • 8xr
                                      • 07 Jul 2022

                                      Kangal, 06 Jul 2022Here's what I would sacrifice: - second USB-C - Wire... moreBuild a factory and make it possible!!

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • Lkg
                                        • 06 Jul 2022

                                        Kangal, 06 Jul 2022Here's what I would sacrifice: - second USB-C - Wire... moreFeatureless stock android?

                                        Having stock android does not mean fast updates. Remember android one phones from xiaomi? How slow motorola has been these days?