Xiaomi 12S Ultra review

15 July 2022


Sort by:

skimminstones, 16 Jul 2022im so bored of the camera shootout in phones. They ALL take... moreTrue

    • K
    • Krillo
    • mrr
    • 16 Jul 2022

    skimminstones, 16 Jul 2022im so bored of the camera shootout in phones. They ALL take... moreFor example way better battery life? It's the most important thing, that does not seem to improve a lot, outside of a very few phones.

      Looking at Xiaomi Ultras together, someone from 2018 would have thought merely by design that 12s Ultra was the first introduced Ultra. Then came the Mi 11 Ultra. And finally Mi 10 Ultra with the most flamboyant design.

        Batterylife. No go for me. Maybe put slower processor in it. With better batterylife. Then I will consider.

          im so bored of the camera shootout in phones. They ALL take good photos, some may be better than others but all of them are good. Give me something else that warrants giving you my money!

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • 39y
            • 16 Jul 2022

            77, 16 Jul 2022The Sony pro-i and Sony 1v blows this.Not when the Sony phones now cost 1,300 and have worse quality with photo and video quality Vs other flagships (the mi 11 ultra still better than any Sony phone for camera and this is on par/better than that).

            Plus Sony's are ugly phones (my opinion, not fact) and don't really offer anything other than making their own cameras. USA they are a good choice though.

            Also why do you need 4k 120fps (you'd want 4k 24/30fps realistically for quality/cinematic), I mean this can do 720p at like 3800 FPS or whatever, Sony can't. Don't think Sony can record in true 10 bit dolby vision at 4k 60fps either plus haven't got the new 8+ 1 SoC.

              What's the point of a "smartphone" if I have to manually tweak settings to get a good photo? If I wanted a camera, I would've just gotten one.

                • T
                • TECH--BEAST
                • XG4
                • 16 Jul 2022

                507AMS, 16 Jul 2022this is what GSMARENA says about failures/missteps of your ... moreAbout overheating, who's in their right mind believes their marketing gimmicks , they always cheapen out on the cooling, it's a known fact lol, if you want an amazing cooling with dependable cameras just go for realme besides their software skin is more stable unlike this "memeui" mess.

                  • T
                  • TECH--BEAST
                  • XG4
                  • 16 Jul 2022

                  Anonymous, 16 Jul 2022Terrible battery life. nextIt's because of miui

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • gXQ
                    • 16 Jul 2022

                    77, 16 Jul 2022Mines rooted with custom kernels and ROM 110fps on gaming ... moreHow much heat and what's the game?

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • 8N3
                      • 16 Jul 2022

                      Wongwatt, 16 Jul 2022Putting aside that this isn’t a Sony article, it’s not a ca... moreThe only different is lack of default HDR. All other use as default, xperia does not.
                      If you see samples of other phones like galaxy and iphone when HDR failed to trigger, there will be exposure issues. Too bright background.

                      All people need to do is to go to P Mode and turn on HDR. No other setting needs to be changed.

                      Auto and manual does not have software differences. Manual is just to lock setting according to what you need.
                      Noise, sharpening, exposure and other stuff are same if settings (shutter and iso) are equal.

                      If they wanted to make phone do everything for you, then would not spending time and money to create Photo Pro. Would be much easier and cheaper to have simple app with only auto like pixel or iphone.

                      People here read about phones everyday and do not know this simple fact after reading reviews evey year.

                      🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️

                        [deleted post]"85% off YouTubers and vlogs uses Sony alpha camera"
                        Source: trust me

                          • W
                          • Wongwatt
                          • pKc
                          • 16 Jul 2022

                          [deleted post]Putting aside that this isn’t a Sony article, it’s not a camera so nobody should have to spend minutes setting up just to take a picture on a phone.
                          Perhaps Sony just don’t know how to develop a fully usable automatic mode?
                          I had a 1iii, it was alright, I managed to take perfectly good photos, but it’s cell, Bluetooth and wi-fi reception was awful compared to other devices.
                          Bug ridden software too, that wasn’t fixed in the 6 months I owned it.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • 0cJ
                            • 16 Jul 2022

                            Thanks for the review. The 12S Ultra is interesting, but for the camera, I'd choose a Pixel 6 Pro, an iPhone 13 Pro/Max or the Samsung Ultra over it, based on most other samples and reviews I've seen. Maybe it'll get better with software updates, but for now, Google's and Apple's computational photography is still better.

                              • 7
                              • 77
                              • mXr
                              • 16 Jul 2022

                              iwil, 16 Jul 2022overheat in 10 minutesMines rooted with custom kernels and ROM
                              110fps on gaming
                              Overclocked CPU and GPU
                              From 900mhz too 1100mhz
                              All 8 CPU cores are active
                              Current and voltage changed too 3.9 volts, threshold

                              No throttling, heats up but no apps close or malfunctioning

                              Try beat that

                                Anonymous, 16 Jul 2022Terrible battery life. nextIt's not terrible for a 2022 android flagship and is better than many of the previous snapdragon 8 gen 1 flagships. All of the phones with snapdragon 8 gen 1 chips have very poor battery life. At least the snapdragon 8 gen1+ has improved significantly in terms of power consumption compared to the 8 gen 1. If battery life is a main priority though android flagships are probably not the way to go. Midrangers may be a better option

                                  • P
                                  • Pixel 6 pro
                                  • 7sC
                                  • 16 Jul 2022

                                  77, 16 Jul 2022The Sony pro-i and Sony 1v blows this.LoL the Xperia 1 IV is great for overheating that's about it

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • 8N3
                                    • 16 Jul 2022

                                    507AMS, 16 Jul 2022this is what GSMARENA says about failures/missteps of your ... moreThe first item has been there since 2015. But they decided to complain in 2022? LOL !!

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • tDQ
                                      • 16 Jul 2022

                                      Hi gsmarena can make article about 50mp mi 12 ultra vs 108mp s22 ultra? also in 12mp binned mode?

                                      this mi 12s ultra is special compared to mi 11 ultra
                                      in SOC performance it uses plus version and free from overheat problem like in mi 11 ultra

                                      The camera performance is outstanding, not just the new 1 inch sensor from sony but also the ISP aka snapdragon sight have huge lead over 888 with 2 times performance in raw capture and other new feature like neural net capture and so on plus with leica to help the processing on software side

                                        77, 16 Jul 2022No 4k at 120fps, on my Sony 1v I have it on all 3 lens. No... morethis is what GSMARENA says about failures/missteps of your phone:
                                        * The screen auto switches to 4K only in certain limited cases; no dynamic refresh rate either.
                                        * No charger in the box, not even a cable.
                                        * No Night Mode - UW and Tele cameras stand to benefit a lot from it.
                                        * Easily overheats under load (even when using the camera), causing heavy performance throttling and even refresh rate throttling.
                                        * Only 30W fast charging